We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small But Packs a Punch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank

Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank
230 South LaSalle St, Chicago, IL 60604-1413 (Downtown / The Loop)
312 322 2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 952 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where can you take your picture with a million bucks? Create your own currency? Try your hand at managing inflation? These are just some of the interactive activities available at the Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.We're open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except Bank holidays, when we are closed). If you want to learn a bit more about the Fed, come for our 1 p.m. guided tour (allow about 45 minutes). Admission is always free. The best part: you'll walk away with about $300 in cash--shredded, of course.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Small But Packs a Punch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First off, it's free. You show an ID, then go through security like an airport and then enter the museum. It's not big, but a lot of info and displays. You can email yourself a dollar bill with your pic in it and receive a free souvenir of a pouch of shredded money (approx. $364). The cube of money was pretty cool. Plenty of displays with old currency with large denomination bills. It took about 20 minutes to go over everything but excellent photo ops. They have bathrooms in the back and security was professional but friendly. Kids will love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LosAngeles, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We came for the tour (week days at 1 pm) and as stated in another review, it really is just a presentation and film in an auditorium. It was interesting, but definitely geared toward the elementary and middle school age. However, it was free, a good introduction to the money museum, and had some interesting bits of trivia. The money museum was outstanding. Many different interesting artifacts and while elementary and middle school age will enjoy, so will teenagers and adults. The presenter of the tour sat in the money museum, available for questions, and she also gave us more interesting facts as we passed her. The free shredded money is a great free gift and appealed to my 18 year old as much as it did to the middle school children visiting when we were there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago F, Public Relations Manager at Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for visiting our Money Museum during your visit from the west coast. We try to offer something for everyone in our tour and exhibits and are happy to hear that you found our displays to be interesting and informative. It is fun to see how the shreds span all age groups as a fun takeaway. Thanks for visiting us and our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The museum was a once in a lifetime oppritunity. They had $1,000,000 in 3 different places in the museum. It had early currency on display and other things. warning you do have to go through security to get in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago F, Public Relations Manager at Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at our Money Museum. We love your photos! You picked some of our favorite artifacts to add to your photo collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“$$$ Money, money, money $$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Didn't know there was a money museum inside the Federal Reserve Bank. You will learn everything there is to money. From the evolution of money, to the process and handling of money and how it affects the economy worldwide. This is a far more interesting way to learn about economics and finance than in college lol. You can see actual live feed of money being handled by armored guards. There are many displays featuring denominations dating back to Civil War, WWII, even colonial days. Coins are also featured. On the floor as you enter is the old elevator shaft which has now been filled with 6inches deep of various coins totaling just over $50,000. Also there are three displays of a million dollars (a large spinning cube filled with singles, a dome filled with twenties and an aluminum briefcase like that on Deal or No Deal). Don't forget to grab yourself a souvenir as you leave, it's a bag of 'Fed Shreds' which is $300 worth, in shredded uncirculated bills. Don't bother trying to piece them back together. What a memorable experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago F, Public Relations Manager at Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you found so many of our displays to be interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, MI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An hour well spent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a nice little museum which focuses on US currency and the Federal Reserve Bank. It is free which is nice, plus you get a bag of "Fed's Shred's" (shredded money) as a parting gift. The "tour" isn't a tour by my definition. It takes place in an auditorium and consists of a person talking about the Fed, followed by an educational video about the Fed. (it's kind of a PR presentation about the Fed) My family all thought the "tour" was boring.
There are several good photo opportunities at the Money Museum, including 2 or 3 "million dollar" displays. Overall, it was pretty cool.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago F, Public Relations Manager at Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Money Museum and our tour. Glad you found some interesting exhibits and didn't leave empty handed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank also viewed

 

Been to Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.