We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's my home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Save Saved
You added Carlton Inn Midway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Inn Midway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4944 S. Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's my home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I go to Chicago every year for a full week of work. The people who work at Carlton Inn remember me. They are the most friendly, helpful, courteous hotel folks I've ever come across. The rooms are neat and clean. I like having the refrigerator and microwave in the room. I need those! For my job, this hotel is the perfect location. It's a free and quick shuttle ride from Midway and it's easy to get on the Stevens Expressway. There is a good grocery nearby, small non-chain restaurants, a Target, etc.
I will emphasize that the staff at Carlton Inn Midway are the reason this is a great place to stay. They go out of their way to take care of you and are genuinely friendly and helpful. See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    112
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
112
105
31
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great staff service, good clean rooms, good food. Stayed for a couple of days, and it was still pleasant afterwards. We would recommend it to anyone staying in this area of Chicago. Will be staying here again in the future! ~Xavier

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Carlton Inn near the midway airport is a decent friendly place to stay.The room was clean if not well appointed. The bed was horrible, lumpy and hard on one side and lumpy and soft The grounds and surrounding area was clean and well kept. The staff was always friendly and helpful. They were also very responsive to room requests. But, the best reason to stay at the Carlton Inn is the shuttle service. In particular one driver who made our stay terrific. He picked us up from the airport with pleasant conversation, made a couple suggestion for where to eat and helped us out with some necessities we had forgotten. He ran us around a couple more times always pleasant and helpful. He also teaches martial arts to kids at the local rec center. He is a true chicagoian. They serve a free continental breakfast, but don't be fooled the pancakes taste like rubber. Do try out Pindos for breakfast. The neighborhood is not the greatest so do take them up on the free shuttle service. The L is only a couple blocks away and they will shuttle you over. If you take a cab into downtown it will cost $25-$30. All in all the Carlton is not the Hilton, but worth the money so if you go say hi to our driver for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a very nice two-story motel in a nice residential area near the Chicago Midway airport. Their shuttle service provides convenient access to Midway and to nearby restaurants and grocery stores. The Pulaski station of the Chicago Transit Authority "L" system is less than a five minute walk from the motel. The rooms are clean and well maintained. I will stay here again on my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I picked this motel based on the reviews I read regarding the friendly staff and the location to a train station. The price was in my range but far from downtown, the train right around the corner only took 10 to 15 mins to get downtown. The Carlton Inn desk gave me perfect directions to get to the hotel using public transit from the bus station, they picked me up at the train station and showed us to our room. Later that night they recommended a bar/grill and gave us a ride there, picked us up when we finished dinner, took us by a convince store to but random things and back to the motel. The next morning they woke us up when we requested had a huge breakfast selection and a ride back to the shuttle to head down town. All the desk workers and drivers were very friendly and helpful. We will defiantly come back to Chicago and stay at the Carlton Inn Midway when we do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in Carlton Midway Inn during Chicago marathon. Both rooms were very clean and quiet. Breakfast was good. Shuttle to MDW airport is convenient but we did not use it. "El" train station is only 7-8 min away but it takes ~20 min of ride to get to The Loop. - this is the only drawback.
Do not forget to show your AAA card - the do honor it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had an early flight out of Midway airport and needed somewhere close to stay one night. The hotel is older, actually a two story motel with all outside entrances. The front desk staff were very friendly. They have a full breakfast, but the kicker is you walk down the street to a restaurant with a seven dollar voucher. The restaurant is okay, just a local cafe. Had a full eggs and potatoes meal, but it is hard not to go over the voucher dollar amount and then to tip on top. The rooms are quite spaces with a fridge, microwave, and eating area. The bathroom is dated, but very serviceable. I am told there is a shuttle. Don't know, didn't need one. Also, supposedly near the El, but didn't notice. It is close to the airport which is what I needed and it worked just fine. I thought is was a little pricey at 120 per night, but it is Chicago, I guess.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Carlton Inn Midway, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Stonecreek Arabians,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to comment. I am happy that we met your needs for lodging for an early Midway flight. Our remodeled breakfast area has been re-opened for about two months now after a temporary closure for repair and renovation. During your stay we were using the adjoining restaurant with a voucher to serve our breakfast. I apologize for any resulting inconvenience the closure caused and look forward to serving you when future need arises.
Warm Regards,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Address: 4944 S. Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Inn Midway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.