We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the cheese sandwich which one desire in dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pastoral Artisan Cheese, Bread & Wine

Pastoral Artisan Cheese, Bread & Wine
53 E Lake St., Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 658-1250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's the cheese sandwich which one desire in dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Its a wonderful expirance and the taste which seems permant on my taste buds.no words can explain the goodness of vegetarian sandwich I had may 6 times in two days.taste so good that it arouse my taste buds.a expirance may be called THE BEST.SIMPLY NO MATCH

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Quaint and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent selection of cheese and meats to go with the wide variety of wines for sale. While they do not have a consumption license for alcohol, we were able to get a cheese plate and some excellent olives and bread. A small store but loaded with some fabulous selections of cheese and meats. We happened upon here for a snack and loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Behold....Cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pastoral was really close to our hotel, but even if it wasn't I would come to this store. The staff is so knowledgeable and helpful that you will leave finding just the right cheese for your picnic or party. I was able to sample some new cheeses and put together a great late lunch of cheese, olives and aged meats. What a great gem in the city! There is very limited seating so your best bet is to plan for a picnic or bring your goodies back to your hotel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

These guys offer a great sandwich and do not skimp of the quality of the ingredients. If you are looking to grab a quick bite and don't want to give in to fast food, this is a great option. The shop doubles as a cheese and liquor store as well. The workers were fast and friendly. There is a handful of tables outside, and a couple indoors. From the looks of it this place can get busy during the lunch hour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sandwich Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I love a great sandwich and found some here with top notch meats, cheeses, veg/condiments and most important: crusty/chewy bread. We shared one called something like "pig and fig", but I am getting the name wrong, I am sure. Also shared a charcuterie platter which was one of the best I have had. I would come here every day if I lived in Chicago - it is that good. Place is easy to miss on Lake just west of Millenium Park, but worth looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastoral Artisan Cheese, Bread & Wine also viewed

 

Been to Pastoral Artisan Cheese, Bread & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastoral Artisan Cheese, Bread & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.