We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit or miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Seafood Restaurant

Silver Seafood Restaurant
4829 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 784-0668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,183 of 8,380 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood
Restaurant details
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hit or miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is famous, don't know why. we went twice a Sat and a Sun for lunch. Basic chinese, go ahead order some dim sum, 1st order came out with bottom of wrappers wet and falling apart, send it back? wat wong? their falling apart! Replacements were exactly the same, go ahead laugh, we did. Clams in black bean sauce, usually you balance the heavy black bean flavor with ginger or garlic,nope, when they say clams in black bean sauce, they mean it. The oysters on the next table looked really good, out of oysters. Your within 2 blocks of a dozen great bowls of pho, why put up with this?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“As authentic as you can get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

They do have two menus -- one for the Chinese diners and one for the American diners. It's as authentic of a Chinese restaurant as you can get -- down to the plastic covering the tablecloth to the foam/metal chairs. My family works in the Argyle area, and we always go to Silver Seafood when I come to town. The food is always good, whether you're ordering a typical dish or a less common dish. This past weekend, we ended up taking my boyfriend out to dinner here and it was a great time, especially since my boyfriend had never had real Chinese food before. (He's had Chinese food... but never while dining with Chinese folks, which means he's never had real Chinese food.) Can't wait for another visit back to Chicago so we can eat at Silver Seafood again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Recently improved, good Chinese food North side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a number of times when I wanted Chinese food but don't want to drive to Chinatown. Located in little Saigon close to Argyle Street, this place is more convenient for those who live in the North side of town. Previously I thought they were only good for the simplest of dishes such as fried rice and noodles, and not capable of anything more complicated. However, on my recent visit I found that their food has improved substantially. It's now an authentic family restaurant serving solid, homy, Hong Kong style dishes. I wouldn't come here for a banquet, but they do a credible job on home style comfort food. Also important to know that they open till 2 am, so it's a place to keep in mind if you are hungry late at night. Service is minimal but it gets the job done.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Ignore the Decor and Focus on the Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We've been going to Silver Seafood for a few years now (started going before their appearance on Check Please!), and I have to say the service was much friendlier this time. I'd love to give them 5 stars, but some of the dishes aren't fantastic and the decor has remained the same over the years, so it's not for everyone.

But people come here for the food -- specifically the seafood. So if you are new to Silver Seafood and a little intimidated by the long menu, permit me to make a few recommendations:

- Go with a group (4-8 people) so you can order several dishes (or just order a lot and take home leftovers).

- Order the seafood potstickers instead of the crab rangoon for an appetizer (and if you're really adventurous try the intestines).

- Get one chow fun noodle dish and one fried rice dish (either pineapple or chinese sausage) and skip the white rice.

- If you like spicy food, try a "hot pot" dish and ask for extra chili sauce on the side.

- Get at least one vegetable -- such as chinese broccoli in oyster sauce or hollow vegetable in garlic (but they are pretty similar to each other).

- Try a "salt and spice" dish (crab or smelt) for some finger lickin' food.

- Don't be put off by the simple english names of the food. "Fish fillet with pork" is actually a mound of delicate fried fish with portabella mushrooms and a little bit of pork served in a pie dish over a bed of perfectly cooked baby bok choy.

- Skip the shark fin soup and let them keep swimming!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic Chinese at a family-friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Silver Seafood is our favorite Chinese food here in Chicago. We love that they have two menus- one for traditional Chinese dishes that are less familiar to most people and another with mostly more common dishes for the less adventurous. Often we are the one of the only non-Chinese tables there- generally there are mostly Chinese families eating here. . We also love that they have fast service, generous portions, and reasonable prices. It is a great bonus that they are family friendly- we have had many great meals there with our young children.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Silver Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.