We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Triple Chocolate Cookies and Pumpkin Brownies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Goddess and Grocer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Goddess and Grocer
2222 N Elston Ave, Chicago, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,054 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great Triple Chocolate Cookies and Pumpkin Brownies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went as part of a Chicago Chocolate Tour. Great Desserts. The food looked good, but did not try. Very reasonable prices in the heart of Chicago. Apparently, lots of musicians cater through this establishment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“As a deli should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Rather than paying for expensive breakfasts at our hotel round the corner, the Goddess and Grocer became our go to place during a 4 day stay in Chicago. Lots of choices, both healthy and indulgent, and packed with locals, always a very good sign. The breakfast boxes were great for taking out, as were the granola parfaits. We stayed in one morning and loved the hot breakfast bagels and muffins. Really friendly service - they remembered our names after our first visit and greeted us by name thereafter, Nice touch! Wish it was round the corner from my home!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best for a quick bite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is my favorite place to go for a quick bite while at work or home. I live in the same building as Goddess and Grocer so they are my go to on days I not want to cook, breakfast, or lunch at work. There desserts are the best, especially the carrot cake and mint brownies. Sandwich wise I highly recommend the finger lickin chicken, or the brisket sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I love this place! The food there is fantastic. I always get a panini from there! It's a nice place if your on the go and want to pick something up. They have quick service and really good treats as well in the sweets section such as cupcakes and crème brûlée.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goddess and Grocer also viewed

 

Been to The Goddess and Grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goddess and Grocer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.