We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eatin' ...organic food or whole food and healthy choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victory's Banner

Victory's Banner
2100 W Roscoe Village, Chicago, IL 60618 (Roscoe Village)
(773) 665-0227
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #292 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Roscoe Village
MD, DC metro
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good eatin' ...organic food or whole food and healthy choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dined late June 2014, 3 visits

Victory's Banner...Go. You will eat healthy foods, organic foods, and whole foods full of flavor. I was in the area for 5 days and ate here 3 times and got food to go. Yes, I am a fan. I wish Victory's Banner was here in DC area.

The staff is kind and attentive. The restaurant is smallish but they accommodated my party of 10 no problem. Victory Banner always has plenty of patrons seated inside and outside, each of the 3 times I visited I was seated quickly.

The foods I ordered and ate:

Lemon lentil soup - divine, aromatic, delicious. So good I got it to go on another visit.

Pancakes with yogurt, fresh raspberry, and homemade granola - perfect pancakes--light, tasty; a good, hearty breakfast. Loved the granola.

Omelet: I made my own with spinach and mushrooms. Good omelet. Fabulous breakfast potatoes! Dense & hearty bread served as side; it was good. The same bread also came with the lentil soup.

What I tasted and looooved:

Breakfast Burrito: A tortilla stuffed with 2 scrambled eggs, mushroom, red onion, red peppers, gouda, black beans and sour cream. Organic salsa & brown rice on the side.

I needed more days in Chicago because on my next visit I was going to order my very own Breakfast Burrito. I had tasted it on one occasion, then shared about 1/3 of one on another visit. They are big and delicious...not salty, you can taste the individual ingredients.

Good eatin'

Chow!
food chick

~~:~~
Eat, drink, be merry and validate for parking (TM)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spiritually Transcendent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Heaven's Banner will elevate the spiritual plane of your breakfast. They serve coffee, eggs, and soy bacon with a generous helping of Eastern philosophy (the waitresses even wear saris!).

The food was excellent, including the French toast and the fresh squeezed orange juice. Real maple syrup is at the table. It's very child friendly, if you can figure out where to stash your stroller (it's a bit tight inside).

I ordered the pesto goat cheese omelette. It tasted good but the presentation was a bit unappetizing.

Overall, it's a great place to bring your insufferable vegan friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sidewalk brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a brunch you just keep coming back for. Everything on the menu is excellent. Can't go wrong here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Healthy breakfast in a laid back atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great breakfasts are to be had here. Caters to the vegetarian with soy meats etc. I enjoyed the chilaquiles immensely. Looked like a healthier version of the dish and tasted awesome,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a fantastic breakfast here. Couldn't have been better. The neighborhood is great, too in the Roscoe park area. We arrived on a Sunday around 8:45 and there was no wait. If you go, just order the pancakes with oat bran and strawberry sauce (a.k.a. delicious goodness) on top. You'll love it. My daughter thought the french toast was the best she's ever had - anywhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory's Banner also viewed

 

Been to Victory's Banner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory's Banner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.