We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Chicago to your Saves list
The Langham, Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10%+ off, 45-day advance
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chicago is ranking right with Beverly Hills for great 5-star properties to stay at. We love the Waldorf but decided to try out The Langham.

Located directly across the street from the Trump, The Langham took over 12 floors in an office building and had an open checkbook in designing an elegant and beautiful space.

The lobby, restaurants and bars are on the second floor. The space is white, bright with great window views. The elevator bank has 8 elevators so you are never waiting. We were upgraded to a suite, huge main room and very nice bedroom area with a walk-in closet.

Little things that matter are what count in a place like this and while it is 5-star, it could be 4-star or even 6-star if there was such a thing. The lights work electronically but there is no dim option. The hotel is confused over the "service" and "privacy" buttons and hence we did not get turn down service although we did press the right button.

Being an office building convert, there are no balconies regardless of the room class. Amenities include a pod coffee maker and great toiletries.

The spa takes up the entire fourth floor. It features a huge pool with spa (although no lounge chairs to relax), great gym, spa area and locker rooms. The towels are really too big and heavy and they put the hairdryers in stations away from the sinks. There is a small room with four heated stone loungers that are very relaxing.

The club level features butlers waiting to do just about anything for you. In fact, sometimes you just want to get your own coffee. Nice breakfast in the morning. Afternoon tea and cocktails in the afternoon/evening although the quality of wine and liquor is suspect. Why not single malt or cognac? Why no Cabernet? It's the one area that they cut back on and I hope this is addressed. The space itself takes up half the 13th floor (12C they like to call it) and is amazing. There is the signature writing room along with many chairs and tables to relax.

Overall, staff is very friendly and they want you to experience the best. It ranks over the Four Seasons and Peninsula but I am still a fan of the Waldorf. Location for each is good although the Langham is in the loop area versus the Gold Coast area. If you are into these types of properties, then you certainly need to experience The Langham at least once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake or river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    57
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
106
273
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Top notch hotel. Brand new with excellent technology and wonderful beds, decor, and service. Very expensive, but wonderful if you can afford it. I got it through Hotwire and had a significant break in price. It was a lovely experience and there is not a single thing that could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I took a chance and stayed here mid-September, since the Four Seasons was fully booked. This hotel more than exceeded our expectations. It's brand new and the rooms and facilities are perfect. The staff is very warm and attentive. The hotel didn't know we were celebrating my husband's birthday, but I asked room service for plates and utensils. The woman who got them up must have passed the word on, because housing-keeping left a note saying happy birthday and the doormen wished him as well! They have great attention to detail and there are lots of little thing they did that elevated the experience of staying there, like turning on the sound system to play lite music during the turn-down service.

We ordered room service one evening and ate brunch in their restaurant, Travelle. The food was very delicious. Which is great, especially in a foodie city like Chicago.

The hospitality of the staff definitely made our stay more memorable. I don't think we'll stay in any other hotel when we come back to Chicago so we look forward to our stay there next month!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm on my last night of a three night stay. I can honestly say this hotel is amazing. It's just as good as any Ritz or Four Seasons that I've stayed at.

The hotel is very modern, extremely spacious and comfortable rooms with all of the amenities you could want. The bed and pillows are first rate and better than any Westin heavenly bed. Nothing like getting comfortable after a long day and watching TV on a huge 50 inch screen.

The staff are super friendly and courteous but a special mention goes out to their amazing and knowledgable concierge, Chris Baum. The hotel is lucky to have a guy like him.

AAA+++ hotel. Highly recommended from a high mileage traveller with discerning taste.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went for a one night business meeting. The rooms had really cool technology and the bed/sleep was amazing! Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and helpful. I hope to go stay again for personal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was so glad to be able to stay at the brand new Langham Hotel on my recent business trip. I visit Chicago several times of year and have stayed at some of the areas top hotels, but must say that this hotel truly did exceed my expectations. I was greeted by a friendly staff whom anticipated my needs and was always one step ahead. The personalization and level of customer service here truly was top notch. I enjoyed breakfast by room service and though the food and service were both extraordinary. I had the pleasure of dining in the amazing restaurant Travelle, and though our waiter and the food were phenomenal. I loved my room, very spacious, comfortable and had everything I like to have available to me during my travels, including one of the best shower/baths I have seen recently. I look forward to visiting again soon and know that this hotel will do very well, as they are on their A-game, which with a new opening it sometimes takes a while to work out the kinks, but I did not encounter any of these hiccups during my stay, the team was well groomed and trained to take great care of their guests.

Room Tip: Request to have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Langham in Chicago is a physically stunning hotel. The public areas and the rooms are beautifully designed and finished.

Almost every detail of the guestroom has been well thought out and executed. The bed is incredibly comfortable. The towels are the best I’ve ever encountered in a hotel – large, soft, fluffy and absorbent. Little extras include a box of amenities such as talc, a comb, dental kit, etc. as well as an umbrella, shoe horn, clothes brush, etc. The tub was conducive to a relaxing soak. I had a standard king room on the twelfth floor and the room felt spacious. Buttons to control the lighting are everywhere you want them to be and they are well marked. The recessed ceiling lights are dramatic. The room was well equipped for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

While the facilities were five star, the service I encountered only rates four stars. The hotel is quite new so the few lapses in service might be attributable to growing pains. Each issue is rather minor but together they were more bothersome than they should have been based on the aspirations of this property.

After a long day, we decided to retire early on our first night so I pressed the Privacy button near the door. When I woke up in the middle of the night, I was surprised to see a number of blinking red lights in the room. Those lights signaled that a message was waiting. When I called for the message, I was told that housekeeping wanted me to know they tried to refresh the room but the privacy light was on. Kudos for honoring the privacy light but I did not care for the blinking red lights alerting me that a message was waiting. When I called for the message, I would have preferred a recording for such a routine message.

The next day, I requested a guide to the art in the hotel. This guide was mentioned in the guest services directory in the room. Unfortunately, they appeared to have run out of the guides. They offered to locate one and email a copy to me. However, I never received the guide nor did I receive a message explaining why the guide was not sent.

On the second night I again encountered all of the blinking red message lights. The message was the same as the day before. However, I had specifically turned the privacy light off when we left for the theater at 7 pm. I’m not sure when housekeeping attempted to refresh the room but I thought they would have plenty of time after 7 pm. An additional call was required to have the message lights turned off.

When checking my account via the TV on my last morning, I was confused by what I saw. They displayed the bill from one week earlier which I realized when viewing the date. Another guest’s name was also displayed so I knew this was not my account. This was a first – I’ve never seen another guest’s bill when checking on my account via an in-room TV.

We had hoped to have a drink in the hotel bar after returning from the theater. The bar was quite busy. Unfortunately, the music was too loud for a relaxing drink so we skipped it. I would have appreciated a more subdued sound level in the bar.

Would I stay here again? Yes, because the rooms are quite comfortable and the location is great. They will most likely work through the issues I encountered. Based on the other reviews I’ve read, my experience does not appear to be typical. My expectations were high after reading repeated glowing reviews. Maybe I expected a bit too much….

Room Tip: The lower the room number, the better the view of the river and possibly Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.