We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Followed a recommendation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garretts Popcorn

Garretts Popcorn
Merchandise Mart, Chicago, IL (Magnificent Mile)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
GRAND RAPIDS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Followed a recommendation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Friend from Chicago told us to celebrate Michigan's win in the basketball tournament with a trip to Garretts. Arrived before 10:30 Saturday, and there was a line. But their efficient system of running people through their small shop had us out the store about 15-20 minutes from the time we started in line. Delicious Chicago mix corn. Opted for Jumbo size in a bag, rather than doubling price by adding a tin. Even though they are attractive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    53
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Shopping Snack!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This small popcorn shop is right off of Michigan, and their small bags make the perfect snack while you're shopping! It's worth popping your head in the door just to smell the place! We were there on a Wednesday afternoon, and there was no line so we were in and out. I got the dark chocolate covered caramel corn... delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingon, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Came highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

On a recent business trip, I went out of my way to find Garretts Popcorn as it came highly recommended to me. I had a coupon for a sample of the Chicago mix which is caramel & cheese popcorn mixed together. What a yummy sweet & salty combination. I purchased a small bag of butter popcorn and a medium bag of Chicago mix to share with my family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good but kind of expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The line for this place is crazy. I had to wait so I could find out what all the fuss was about. I was not disappointed. The caramel and cheese popcorns are really, really good. And really good mixed together. I just thought is was expensive. I brought some home from our trip for our kids and considered it a "souvenier". It didn't seem so bad to think of it that way! Yummy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best popcorn you will ever eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

When walking down Ontario Street towards Michigan Avenue, you will smell the most awesome popcorn aroma. As you approach the store, you will see long line of people standing in any type of weather to get inside and order from a variety of popcorn options. This is a must do!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garretts Popcorn also viewed

 

Been to Garretts Popcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garretts Popcorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.