We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Chicago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavette's Bar and Boeuf

Bavette's Bar and Boeuf
218 W Kinzie, Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 624-8154
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bavette's Bar and Boeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells/Franklin
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in Chicago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Recently had my first and definitely not my last amazing dinner at Bavette's. The warm, yet hip atmosphere is great especially on a cold winter's night. The server (Brandon) was exceptional, he came from a NYC restaurant and you could tell. The food although very simply prepared, was excellent. I had the salmon and my friend had the filet, both were fabulous. Don't miss out on their bread, even if you trying to cut back, it's worth having at least one piece! After dinner head downstairs to the Parlor for an after dinner drink, it has a clubby feel and the drinks are awesome. I highly recommend this place, one of the best in the city!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    59
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cozy, delicious, and romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our dinner here...it was some of the best food we have had while living in Chicago! We loved how the menu has a range of choices, from uniquely French to more basic such as roasted chicken. The food is amazing but the part that really won us over was the wonderful feeling of the restaurant. It's warmly lit and very romantic. A perfect place for a relaxing and delicious night out!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chicago Ribeye in a French Bistro Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had dinner here during the week of Christmas while visiting family. The ambience
alone is worth the experience. This is a very warm & inviting space, reminiscent of an
old French Bistro. The place was packed, yet conversation at the table was very easy.
We opted to sit downstairs, & what a nice space this is as well. Almost like your own private room, darker than upstairs, large bar at one end & ringed with booths on the other three walls.
There was a sofa with chairs & small tables in the center for just drinks & conversation.

Our server, Sarah was just outstanding. Always there to go over the menu or pour some wine but not hovering over the table all evening. The menu is classic Chicago steakhouse, but the space much more casual. Extensive wine list as well as Scotch, Whiskey & Bourbon offerings. Three of us had the dry-aged bone-in ribeyes while my wife opted for the filet, all cooked to perfection. The peppered duck terrine was a delicious starter, and a Brusset Gigondas was a great match for the meats. Our boys opted for some Mad Hatter, but I must add, there is a Three Floyds on the list.

A dessert of blood orange sorbet & a stunning version of chocolate pie was perfect.
To top things off, we had a couple of glasses of the hard to find yellow Chartreuse.

Bavette's has that magical combination of great food served in a fabulous setting. We
will be back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seafood tower - a massive surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We went here recently after several great recos from people in the food industry raved about it. The place did not disappoint. Service was excellent, the atmosphere beautiful (check out the downstairs too) and the food lived up to its reviews. There were four of us and we started with the gigantic seafood tower - two massive tiers of some of the freshest crab, lobster, shrimp and oysters I have ever tasted. Yes it was pricey - but OMG what a treat. We devoured it all - then took home parts of our entrees. It could easily serve as a first course for eight people. Two of us then split the bone in rib-eye ... Cooked to medium rare perfection. We also had the lamb shank and a filet. Loved it all. Enjoyed our server - who was very new to the place but you'd never know it since he had thoroughly familiarized himself with the menu. It deserves a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good scene (upstairs) - mediocre steaks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant should have been suspect when the concierges at the Park Hyatt said they consistently encountered attitude and lack of response from Bavette's. If one of the better hotels in the city cannot get good service - why should you expect to? The main venue is a nicely appointed room with a good bar. But you will need to insist on not being seated at the "kid's table" - a large bland room downstairs in the basement where they seat the spillover and the uninitiated. The staff in the spillover room is 2nd rate too so as the basement fills up you can expect your service to get worse - we had a so-so waiter and an overly aggressive little busser/server that ignored us completely until we tried to move a long since cold plate of detritus from our table - then viola - he appears and moves it back onto our table with a chiding remark once again not taking anything away as he departs. Incredible!
Lets talk food - Our party of four all found the steaks over-priced, under-seasoned and tough. I travel to Chicago frequently on business and there are PLENTY of great restaurants in this city that serve delicious steaks, Bavette's is not one of them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavette's Bar and Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to Bavette's Bar and Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavette's Bar and Boeuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.