We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Chicago / River North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Self Parking Package
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Business Trip to Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellent Value - in Chicago. Rooms are clean and spacious. Love the 24/7 ability to get a quick drink, late night snack etc. Breakfast included in the price, lots of options. Location was perfect for all the attractions as well as within walking distance of the meeting location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
As a fellow night owl, I also appreciate the ability to get something to eat 24/7. Many of our business travelers can work very late or start very early, so we do our best to help you do your best. Thanks for being a guets of Hyatt Place. We hope to see you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    194
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
209
126
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Rooms were clean and pretty spacious, especially for the price in downtown Chicago. Staff were friendly and helpful.... #1 being Ruba down in the bar. She offered us MANY excellent suggestions for restaurants, drinks, etc!!! Location was perfect for shopping, restaurants, etc. The included buffet breakfast was really plentiful! Only downside was the fire station across the street... but, earplugs on the nightstand helped. We were granted a delayed check-out and provided more towels when requested. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
When the ladies need a Girl's Night Out, the Hyatt Place is the perfect location. I'm glad you and your crew agree. I will acknowledge Ruba for her excellent service. We are fortunate to have her on our team. I do apologize for our noisy neighbors, but I am pleased that the earplugs were helpful.

Please come see us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice hotel but noisy if you are in a room by the fire station. Friends joined us after our first night and we told them to request a room away from the fire station. They did not have the disruptions we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Please accept my sincere aplogies for your stay being disrupted by the Fire Station across the street. Upon your next visit, request a room facing north to lessen the impact of the Roar of River North. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in Chicago so we can deliver a peaceful night's rest after a long day in the city.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Hyatt chain is reliable for the quality of its properties, and this one is no exception; however, I feel that it offers outstanding value for the money. The quality of the rooms and public spaces is easily superior to many 4-star hotels I've stayed at. It's hard to believe it's rated as only A 3-star. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Greetings Leslie,

Thank you for the kind review. We are focused on offering a high-quality experience at an exceptional value. I'm delighted to know we have hit the mark. We hope this will be your first of many stays at our Hyatt Place.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Place in the River North District in Chicago for a weekend getaway. The hotel is clean, modern and the staff were very friendly. The location was perfect for sightseeing. The L train station on Grant/State is located 4 blocks away so you basically can take the train directly from Midway or O'Hare to the hotel. Grant Park, Aquarium and the Chicago Art Institute are nearby, approximately 1.2 mile walk Plenty of spectacular restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Much like the Vegas Strip, Chicago is extremely an walkable city with lots of visual impact, so I am sure you felt right at home exploring the city. We are pleased to have had you as our guest, and we are willing to bet this won't be your last visit to Hyatt Place.

Kind Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed in April 2014 with adult family members and can't say enough about the wonderful staff. When someone forgot a toothbrush, a staff member gave her the 50 cents to purchase one since she didnt have the money with her. Everyone was helpful and nice. Excellent breakfast--the french toast was a favorite. Rooms were a good size and spotless. The fire station outside our 10th floor window did not really bother us at all. We slept great. The location was perfect, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We do have a great breakfast - the French Toast is my favorite, too! I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay. Please come see us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our experience at the Hyatt was outstandingl. The staff, especially Matthew and Joe were excellent. They welcomed us from the time we walked in until the time we left. They went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff could not have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We love to hear that you had an oustanding experience! I am always pleased when our staff makes such a positive impact on our guest's visits. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to thank Joe and Matthew for their service.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 West Illinois Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open! Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in the trendy River North neighborhood. This downtown Chicago hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile for shopping, Theater District and famous Lakefront. Hyatt Place Chicago River North features an onsite restaurant with free breakfast, lounge serving Starbucks coffe/wine/beer, fitness center and event space. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.