We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for a family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Chicago / River North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Self Parking Package
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Being our first time to Chicago and not knowing where to stay I was anxious in picking a hotel but I can say without hesitation the clean spacious room, the courteous helpful staff and location of this hotel will bring us back if we are able to get back to Chicago again. We thank the manager for taking care of our reservation hiccup in the initial portion of our stay and all the staff for helping make our vacation a pleasant week. The breakfast was a great way to start off our day! Plus letting us use the amenities of the microwave to heat up leftovers was a great help. Yes I will agree that it can get a bit noisy here and there at times from the street noise, but hey your in a big city. And yes you are by the fire department, but they are there to do their job and they will use their sirens. I slept great since we kept so busy during the day there were no issues. Kudos to you all and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Higher floors if you can, Room with a view if you can upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Family vacations are very important, and it means a lot to us to have made yours an excellent one. We hope we have made you big fans of Chicago, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Second City.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    192
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
208
124
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotels rooms were fresh and clean, and decorated in a modern style. Staff were friendly. Unfortunately I was on the second floor on a Friday and Saturday evening, and the noise coming from the street was loud and constant. I normaly am a deep sleeper, but this kept me awake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I'm disappointed to hear that you had a less than restful stay. I would love for you to give us the opportunity to deliver the experience you deserve. I suggest a room facing the building center, which will forfeit a view, but provide a much more tranquil experience. Please contact me prior to your next arrival.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had an excellent stay. The service was great and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The traffic and fire station was a little noisy, but not too bothersome. The breakfast area was small but the food was really good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Greetings Ms. Patty,

I'm delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay. I apologize if breakfast was very busy during your stay. We do allow guests to bring breakfast to the room if they desire, and that may be a great option for your next visit. Thanks for the feedback.

Josh Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights on our recent family vacation and the staff and management were excellent. Thought we got off to a rough start when we found out our room was not available the first night due to another guest's extended stay, Management responded quickly to our request for compensation by not charging for the first night and placing us in a room with a beautiful view of the City skyline from the 16th floor looking south towards the Willis Tower! The staff also accommodated our needs without exception including when we had leftover dinners 2 nights from the great restaurants nearby like Maggiano's and Geno's East in the breakfast lounge. We also could not have had better service from the Bellman Dwayne and Kwantel when we needed transportation or directions to the local attractions we had on our schedule and our return the the airport. Keep up the Great Service Hyatt Place!

Room Tip: We suggest room on the south side on the upper floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Greetings Rick,

I extend my sincere apologies for the snafu during your arrival. I am pleased we were able to redeem ourselves, and I thank you for the opportunity to do so. I will give Dwayne and Kwantel a big pat on the back for delivering such purposeful service to you and your family.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chciago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

couldnt have asked for a more perfect get a way. great city locatoin, comfortable beds, very clean facility. Valet parking just a couple dollats more and very convenient. I recommed you look into valet. Perfect evening. thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I'm delighted to hear you had a great stay. I will be sure to share you feedback with the valet managers. We hope to see you again so we may deliver another great stay.

Kindly,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Exceptional facility and service. Must be new hotel, but staff also take great care of it. Have never had a cleaner room...Tatyana deserves special mention. Stayed at the Aloft around the corner as well during same trip and although I prefer starwood (SPG) rewards, the hotel did not measure up to Hyatt's quality of rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Greetings Katerina,

Thank you for taking the time to mention Tatyana's eye for detail. Her care for our rooms makes such an impact on the guest, an aspect many people take for granted. We certainly appreciate all she does, and that you took the time to notice. We hope to welcome you back as our guest very soon.

Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel and right in the middle of everything. Great place to stay, the staff was friendly and a.m. breakfast skillet was very good compared to most other places we have stayed. We will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place. We're very pleased to hear you will be staying with us again. Thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open! Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in the trendy River North neighborhood. This downtown Chicago hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile for shopping, Theater District and famous Lakefront. Hyatt Place Chicago River North features an onsite restaurant with free breakfast, lounge serving Starbucks coffe/wine/beer, fitness center and event space. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.