We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous all the way around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Restaurant & Bar

Two Restaurant & Bar
1132 W Grand Ave Chicago, IL 60642, Chicago, IL
312.624.8363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: TWO Restaurant and Bar The comfortable atmosphere, with artful second-life decor, makes it a perfect West Side neighborhood gathering place. Influenced by the quality and tradition of family run butcher shops, TWO sources from trusted, small mid-western farms. They are often the first Chicago restaurant to feature renowned items, such as the heritage Hampshire pork, on their menu. TWO chefs make all their bacon, sausage, jerky, cheese, sauces and pastas in house and are constantly exploring new and seasonal dishes to feature those ingredients.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous all the way around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Love everything about this restaurant. The decor and concept are wonderful. Everything is repurposed. The staff is warm and welcoming. The food is really divine. We went during restaurant week in Chicago. The 4 course offering was amazing. Loved the risotto and duck pasta course. Not a huge fan of the boar sausage but I don't love sausage. The wine recommendation was great. The owner comes around to chat with everyone. Really great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

You have GOT to try this place. With wine & tip, a full evening is in the $125/couple area. Worth every cent. Locally sourced foods, with a seasonal menu which changes according to what's available. Everything is made in-house, and is exquisite. You can't. Go. Wrong.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great new find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend recommended this restaurant and I had never heard of it. I'm so glad we went! The atmosphere was casual, but it had a trendy vibe. The waiter was able to recommend a nice wine, which is always appreciated. We had 4 dishes (2 sharing plates per person recommended). We had the market salad (a great, fresh salad to star the meal), mussels (so delicious but a tiny portion. It's about 1/2-1/3 the size of a normal portion of mussels), duck fat pasta (delicious and perfectly sized) and the roast chicken. I normally shy away from roast chicken because I like to be more adventurous. However, the lemon brine on this chicken gave it such a delicious flavor. It was tender, flavorful and juicy. We ended our meal with a banana split which matched the other dishes in terms of deliciousness. Can't wait for brunch to start!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had dinner with friends at Two based on our son's recommendation. It turned out to be wonderful as he had said. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were treated like special people. The food was excellent, wine delicious and servers extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. Would definitely return. Our favorite entree was the Char. The risotto and pasta dishes were great and the onion soup had a special ingredient that added to a rich flavor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Two. Great Concept that's been better executed elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Overall, this was a good dining experience. The restaurant was lively and even though we were on time for our 8:30 reservation, we had to wait 10 minutes to be seated.

The staff were friendly and offered suggestions but they didn't do a good job of explaining what is kind of a confusing menu. This is farm to table, tapas style, which seems to be a trendy template for new Eco minded metropolitan restaurants. Although the menu items sounded terrific, they did not deliver in terms of taste. Part of this could have been because we steered away from dishes that contained bacon or sausage as they admitted that they used pink salt curing, which contains preservatives...we found that to be surprising and disappointing.

The cocktails we had were good and the wait staff, though busy, were attentive and helpful.

Overall, we have dined at restaurants of this genre before in other cities and Two really doesn't pull it off as well. Better sourcing information, truly natural preparation, and less restraint in seasoning might serve to improve their offering.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Two Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.