We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrifc week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Chicago to your Saves list
The Langham, Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A terrifc week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I planned a week's trip to experience Chicago, and picked the Langham after reading their Tripadvisor reviews. Our Langham stay was the high point of our vacation, (even better with a river-view suite upgrade): wonderful location on the river, artful decor, friendly and efficient service, very comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and a terrific bathroom! We loved the views, appreciated the very personable and helpful staff, and enjoyed relaxing in the evening in the lounge, (though didn't try the restaurant---too determined to sample all of culinary Chicago).
The Langham is simply tops: a bit pricey, but worth every cent. Definitely our destination next time in Chicago.

Room Tip: Corner river-view rooms have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review and for recommending The Langham, Chicago. I'll share your review with my colleagues at the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the years ahead.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    72
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
327
28
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at the Langham during the Easter weekend. What a beautiful hotel. Everything about it is classy and loved the subtle pink accents. The hotel was simply beautiful - outstanding design in the bathrooms - spacious, unique, and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable, with lots of pillows and pillow options to choose from. The service was attentive, friendly and professional.

The location was ideal and it felt like we had stumbled upon perfection.

I have paid three times as much for hotels not even half as good as the Langham.

If you are going to Chicago, and want to feel pampered in beautiful surroundings after a busy day of sightseeing, stay at the Langham. Don't even look anywhere else.

Special shout out to the courteous and friendly staff at the front desk! Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the bridge. It's prettier than the parking lot we faced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing The Langham, Chicago, and for sharing details and photos from your stay. It was a pleasure to have you in residence, and we appreciate the kind words.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have travelled for work for more than 25 years, and my recent stay at the Langham was the single best hotel experience ever. The design, the staff, the room, the bed, absolutely everything was perfect. I stayed on the Club floor and it was delightful, from breakfast buffet to afternoon tea complete with scones and clotted cream. The staff on the Club floor managed the perfect balance of impeccable service and a friendly Midwestern attitude. Also, don't miss the amazing pool and spa. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Spend the extra to stay on the Club floor, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham, and thank you for taking the time to make the most of the Langham Club lounge and Chuan Spa. We're honored to earn the recommendation of such a seasoned traveler. From all of us at the hotel: thank you!

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We are a local couple wanting a luxury getaway for our anniversary. Wanted to stay in a hotel and just relax, enjoy a great workout, wonderful food and an amazing spa. After calling our normal places, the Four Seasons, Waldorf, Peninsula Hotels, I decided I was going to book after much research on this hotel. Everything was top notch, everything! The people, food, spa, 6 minute walk to Michigan Ave, workout room, and all the extras touches the staff threw in to make our stay amazing!

Thank you for unforgetable weekend! We will be back. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting luxury and a true getaway feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to research the best hotel for your anniversary stay, and for choosing The Langham. We appreciate your taking the time to share the details of your stay. Happy Anniversary from all of us!

Sincerely,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The best hotel I've ever stayed. The service is amazing, the hotel is comfortable in every detail. And the location is fantastic, close to everything and the best points for Chicago. It is the best experience a person could have.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and recommendations, especially as an international traveler. We very much appreciate hearing from you, and we hope to welcome you again.

Atenciosamente,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I travel a lot and stay at many, many hotels, so I know from experience. The Langham in Chicago is one of the best hotels ever.

The king room was new, very spacious, and luxuriously appointed. The large, flat-screen tv was inset in the wall, with a remote that worked very well and many channels to choose from. There was marble all around. The shower was huge, in the same enclosure as the bathtub. Some of the water from the rain shower head went into the drain and the rest went into the bathtub. The drain to the shower was a channel at one end of the shower, so you didn't have to straddle the round drain that is usually on the floor in the middle. The control to the shower was at the other end, so you didn't have to get wet to turn on the shower. The next part was cool, but not particularly useful -- the glass between the shower and the bedroom had an electrical switch to turn it from clear to opaque frosted. It was like magic, but I didn't understand the utility of it. Anyway it was very interesting.

The hotel had free, high-speed, wireless Internet in the rooms that did not slow down at peak times. The hotel gave free bottles of water every day. I had a choice of free newspapers every day. I chose the NY Times, which came every day, including Sunday. There was a turn-down service every evening. The room was spotlessly clean.

Next comes the staff. What a great group of people. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was over-the-top professional, nice, friendly, courteous, etc., etc. The hotel has a great location, right on the river and close to Michigan Ave. The price would have been 2-4 times as much in New York or Paris.

It's hard to say anything bad about the hotel, but I'll try. The shampoo was watery, so I had to use a lot. There wasn't enough drawer space in the room. That's it.

It's a great hotel that I look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing such a kind, careful, and detailed review. We appreciate your notes on decor, service, and location, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the years ahead.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Don't normally write reviews...but had to write about my stay at The Langham Chicago. Highly recommend the Club floor! The lounge is amazing, with drinks and beautiful views. At certain times there is breakfast, tea time and canapes served which was not only beautifully presented by delicious. Rooms are brilliant. Cleaning staff are on point and extremely helpful and friendly. With Club, you are also invited to check out the spa with saunas and spa lounge...AMAZING!!! I had to try the Dream Lounge...the only one in the United States... Unbelievable! But I am saving the best for last.....The Langham is the only hotel in Chicago to have Butler service... and the service was Tops! Shout out to our main butler Edwin, who could easily outdo the best butler out of Downton Abby. Also Sweet & kind Tommy! In fact all the staff were great! Would love to visit again! I am planning to go to Dubai...and there is a Langham hotel there as well...will definitely be booking there! Cheers to The Langham x

Room Tip: At breakast..we all fell in love with a little sugary/cinnamon treat we renamed at the "Doe-Muf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking time to fully experience the hotel, the Langham Club, and Chuan Spa. We're honored and grateful to have earned your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.