We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a Good Hostel, Not Quiet at All” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Holiday Lofts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Holiday Lofts to your Saves list
Urban Holiday Lofts
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   2014 W Wabansia Ave, Damen Cta Blue Line, Chicago, IL (Wicker Park / Bucktown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Maybe a Good Hostel, Not Quiet at All”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I'm still up in the air about this space. The location was pretty perfect for me - about two blocks away from the blue line, a 10 min or so walk away from the restaurants on Division, and the amenities in the space were pretty nice (bathroom had to be the best hostel bathroom I've ever seen).

That being said though it was loud. Not loud as in 'busy' but loud as in old place/ creaky floorboards/ pool table on the floor above that people seemed to love to play. At the time I checked in I wasn't feel well, so had to hunker down in my bunk for a day -- and the creaky-ness really sounded like someone was outside my door or in the next room but it was upstairs.

I think if I was going in a larger group, the cost savings and location would have made this more attractive. But as a single person travelling and not feeling well? I didn't quite get that rest that I was looking for.

All in all - great location, close to transit, etc but the private rooms are still very much hostel rooms. I was hoping for something better - however, it was one of the better hostels I've stayed at.

A positive for sure - the front office staff in the evening. Immensely helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Maybe not 3rd floor -- 2nd or 5th would be better to avoid the 4th floor "walking on your head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    95
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
32
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If your a solo traveller like I was do not stay here if you want company. Super quiet! The only people that stayed here were either in groups or travelling to Chicago for business etc. Most of the time I was the only person in the common room and if someone else was there they wouldn't talk. For this reason I really didn't like it. However, the place itself is beautiful though. Super spacious rooms with a kitchen and bathroom in each. New and quirky décor. The neighbourhood where the hostel is located is really cool. Great bars and supermarkets in easy reach. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

While this place is expensive for a hostel, we appreciated a lot about it: a continental breakfast is included, the common breakfast room is nice and sunny and the staff are friendly. We stayed on the top floor in the one room with a private bath and it was much nicer than room 303 for our last 3 nights (noisier). The location in the heart of Wicker Park and Bucktown is ideal... All the nightlife you could want, plus some cool shops. The hostelis two blocks from the blue line and therefore convenient to everything.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

First of all I want to give a shout out to Brendan at the front desk he was great answered all our questions and gave us some great ideas.
Great location, clean, good atmosphere, massive lounge area, free breakfast great nearby restaurants and shops.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here the past 4 days while in Chicago for Riot Fest in a room with 4 beds and a "private" bathroom. The door to our private bathroom was a sliding door with a 2 inch gap on both sides, so you better be comfortable with the other people in your room. The website for this place does it's job, because it makes it seem like it's going to be way nicer than it is. "Luxury linens" apparently equates to Ikea sheets and bleach-stained / tattered bathroom towels. The common room is ok but they lock it at night. Website also claims "daily housekeeping", but no one even emptied the trash in our room during our 4 night stay, and we had to get our own fresh towels when needed. At breakfast they would run out of things and keep extras locked up, so you'd have to ask if you wanted more to be put out.

Some complaints other reviewers have touched on, but I feel the need to reiterate:

This place is old and every time anyone moves on the floor above you, you hear loud squeaks, etc. I had to buy earplugs, because I got about 2 hours of sleep the first night with all the noise from the floor above every time anyone moved.

The eastward facing rooms are super bright by 7 am and all the garbage / construction trucks in the alley behind the rooms will be sure to keep you awake starting at dawn.

The amount shown for your stay when you book online does not include the 16% tax, so be ready to pay way more than you expected when you get there.

To end this on a more positive note, we really enjoyed staying in Bucktown. It is an awesome neighborhood where you will never run out of things to do, but UHL is not the best bet for your money as far as accommodations go.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor, so you don't have the noise from the rooms above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Its a really great hostel with very modern establishment. One negative point is the location, but the train station is a 5min walk away, which takes you anywhere you want. Another negative point is, that the hostel doesnt really organizes group activities, which other hostels do.. Anyway, its a good hostel which makes you feel very comfortable and a bit like home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff at Urban Holiday Lofts (UHL) are great and very helpful! Jason especially comes to mind, but they are all great. UHL is a 3-minute walk to the CTA Blue Line making it easy to get around by subway in Chicago. Parking is not cheap downtown so CTA is the best way to get around to visit popular attractions. There are good places to eat nearby, and a few decent pubs as well. Despite a high occupancy rate, we found it to be relatively quiet in our rooms as far as other guests are concerned. Having said that, noise from the outside does come in, and the walls inside are also thin. Take earplugs just in case. The breakfast is very basic (toast, bagels & cereal) but there is a mini kitchen where you can prepare your own meals, which is very convenient. Our room was very clean...extra or more substantial pillows would have been nice to have. I would give our stay 5-stars if the shared bathroom/showers were cleaner.

Room Tip: There are no thermostats in the rooms, but if you need the temperature adjusted, just ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Holiday Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Holiday Lofts

Address: 2014 W Wabansia Ave, Damen Cta Blue Line, Chicago, IL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Urban Holiday Lofts 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Urban Holiday Lofts! We're located in the Wicker Park neighborhood of Chicago, home to amazing restaurants, shops, bars, and more. Just minutes away from the CTA's Blue Line train station, Urban Holiday Lofts is in a perfect location to access the city's airports & bus/train stations and the downtown Loop area. With amenities like free breakfast and WiFi, along with our great rates, you'll find Urban Holiday Lofts is an affordable and fun lodging option for your trip to the Windy City! We look forward to seeing you in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Urban Holiday Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Holiday Lofts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.