We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and spacious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guesthouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guesthouse Hotel
4872 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60640 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 off room rate
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious and spacious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a very spacious 3-bedroom 2-bath unit that was comfortable, spotless, and well-appointed. The reservations process was a breeze and customer service is top-notch. Amenities include a balcony with seating, washer/dryer, garage parking, and a fully equipped kitchen. Andersonville is a lovely neighborhood with plenty of bar, restaurant, and shopping (grocery and other) destinations in easy walking distance. As a bonus there is a bus stop right outside the building that can get you downtown or connect you to the El with relative ease. Andersonville Guesthouse is a lovely respite away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It's always such a pleasure to hear from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Chicago is an amazing city, but what really adds to the experience is staying in one of our great neighborhoods, like Andersonville. I'm so glad you discovered us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
1
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2013 as part of a group of 3 couples and our own 14 month old son.
We arrived after a long flight from Ireland to a hot and humid Chicago, weary after our travels.
We were instantly revived by the lovely Aircon that hit us on entering and by the luxury of this apartment (4th floor front)
Amazing high ceilings, very spacious and modern kitchen and dining area, high tech entertainment system, BBQ and deck, a SAUNA in our bathroom! These are just some of the things that made this apartment probably a contender for the best accomadations we have ever stayed in. :)
Very child friendly with oceans of space was a real plus for us.
It is a little away from downtown Chicago (30 minutes on the bus from accros the road) but the neighborhood was really lovely, with excellent restaurants a stones throw away and a grocery store just around the corner.
On top of all this was the top notch customer service received from Rick and Mark from the initial enquiry to any queries we had during our stay.
If you are in Chicago with a group of friends or family, I couldn't recommend highly enough this beautiful apartment and it was excellent value for money too for the space and luxury(and total cleanliness) you receive.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rory,

Thank you very much for all the kind words and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It’s nice to hear you were able to make yourself at home and enjoy the comforts of our units. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're honored to be considered one of your best accommodation experiences! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Andersonville Guesthouse in the near future and, as a returning guest, we will be glad to extend a 10% discount off our standard rates. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our second stay at Andersonville Guesthouse - love the 10% discount for repeat business! With six adults and one infant we wanted a good sized space with a great kitchen and washer/dryer. As before everything was first rate. We love the neighborhood - so many great bars and restaurants. I just wish AG offered one bedroom units for those times when only my husband and I travel to Chicago!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review! It's always a great compliment when guests return and we're delighted you enjoyed this stay as much as the first. We do have plans to expand and the new building will include 1 Bedroom Suites! It won't be ready for a while, so until then, we'll have to pamper you in a larger unit! We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Helping a family member move to the Chicago area, we stayed at Andersonville Guesthouse for 4 nights. On line RSVP system is a Snap and check in is super easy! We stayed in a HUGE 2 bedroom 2 bath unit complete with washer& dryer and GARAGE!
Fluffy white towels in both baths and a kitchen fully equipped for just coffee or to cook a complete meal.
Beds and bedding are very comfortable and the entire condo is nicely appointed. Guesthouse is convenient to the Andersonville Neighborhood, great restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
Next time I am in the Chicago area, I will definitely be staying at Andersonville Guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lynda,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed all the Guesthouse amenities including the complimentary parking (quite rare in Chicago)! We hope when you return to Chicago to visit your family, you'll make Andersonville Guesthouse your home once again. Please know we offer our returning guests a 10% discount. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at your Guesthouse which exceeded our highest expectations! It was our wedding weekend and we had visitors from India, Jamaica and all over the US either stay at the guesthouse or visit us while we were there. Everyone unanimously agreed that the guesthouse was spectacular and my family and I were so impressed with the exceptional customer service you provided us with! There was nothing that you didn't think of from a well stocked kitchen, to extra linen sets to a starter pack for laundry. The roThank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We always enjoy being a part of such special occasions and are delighted we could share in your wedding celebration! Please know we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates so, we hope to see you back for your anniversary, if not sooner! Best wishes and much happiness to you both!

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we chose the Andersonville Guesthouse as it offered the 3 bedrooms we required for our group at a great rate for 7 nights. The booking process was prompt and the guys inn the office always available and very swift to respond to any questions. the unit was amazing, very spacious and well equipped a real home from home. We came from England to meet up with our friends from San Francisco and we all had a great time as we were able to spend time together in the apartment rather than in a hotel. the neighbourhood is excellent and the pasta restaurant next to the building is superb. we found it easy to get taxis into the city and a 5 minute walk from the lawrence L station which was also easy to use into Downtown.

I would thoroughly recommend the Andersonville Guesthouse and would definitely stay again when we visit Chicago

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to make yourself at home while here. I'm happy to see you discovered Ceres Table for dinner, one of our favorites! I hope when you plan your next rendezvous with your friends, you'll think of us! Please note that we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates.
Thank you again and I hope we see you back soon.

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We rented a three bedroom, two bath unit for four nights and could not be happier! We have rented condos all over the world through various means. Andersonville Guesthouse was fantastic! From the first contact through checkout everything was professional and easy. Lovely finishes, good location, and very, very clean. The huge steam shower in the master was a huge hit with my husband and our adult children. My husband is in a wheelchair and it was wonderful access from the front door all through the condo... not an easy thing to find in a vacation rental! The Andersonville area is cute and full of restaurants and shops, and a grocery store is a few blocks away. The Guesthouse will be our home away from home anytime we visit our daughter in Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We’re delighted you discovered Andersonville Guesthouse and enjoyed your stay while visiting your daughter. Please know that we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Hotel

Address: 4872 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60640 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to live like a local while staying in Chicago? The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago offers an affordable and comfortable place to lay your head during your visit to our city! A family-owned, boutique hotel, The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is a unique Chicago boutique hotel combining the best features of a vacation rental property with the personal attention of a boutique hotel.Our units feature one, two and three bedroom suites and all include gourmet kitchens, spa-like bathrooms and sofa beds. You can whip up a meal in the fully-equipped gourmet kitchen (we're happy to point you towards a local Farmers Market or grocery store) or, when the weather calls for it, use the grill on your private terrace. Other highlights include an inviting living and dining area; spacious and elegantly decorated bedrooms; a spa-like master bathroom ; a fireplace; a plasma television with cable; free Wifi; onsite parking (fee); in addition to an array of other amenities and comforts.The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago has an excellent location in the vibrant Andersonville neighborhood, one of Chicago's most beloved neighborhoods. We're also nestled close to Lincoln Square, another neighborhood that brings the small-town vibe to the big city. The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is just a short hop away from Wrigley Field, as well as public transportation (bus and train), which allows convenient access to downtown Chicago and tourist attractions (Feel free to ask us for dining, shopping, and tourist recommendations!) The affordable luxury of The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago and our unique location provide the perfect rental accommodation for travelers who want the comforts and independence of their own home while enjoying all that Chicago and its local culture has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guesthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Guesthouse Hotel to your Saves list