We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful front desk, nice hotel to stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Inn Midway to your Saves list
Carlton Inn Midway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4944 S. Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Very helpful front desk, nice hotel to stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I will definitely visit this hotel again. The front desk lady, Valerie is very helpful. Cosy bedroom with very nice breakfast. Free shuttle from hotel to nearest Pulaski train station. Direct CTA to Chinatown via 62 Archer. Good location... 18 minutes to Roosevelt downtown station.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    124
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
136
122
35
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I go to Chicago every year for a full week of work. The people who work at Carlton Inn remember me. They are the most friendly, helpful, courteous hotel folks I've ever come across. The rooms are neat and clean. I like having the refrigerator and microwave in the room. I need those! For my job, this hotel is the perfect location. It's a free and quick shuttle ride from Midway and it's easy to get on the Stevens Expressway. There is a good grocery nearby, small non-chain restaurants, a Target, etc.
I will emphasize that the staff at Carlton Inn Midway are the reason this is a great place to stay. They go out of their way to take care of you and are genuinely friendly and helpful. See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great staff service, good clean rooms, good food. Stayed for a couple of days, and it was still pleasant afterwards. We would recommend it to anyone staying in this area of Chicago. Will be staying here again in the future! ~Xavier

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Carlton Inn near the midway airport is a decent friendly place to stay.The room was clean if not well appointed. The bed was horrible, lumpy and hard on one side and lumpy and soft The grounds and surrounding area was clean and well kept. The staff was always friendly and helpful. They were also very responsive to room requests. But, the best reason to stay at the Carlton Inn is the shuttle service. In particular one driver who made our stay terrific. He picked us up from the airport with pleasant conversation, made a couple suggestion for where to eat and helped us out with some necessities we had forgotten. He ran us around a couple more times always pleasant and helpful. He also teaches martial arts to kids at the local rec center. He is a true chicagoian. They serve a free continental breakfast, but don't be fooled the pancakes taste like rubber. Do try out Pindos for breakfast. The neighborhood is not the greatest so do take them up on the free shuttle service. The L is only a couple blocks away and they will shuttle you over. If you take a cab into downtown it will cost $25-$30. All in all the Carlton is not the Hilton, but worth the money so if you go say hi to our driver for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a very nice two-story motel in a nice residential area near the Chicago Midway airport. Their shuttle service provides convenient access to Midway and to nearby restaurants and grocery stores. The Pulaski station of the Chicago Transit Authority "L" system is less than a five minute walk from the motel. The rooms are clean and well maintained. I will stay here again on my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I picked this motel based on the reviews I read regarding the friendly staff and the location to a train station. The price was in my range but far from downtown, the train right around the corner only took 10 to 15 mins to get downtown. The Carlton Inn desk gave me perfect directions to get to the hotel using public transit from the bus station, they picked me up at the train station and showed us to our room. Later that night they recommended a bar/grill and gave us a ride there, picked us up when we finished dinner, took us by a convince store to but random things and back to the motel. The next morning they woke us up when we requested had a huge breakfast selection and a ride back to the shuttle to head down town. All the desk workers and drivers were very friendly and helpful. We will defiantly come back to Chicago and stay at the Carlton Inn Midway when we do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in Carlton Midway Inn during Chicago marathon. Both rooms were very clean and quiet. Breakfast was good. Shuttle to MDW airport is convenient but we did not use it. "El" train station is only 7-8 min away but it takes ~20 min of ride to get to The Loop. - this is the only drawback.
Do not forget to show your AAA card - the do honor it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Address: 4944 S. Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Inn Midway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.