We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to kill time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank

Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank
230 South LaSalle St, Chicago, IL 60604-1413
312 322 2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where can you take your picture with a million bucks? Create your own currency? Try your hand at managing inflation? These are just some of the interactive activities available at the Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.We're open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except Bank holidays, when we are closed). If you want to learn a bit more about the Fed, come for our 1 p.m. guided tour (allow about 45 minutes). Admission is always free. The best part: you'll walk away with about $300 in cash--shredded, of course.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun way to kill time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a good time at this free museum. Kids got a free bag of shredded money, had their picture taken with a suitcase full of money, we all watched the video (parents enjoyed a bit more than kids, but good for all to know!). It's small, quick, and free! You do go through security to enter.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“free and good to see ONE MILLION US DOLLARS cash here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

you need to come here to see one million US dollars cash here,we never know how it looks like,so much fun here,and free to come in this museum,you need to have your ID card or passport with you,in here you may see US$500 bill,and US$1000 bill,in our life,we never seen this before!hope you may enjoy it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesome for free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were filling in time waiting for our train to depart- nice and close to station- very informative and interesting. Loved the free Fed Shreds to take home. Very impressed and highly recommend

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wow! Very interactive, fun and Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The kids (boys ages 9 & 7) and I loved this museum! We had a free day and decided to take the train downtown and go here. It was a short walk on a rainy day. The museum is free and open any day that is not a bank holiday. It was bigger than I expected. It had lots of interactive exhibits and the kids were very engaged. They loved guessing which bills were counterfeit and thought the million dollar cube was very cool. I love places where they have so much fun learning. A must see freebee!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the price of admission.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Which was free. But it was really awesome. If you're just bebopping around Chicago, check it out, it's worth an hour for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank also viewed

 

Been to Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Money Museum at the Federal Reserve Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.