We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Inn Midway to your Saves list
Carlton Inn Midway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4944 S. Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Was flying out of midway for first time, found this little gem of a hotel. Shuttle to airport, clean rooms, nice breakfast, but most importantly GREAT STAFF! From check in person(Alex) to shuttle driver (Steve) all were helpful and very friendly. Not much from the outside but well worth it especially if traveling from Midway. Would do park and fly again in a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    127
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
147
127
37
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The rooms are not fancy at all but its a great place to stay outside of the city. Fast walk to the subway station. Breakfast is included and it was delicious and there was free parking. It was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I spent three nights in the Carlton Inn because my airline cancelled my flight back home. The hotel room was big, comfy and really clean! Staff was super friendly, they were awesome! They helped us out with everything they could and made our stay at the hotel feel like home. Breakfast was good too! The shuttle to the airport made everything easier and we were glad that they offered that service for free. I would recommend this hotel 100%! The subway/train is only 3 blocks away, easy to get there walking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I decided to head to Chicago to celebrate out 15 year anniversary back in October! This hotel had great review here on Tripadvisor and was in our price range! When we checked in, the front counter staff was so helpful. They gave us a map, traced out and highlighted the train routes, and even offered to give us a ride to dinner and back. The hotel room was clean and everything worked great! I would definitely go back there with my family in the future! I love that it was a close walk to the light rail and that the price was half of what it would be had we stayed down town. Thanks for making our stay in the Chicago area wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

On February 20th, 2014, my daughter Meaghan Anderson was traveling alone from San Francisco to Nashville via Chicago Midway. Before her flight landed in Chicago, her connecting flight had been canceled. After trying to find another flight out of Chicago to no avail, I decided to put Meaghan up for a night and have her fly out the next day. When I called Carlton Inn, I spoke to Valerie Lopez. She was extremely helpful in holding a room for us while the credit card information was arranged, and then sent a shuttle out to the airport to bring Meaghan to the hotel. While this may not seem like a big deal, my daughter is not a frequent traveler, and it was comforting to have someone on the phone caring enough to make every effort to help. Thank you Valerie and thank you Carlton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here when we came for the International Kennel Club Dog Show. The rooms were very large and spotlessly clean. We parked right in front of the room which is so helpful for unloading crates and dogs.
Maid service was done every day.
The ground was covered with over a foot of snow but the lot was scraped and salted.
The breakfast was terrific. Full size Dunkin Donut breakfast sandwiches and fresh donuts!
The parking lot is very small and parking was tight but we didn't have any trouble finding a spot.
Absolutely will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Staff is really friendly! Very helpful and very welcoming of pets (even gave a little pet welcome bag). The pet fees are definitely reasonable. The outside of the inn, not so pretty, but inside the room is great considering. Free internet as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Address: 4944 S. Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Inn Midway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.