We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fornello Trattoria

Fornello Trattoria
1011 W Irving Park Rd, Chicago, IL 60613-2913 (Lakeview)
773-404-2210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fornello Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,421 of 8,380 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Cross street: Sheridan
Transit: Next door to Sheridan Red-line stop. Irving park and Sheridan - 80 Bus
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

An Italian restaurant with an Italian chef (southern Italian i'm told). They know how to make pasta here...al dente - perfect. In fact, i've never had a bad pasta dish here - they've all been wonderful from the lemon tilapia (with Angel hair pasta) to the marsala, to the farfalle in the creamy balsamic sauce - it's all delicious. The menu is fabulous - varied and interesting. The artichoke salad is great, and the bread is the best. To top everything off, the staff are great. They always pour a generous glass of wine and have a laugh with the customers they are familiar with and are pleasant and friendly to anyone new. The decor may be a little odd (it does have a ring of a Mexican change of plan to it), but don't be fooled - this place is not to be missed. Oh...and the bar area with the wonderful brick oven behind it is just gorgeous. Just writing this review is making me want to head there tonight. Ciao.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food was okay - nothing to write home about. They brought bread but there was just olive oil on the table instead of giving you an olive oil and spice/balsamic combination. I had veal in the traditional lemon sauce but feel the sauce lacked balance. There are many better Italian restaurants in the same price range so I would not go there again if I was in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small place with authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A neighborhood place that is just around the corner from the Sheridan Red Line stop. Very reasonably priced, intimate setting, excellent service. They have a great "crazy salad" filled with lettuces, strawberries, pine nuts, etc. The Caprese is simple--best I have ever had, truthfully. Pastas are delicious with generous servings. Wine list not terribly long but quality. This is one of those places you'd walk by but is definitely up there with the Franscescas and other big name Italians. If you are downtown, take the el. If you are at Wrigley for a game, walk the four or so blocks, get away from the crowds, and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My spouse does not really care for Italian food but he loves this place, because of its diverse menu that goes far beyond the typical. The salad is exceptional--any of them-- as are the entrees. Have never "wasted" a trip on pizza but from observation, it looks good and would appeal to children which the other entrees might not unless the child has very sophisticated taste. The wine list is very good but a bit pricey for what one gets unlike the food which is well-priced. The atmosphere is nice without being stuffy. One can decide to drop by without dressing up and not feel out of place. Sometimes the background music is annoying but it can be turned down upon request. Really good place to eat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife, two adult daughters and I had dinner at Fornello Trattoria on Saturday night 9-24-11. We were seated quickly and found the service and ambiance quite nice. We all had some form of pasta and everyone was very pleased with their meal. Most entrees were in the $15.00 range and the portions were ample.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fornello Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Fornello Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fornello Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.