We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cava and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vera

Vera
1023 W Lake St, Chicago, IL 60607 (West Loop)
(312) 243-9770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #704 of 7,738 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: West Loop
Description: Vera has been rated as one of the top new restaurants in Chicago. Emphasis is on fresh locally produced food, prepared with a Spanish influence. Small plates and special items. They have a wonderful wine and beer menu. They also have a separate Spanish ham and a cheese bar. The chefs are excellent, especially the cheese and ham bar chef. He is extremely knowledgable and very friendly.
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“cava and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

great small plates to share, very nice wine list and the service was outstanding. Menu changes with the seasons. Wonderful farm to plate dining experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SPAIN IN USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have just arrived home from the best Spanish food and experience I've had outside of Spain. An astonishingly simple yet perfectly crafted menu with balance and authenticity. A wine list that just cradles all the food flavours. And a service second to no one with knowledge, care and attention to detail without the usual interuptions of checking if everything is ok...Beautiful atmosphere, owners who love what they do. A truly remarkable experience. The best experience in Chicago against some very good competitors.
Rick

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Tapas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with another couple and shared everything. The tapas were great. Good service. Our server even gave us a wine we hadn't ordered as it went better with one of our tapas than the wine we had ordered. The lighting is a dim.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - perfect for date night, business meeting or special celebrations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Enjoyed Vera's during a business trip in November 2013. First, the atmosphere is perfect. Romantic and quiet but not underlit. The décor is soothing and relaxing. It is small enough to feel like your secret favorite local restaurant but large enough to handle a decent crowd.

The service was impeccable. We had questions about menu options due to one guest who has some food limitations due to religious beliefs and the staff was helpful and non-judgmental. They clearly wanted each of us to have a fabulous meal and were willing to do whatever was needed to ensure that.

There is a very nice wine selection offering both reasonably priced options and some nice high-end bottles.

The tapas style allows you to try lots of different dishes and we chose a sampling from each category. Every one was prepared perfectly and arrived at our table at the right pace. Many times, tapas can be mis-handled and you either have to rush through dishes or spend too much time between servings.

The restaurant is pricey, but I found it to be worth every penny.

I am not aware of the parking options close by, as we arrived by taxi. They do offer a coat check at the door.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ate here on a business trip to Chicago based on the other TA reviews. Happened to go on a Friday when the special was Brick Chicken that was awesome. I usually do not eat the skin, but made an exception in this case as the taste and texture were super. I also had an heirloom carrot dish that was a special as well that was served with an excellent Romesco Sauce.
They have an extensive wine list and had 3 wines on tap! I had the Tempranillo that was on tap and was not disappointed.
My only problem is that I will always want to go on a Friday, so I can have the Brick Chicken which is the special every Friday. My waitress said she had been wanting to take a Friday off work just so she could come in and try the chicken! Nuf said.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vera also viewed

 

Been to Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.