We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan food even a non egan will love.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Diner

Chicago Diner
3411 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60657-2414
773-935-6696
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Diner, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Vegan food even a non egan will love.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've been hearing about how much the woman I love loves this place for so long that I felt like i'd been there and her billing matched the reality of my visit this weekend during the Chicago Marathon. Great variety of food on the menu from Vegan specialties to things a non vegan would like as well. If you've never tried a black bean burger...this is the place to do it. But be aware, the portions are very large (great value) and you probably will not be able to finish. It might be a good idea to share several things ( if your party can agree on what things!) Great service by really friendly people. This is a very comfortable, welcoming place and you will be comfortable here. Came back twice in three days and it was great both times!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    63
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great vegan diner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to eat here before the Bruce Springsteen show (09/7/12) and then we come back for the next two days! Great value for money and big portions of everything. My non vegetarian friend had a Cajun burger and she loved it. The place was very busy but the service was fast enough. I'm Italian and this place for me is a real dream!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, ky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After all the great reviews we were really looking forward to some really good vegan fair, but it all seemed very average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As tourists hailing from Cincinnati, we decided to visit the Chicago Diner for a tasty vegetarian meal before the Reds vs Cubs game in September 2012. Service was fast and friendly during non-peak hours (ate around 430pm) and we were able to walk here in 5 minutes from the Red line stop next to Wrigley Field. The faux chicken wingz, sweet potato fries, and veggie bbq burger w bacon and onion straws were all delicious.

Meal cost around $35 after tip with the sodas and we were too stuffed for dessert!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pure Vegan Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We decided to walk here from Central Chicago which was a trek, but well worth it and then some. As obvious tourists we were given a booth, true diner style. The vegan milkshakes were to die for. The value for money was brilliant, as the portions were more than enough. My partner and I both had a Cajun burger, my boyfriend isn't even vegan and he continues to rave about the food even since coming back home. The UK has a long way to go to match the standards of the US. Shame on us. You can check out their food on their website, but believe it or not, it looks even better in real life! The staff were lovely and friendly too, lovely atmosphere!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Diner also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.