We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in North side Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guesthouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guesthouse Hotel
Save
You added The Guesthouse Hotel to your Saves list
4872 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60640 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cubs Free Parking
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in North side Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We just stayed at Andersonville Guesthouse for four nights and had a wonderful experience. The apartment was beautiful and well maintained. The apartment was spacious and had a fully stocked kitchen. The garage was perfect. It was great not to have to search for street parking. This was a great home away from home. This was an ideal place to stay if you want to be on the north side where there are few nice hotels and where parking can be a challenge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We’re so glad you discovered us and enjoyed your time here. Parking certainly can be a challenge in Chicago! We are fortunate to have the ability to offer complimentary garage parking to our guests.

Please keep in mind we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates. We hope to see you another time soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
8
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I rented out the 2 bedroom suite Mar 28th-Apr 1st for my 30th birthday and my experience was amazing. The place was more then I expected. I had everything I could possibly think of to be able to cook clean and entertain my guest. My guest had no trouble finding parking (since it was the weekend they didn't have to pay the meter which was a added bonus for them). The check-in and Check-out process was very well explained in the email I actually enjoyed learning all the codes and going in and out without having to take keys with me (because of the lock box outside my room). I will never forget my birthday and my stay at Andersonville Guesthouse and how easy and nice the experience was definitely plan on going back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to have made your birthday celebration so memorable and exceeded your expectations! We always enjoy playing a role in such special occasions. Please know that we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates. We hope to see you back for your next birthday if not sooner!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As long we you don't mind being Andersonville, this is the place you should stay at. High sealings, garage spot, fully stocked kitchens are just a few of the reasons you should stay there. You would be silly to not consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Jeff,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Andersonville Guesthouse! Thank you very much for writing a review. Please know that we offer a 10% discount off our standard rates for all of our return guests.

We hope to see you and your family again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There is nothing like Andersonville Guest House anywhere in Chicago. I recently had my family stay here for my wedding. It was so nice to have both sides of the family in the same location. They appreciated having such a large place to stay, saving money by cooking 'at home' and not eating out every meal, and they were able to experience our lovely neighborhood, with a parking spot. The guest house is far more economical than a hotel downtown (which will charge you at least $30 a night for parking) and it is definitely nicer! I could not recommend the Andersonville Guest House more highly. My family can't wait to come back and visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Nichole,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us. We were delighted to have them here for your special day and would love to accommodate them in the future. Please know that we provide a 10% discount off our standard rates to all of our return guests.

Again, thank you and congratulations on getting married!

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and my niece for a week in January. We have stayed in variouse vacation rentals in Chicago and I have to say THIS IS THE BEST!!! The units were niceley decorated, the kitchen had everything you needed to actually cook, the cable had everything you need to keep entertained, parking was on site, closets were huge, and the best part was the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseA, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your review! We were delighted to have you and your family stay with us. We certainly hope that you will return in the future.

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you like the extra amenties offered by upscale hotels such as doorman, concierage, front desk clerk, bellhops, daily housekeeping and room service then the Andersonville Guesthouse is not for you.

However if you like to have enough room for multiple members of your travel group along with full kitchen facilities with living quarters, the experience of living in a neighborhood where you can walk to restuarants and shopping, have easy access to public transportation as well as indoor parking, then you won't find anyplace more accommodating than The Andersonville Guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona K, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Andersonville Guesthouse.

Please know that we are expanding next year into a full, boutique hotel. We are adding 15 additional units (both 1 and 2 bedroom) and will have a lobby with a concierge, reception area, business center, lounge, and work out room. We will provide the same style of accommodation, but with more hotel amenities and comforts.

Again, thank you very much for staying with us. We sincerely hope to have you back in the future. If you do book again, we will give you a 10% discount!

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Hotel

Address: 4872 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60640 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to live like a local while staying in Chicago? The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago offers an affordable and comfortable place to lay your head during your visit to our city! A family-owned, boutique hotel, The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is a unique Chicago boutique hotel combining the best features of a vacation rental property with the personal attention of a boutique hotel.Our units feature one, two and three bedroom suites and all include gourmet kitchens, spa-like bathrooms and sofa beds. You can whip up a meal in the fully-equipped gourmet kitchen (we're happy to point you towards a local Farmers Market or grocery store) or, when the weather calls for it, use the grill on your private terrace. Other highlights include an inviting living and dining area; spacious and elegantly decorated bedrooms; a spa-like master bathroom ; a fireplace; a plasma television with cable; free Wifi; onsite parking (fee); in addition to an array of other amenities and comforts.The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago has an excellent location in the vibrant Andersonville neighborhood, one of Chicago's most beloved neighborhoods. We're also nestled close to Lincoln Square, another neighborhood that brings the small-town vibe to the big city. The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is just a short hop away from Wrigley Field, as well as public transportation (bus and train), which allows convenient access to downtown Chicago and tourist attractions (Feel free to ask us for dining, shopping, and tourist recommendations!) The affordable luxury of The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago and our unique location provide the perfect rental accommodation for travelers who want the comforts and independence of their own home while enjoying all that Chicago and its local culture has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guesthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.