We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Stay There Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Chicago / River North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Self Parking Package
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
“I'd Stay There Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice Place. A SHort Walk To Michigan Ave. Lots Of Street Sounds Due To The Fact That It's Right By A Fire House & Many Restaurants & Bars. They Had A Band In The Lobby On Saturday Night And Was REALLY Loud... Impossible To Hold A Conversation Or Talk To The Desk Staff/Concierge. The Breakfast Buffet Is Awesome & Included With The Room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    194
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
209
126
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC suburb, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I came with my daughter and her family and one of my son's daughters for the end of a special celebration. We found the hotel to be an ideal family location as well as a nice business location. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, nicely appointed and in a great neighborhood - good restaurants, clean streets and close to the Magnificent Mile and near the "downtown" area of Chicago on State Street as well as the beautiful parks and the Art Institute. The latter were a pleasant walk or a short taxi ride from the hotel. Recommend this highly to anyone; I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am happy to recommend this new downtown Chicago hotel. The central location meant many attractions are walkable including the Oriental and the Goodman Theaters.
The hardworking staff were eager to please their customers.
The full breakfast buffet was good -- the breakfast sandwiches were nice. When the eating area got crowded, both the customers and the staff did what they could to make room for others.
When you arrive to the hotel, there is a place to pull in as well as people to help you unload. We self parked at the Greenway Parking Garage on Kinsie ($47 a day) two blocks down but it wasn't a problem (as I had anticipated). That all went smoothly.
The only negative was that the hotel and parking were expensive but not out-of-line for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My company chose this hotel when the larger Hyatt was all booked and I'm forever grateful. The staff is exceptional. Five Diamond staff in a reasonable business class hotel in the heart of the loop. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Location is excellent, but price and service should also be mentioned. We stayed for 10 days and I would recommend it any time. We will be back. There are lots of restaurants nearby. Subway (red, brown, purple and blue) and buses are very close. Transportation from and to the airport is very easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was nice and cozy. Within walking distance to Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, and Grant Park. However at check in I was double charge my room rate we were compensated by receiving free parking our whole stay so I couldn't complain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland Key, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located. It's relatively new, clean & quiet. Great views from the rooms. The staff is helpful & friendly. And the rates are reasonable. I got a great AARP rate on the hotel's website, and actually it was lowered within a few weeks of the stay. The breakfast is one of the better ones I've found, but being gluten intolerant, didn't offer many choices for me, but it did for my spouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open! Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in the trendy River North neighborhood. This downtown Chicago hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile for shopping, Theater District and famous Lakefront. Hyatt Place Chicago River North features an onsite restaurant with free breakfast, lounge serving Starbucks coffe/wine/beer, fitness center and event space. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.