We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Chicago / River North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Self Parking Package
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

It is in a great location in downtown Chicago; the staff is always very friendly and accommodating. Also, a warm breakfast is provided with a good variety of foods. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms can sleep up to 6 people as all rooms have a pull out sofa. Also, the room has a mini fridge for storing anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    190
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
207
124
21
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a bachelorette party, and had a great stay. Room clean and comfy. Hairdryer didn't work, but only problem. Very filling breakfast. Reasonable rate for downtown Chicago. Will stay there again

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location. Walking distance to everything. It is a clean and nice hotel. The maids always asked if I needed anything or my room was ok. The bell man was nice and went above the average bell man duties of helping with luggage. He provided maps of Chicago attractions and also made suggestions of local favorites. The rooms were clean, however it could be a bit loud from the street noise. The hotel has ear plugs in the room that are good for quiet sleep. The wifi is slow but they offer a high speed for an additional cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the start of our Route 66 trip. Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 7th floor and was large with bed and separate seating area. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast choice (free) was good. There is some noise from the nearby fire station but this hotel is still very good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great modern, large and clean room, you need your hotel card to ride the elevator in which added a bit sense of security. Check-in was smooth, good options with valet or self park. Breakfast are good, staff super friendly and I will definitely reuse and recommend this hotel. Location is walking distance to downtown and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel. Smaller than other Hyatt hotels in the city, which makes it easy to get in and out. Convenient location. Nice, professional staff. Extra benefits of breakfast included, though I didn't get to participate because of business meetings. But I did grab an apple in the lobby in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Before going to Chicago, I was eligible for a free night at a Hyatt hotel, so I just happened to choose this Hyatt Place in River North. Let me tell you, I liked it so much- that every time I come to Chicago I stay at this very same hotel! The location is unbeatable- in a perfect location of River North. A few blocks South and you are at the Chicago River, a few blocks West and you are at the Magnificent Mile and the Lakefront. There are great restaurants and shops all over.

As for the hotel itself, it is very well maintained. The rooms are quite spacious and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is clean and up to date. I barely heard any noise from the streets or even the hallways. The breakfast had quite a large variety and was very filling. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! We had picked up cupcakes on the walk home and realized we didn't have any milk- we asked the front desk if they sold any and they happily poured us a glass for no extra cost!

For the price, location and overall service- this hotel cannot be beat. As I said, this has become my number one hotel in Chicago and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want a view- ask for a room facing downtown. If you prefer a quieter sleep, ask for a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open! Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in the trendy River North neighborhood. This downtown Chicago hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile for shopping, Theater District and famous Lakefront. Hyatt Place Chicago River North features an onsite restaurant with free breakfast, lounge serving Starbucks coffe/wine/beer, fitness center and event space. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.