We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant

Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant
5018 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60640-3006
(773) 561-4424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #560 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

1st time at Ba Le. I am not disappointed. Had the sauteed chicken sandwich. Delish! The bread combined with the chicken and the condiments that come with that sandwich...it just tasted so good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sandwiches and Macaroons!! Who Knew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

OMG! Last went to their old location. Small, dirty, but great Banh Mi!

Now clean, elegant, and over 30 "French Sandwich" choices! Buy 5 get one free! Since we were taking them back to Indy we got 5+1 each of the Special, Chicken, BBQ Pork, Sautéed Shrimp and Beef Rib Eye!! Fantastic!

Unfortunately I do not eat pork or beef! My grandson loved the pate!

And only 25 more types to try! Looking at the Scallop, Tuna and Cod Fillet options! Lots of Vegie options.

And a wonderful surprise was the macaroon! My wife has been searching for these since our trip to Paris last year. She bought an assortment and while waiting for our sandwiches we, and our grandchildren devoured them! She had to get back in line and order A LOT more! The best this side on Manhattan...if not Paris!

We will be there anytime we are in Chicago!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Cool interesting sandwich shop. Unique combos of tastes. Plus it's a grocery with interesting stuff. Not really French, except for the Maroons. Cheap, good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable and exotic sandwich shop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place for an affordable yet exotic sandwich. The french bread is just right, crispy on the outside and chewy inside. The fillings are fresh and there is tons of variety from pork belly to vegetarian. They also have strange looking fried snacks in the warmer that are delicous. I tried a fried shrimp dumpling on a sugar cane stick, it was really unique. They have a fridge full of soft drinks I have never seen before. The food is value priced so try everything!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

its a simple no nonsense inexpensive location to have a good sandwich. The Bread is incredible, crusty on the outside, soft on the inside, the meats are delicious. I am not a fan of Pate, so I ask them to make mine without Pate, the ingredients are incredibly fresh and the sandwich is not huge to fill me up like crazy, so its a resonably sized portion.

I had the Turkey a couple times and its simply incredible. Must visit - they close at 9PM

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.