We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, thrilling experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skydeck Chicago

Skydeck Chicago
233 S Wacker Dr, 103rd Floor, Wills Tower, Chicago, IL
+1 312-875-9447
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$18*
and up
Ranked #23 of 308 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Lookouts, Observation Decks/ Towers, Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No trip to Chicago is complete without a visit to the The Ledge at Skydeck Chicago! Enjoy 360-degree views spanning up to 50 miles and 4 states and our most spectacular view - 1,353 feet straight down! "Dare to Stand Out" on The Ledge - glass balconies extending 4.3 Feet outside the building provide a thrilling, once in a lifetime experience.
Elkhorn, Nebraska
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Unique, thrilling experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

1500 feet above the street below, with nothing above or below you except sky.
Unique, thrilling experience that everyone should do once in Chicago, worth the $18 admission. You'll never do anything like this again.
Lines weren't too bad to get into the four skydecks on the 103rd floor, probably a ten minute wait. Also great views of the city, especially on the north window. Pretty cool to look down and see the tops of all of the skyscrapers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    241
    74
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of three ways to see the top of Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The other two ways are John Hancock 95th and rent a helicopter.

Really outstanding view (depending on the weather of course), but enjoyable in the rain (which it did last time I was there). The wait can be long and its not cheap, but its pretty cool and you feel the specialness of it both up there and after you've "come back down to earth..."

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

To really enjoy the Skydeck, the weather has to be in your favor. This is not a fault of the operators, just be very aware of the weather and plan your trip accordingly as it can be a bit pricey and leave you with a bad taste in your mouth if it doesn't deliver the experience you desire. It may sound like common sense, but really...pay attention to the weather. Even the slightest bit of ozone on a hot summer day can ruin the experience. I have been here several times, and still cherish the amazing views when I took the time to PLAN my visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Breathtaking view of Chicago, I been lucky enough to visit every season. When is snowed and everything looks white, or really sunny. Amazed!!
I recumbent you visit on the last days of your stay in Chicago, so u can recognized the building you see a little bit better. You can visit close to sunset time, is amazing

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ON
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Broken Elevators - so they sent us up on the Freight Elevator!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The logistics of getting to the top were ridiculous. It was a frosty Chicago day and still it took forever to get up and down the tower. The staff were a bunch of kids who were more concerned with goofing around than providing world class service. No clue of how to manage crowds.

We had to go up 3 or 4 elevators to get to the top. There's no way this makes any sense. I felt crowded and unsafe in the very, very dated and worn elevators.

View from the top was very cool - but nothing like the CN Tower in Toronto. It took about 15 min to look out the windows and take pictures - and we stretched out our experience. Then it was back to lines to wait for 4 elevators down. I wouldn't have done this if it wasn't part of my CityPass package. Wishing I went to Hancock instead.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydeck Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Skydeck Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skydeck Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.