We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Langham - so much better than Trump or Peninsula!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Chicago to your Saves list
The Langham, Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Langham - so much better than Trump or Peninsula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Oh Langham hotel how I love thee! This 9 week old gem in the Loop area of Chicago is such a treasure and truly phenomenal. Check-in is on the second floor of the Mad Men-esque mid-century meets modern style lobby which connects to the two restaurants - the Pavilion and Travelle. The staff (j'adore that the ladies wear pink Chanel looking suits) are friendly, eager to assist and on top of their game. I stayed on the Club Lounge level for business this past weekend and it was a truly enjoyable stay. My king sized room overlooked the city and was spacious and well appointed. The room has a "shower/tub room" in the very beautiful marbled bathroom. You can soak in the tub or take a separate shower.

Carlos, the butler for the Club level, drew a bath for me strewn with rose petals and left a personal note that told me all of the ingredients used in my bath (lavendar, shea, etc.). He had classical music playing and the lights were dimmed so that when I got back to my room, my bath was ready to enjoy! Carlos is the Director of Butler Services and takes great pride in his position. He truly has a service heart and is wonderful at remembering names, and always welcoming you back to the Lounge or offering to help with any suggestions, etc.) If you stay at Club level definitely ask for one of Carlos' baths!

The butler staff consists of other great people (Michelle and some other ladies and gents), and are all well trained so you are sure to be taken care of. They packed a box of cookies for me for the trip home - wrapped in a pink box. (Pink is the Langham's theme color and they even sell a nail polish in their gift shop called "Langham Love" in a great pink color).

My room was modern yet comfy, clean, had all of the amenities I needed and was very roomy in size. I was really pleased with it and the housekeeper who serviced the room arranged my things very nicely and always left me extra bottles of water. She even tidied up my cell phone cord. Nice touches all around.

I ate in both of the restaurants, having enjoyed the High Tea service at the Pavilion restaurant (I have one photo of the tea sandwiches here) and also dinner at Travelle. Both times I was so pleased with the food. Hector took care of our dinner at Travelle and knew the menu back to front. He was really a great asset suggesting the food and even provided a bag holder for my purse so that it wouldn't have to sit on the floor. You can even take it home as a Travelle souvenir to use again . This is a really nice touch to have and very thoughtful as I always hate putting my purse on the floor so big kudos to the Langham and Travelle for coming up with that. I strongly recommend the High Tea service (ladies and gentlemen were there so it's not just a "chick thing"). It's served on Wedgewood china and the presentation is really lovely. The scones are massive, the sandwiches are a twist on the typical tea service and are really tasty and filling. The chef has created an interesting group and i especially loved loved loved the roast beef tea sandwich! Yum.

Lastly, the spa! I had a massage with Renee who was attentive to my issues and took great care to massage the problematic areas and would quietly check in with me about the pressure, room temp, etc., but remained quiet so that I could relax. The spa itself is delicious. I spent 15 minutes in the jasmine infused steam room as I didn't have much time (should have gone in hours earlier as they have two saunas with different temperatures and aromatherapy), and relaxed in their relaxation room. I unfortuantely missed out on the Dream room/bed (you'll have to go and see it for yourself), but I will check that out on my next visit. The shampoo and other hair products are from the Moroccan Oil line which is wonderful. I love those products and they are very high end (they have styling cream, mousse and hairspray available there too when you blow dry your hair). The spa was clean and very well maintained. It felt like I was the only one in there (I wasn't) because it was spotless.

Overall, this was an amazing experience in a fabulous new hotel. You know how you expect there to be little "kinks" with a new hotel? Well, there were NONE here. I met the GM and Hotel Managers (Bob and Joe) and they are running a classy, quality, 5 star property. I will definitely recommend to family and friends and business associates. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river. This is in the "Loop" area and there are great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    71
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
322
28
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chicago is ranking right with Beverly Hills for great 5-star properties to stay at. We love the Waldorf but decided to try out The Langham.

Located directly across the street from the Trump, The Langham took over 12 floors in an office building and had an open checkbook in designing an elegant and beautiful space.

The lobby, restaurants and bars are on the second floor. The space is white, bright with great window views. The elevator bank has 8 elevators so you are never waiting. We were upgraded to a suite, huge main room and very nice bedroom area with a walk-in closet.

Little things that matter are what count in a place like this and while it is 5-star, it could be 4-star or even 6-star if there was such a thing. The lights work electronically but there is no dim option. The hotel is confused over the "service" and "privacy" buttons and hence we did not get turn down service although we did press the right button.

Being an office building convert, there are no balconies regardless of the room class. Amenities include a pod coffee maker and great toiletries.

The spa takes up the entire fourth floor. It features a huge pool with spa (although no lounge chairs to relax), great gym, spa area and locker rooms. The towels are really too big and heavy and they put the hairdryers in stations away from the sinks. There is a small room with four heated stone loungers that are very relaxing.

The club level features butlers waiting to do just about anything for you. In fact, sometimes you just want to get your own coffee. Nice breakfast in the morning. Afternoon tea and cocktails in the afternoon/evening although the quality of wine and liquor is suspect. Why not single malt or cognac? Why no Cabernet? It's the one area that they cut back on and I hope this is addressed. The space itself takes up half the 13th floor (12C they like to call it) and is amazing. There is the signature writing room along with many chairs and tables to relax.

Overall, staff is very friendly and they want you to experience the best. It ranks over the Four Seasons and Peninsula but I am still a fan of the Waldorf. Location for each is good although the Langham is in the loop area versus the Gold Coast area. If you are into these types of properties, then you certainly need to experience The Langham at least once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake or river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Top notch hotel. Brand new with excellent technology and wonderful beds, decor, and service. Very expensive, but wonderful if you can afford it. I got it through Hotwire and had a significant break in price. It was a lovely experience and there is not a single thing that could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I took a chance and stayed here mid-September, since the Four Seasons was fully booked. This hotel more than exceeded our expectations. It's brand new and the rooms and facilities are perfect. The staff is very warm and attentive. The hotel didn't know we were celebrating my husband's birthday, but I asked room service for plates and utensils. The woman who got them up must have passed the word on, because housing-keeping left a note saying happy birthday and the doormen wished him as well! They have great attention to detail and there are lots of little thing they did that elevated the experience of staying there, like turning on the sound system to play lite music during the turn-down service.

We ordered room service one evening and ate brunch in their restaurant, Travelle. The food was very delicious. Which is great, especially in a foodie city like Chicago.

The hospitality of the staff definitely made our stay more memorable. I don't think we'll stay in any other hotel when we come back to Chicago so we look forward to our stay there next month!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm on my last night of a three night stay. I can honestly say this hotel is amazing. It's just as good as any Ritz or Four Seasons that I've stayed at.

The hotel is very modern, extremely spacious and comfortable rooms with all of the amenities you could want. The bed and pillows are first rate and better than any Westin heavenly bed. Nothing like getting comfortable after a long day and watching TV on a huge 50 inch screen.

The staff are super friendly and courteous but a special mention goes out to their amazing and knowledgable concierge, Chris Baum. The hotel is lucky to have a guy like him.

AAA+++ hotel. Highly recommended from a high mileage traveller with discerning taste.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went for a one night business meeting. The rooms had really cool technology and the bed/sleep was amazing! Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and helpful. I hope to go stay again for personal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was so glad to be able to stay at the brand new Langham Hotel on my recent business trip. I visit Chicago several times of year and have stayed at some of the areas top hotels, but must say that this hotel truly did exceed my expectations. I was greeted by a friendly staff whom anticipated my needs and was always one step ahead. The personalization and level of customer service here truly was top notch. I enjoyed breakfast by room service and though the food and service were both extraordinary. I had the pleasure of dining in the amazing restaurant Travelle, and though our waiter and the food were phenomenal. I loved my room, very spacious, comfortable and had everything I like to have available to me during my travels, including one of the best shower/baths I have seen recently. I look forward to visiting again soon and know that this hotel will do very well, as they are on their A-game, which with a new opening it sometimes takes a while to work out the kinks, but I did not encounter any of these hiccups during my stay, the team was well groomed and trained to take great care of their guests.

Room Tip: Request to have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.