We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 South Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638 (Southwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pros: wonderful & friendly service, printed directions for specific stops on train, clean rooms, comfortable king bed, quality continental breakfast, free shuttle service to airport/train, lots of restaurants nearby, affordable for Chicago standards

Cons: very trafficky along Cicero, somewhat difficult to find due to Holiday Inn around the corner (but no big deal at all)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Shanel F,

Our staff appreciates your kind words. Thank you for sharing. We appreciate you as a valued guest and we hope you give us an opportunity to serve as your host again whenever your travels bring you back to the Chicago area.

Thank you again,

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
17
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have been coming every summer since 2012 and after o hare my family and I love to crash down this is the place to do it after a flight it is also a very nice atmosphere for us. Thank you to the receptionist chefs amid manager and more for making a nice and friendly stay at holiday inn express located midway between the airport in Chicago Illinois united states of america.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Taf,

Thanks for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! It is always nice to know that our accommodations and customer service provided met your needs. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Again, thank you for being a valued guest.

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had to check in last minute due to a series of delayed flights. I'm glad my company found this place. The young lady at the front desk, Heaven was awesome. Fast easy check in. My luggage and toiletries all flew to LA without me so I was stranded with nothing. Heaven provided me with deodorant, a comb, a shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste. I am very grateful for that. I will definitely be staying here next time I fly in or get stranded. Thank you Holiday Inn Express for your hospitality.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Abraham,

Thank you for this wonderful review!! I will be sure to share your feedback with Heaven and the rest of the team. I am very happy that they were able accommodate you.

Thank you once again for the kind words and hope you have a wonderful rest of the week!

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a good airport hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms and an okay breakfast. My only complaint is that the information about the shuttle service to the metro station is misleading. The hotel website says that there is a "complimentary shuttle available" TO THE METRO station. Actually, the shuttle takes one to the departures section of Midway airport, and from there it's a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro platform. I timed us, and it never took us less than 25 minutes total from getting on the shuttle at the hotel to taking our seats in the train at the Metro platform.

This is still workable for getting to downtown Chicago, and I'd probably stay here again just because the price is so much lower than downtown hotels. However, the information on the hotel website should clarify just how long it will take to get from the hotel to downtown. I was expecting a shuttle stop just for the Metro, so I was thinking total travel time from hotel to Loop would be about 35 minutes or so. In fact, what with the walk through the airport, our total travel time from hotel to Loop was more like 55 minutes or an hour. That's fine, but travelers need to know that that's what they're getting so they can plan accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello,

We are so happy to hear that you had a nice stay! I will definetly take your advice and review our website in detail to correct any outdated information. Thank you so much for letting us know these things! It is through guests like you that we can provide a great hotel that guests love!! We hope to see you the next time you are in town!!

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip. This hotel is clean and quiet, although the prices are really high for what you get (although, this is true of Chicago hotels in general). The bathrooms are a bit old and outdated, but they're clean and functional. The beds were very comfortable and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Both days required a cab ride into downtown Chicago and the hotel staff and cabs waiting, just as we'd asked them to. Also, the airport shuttle is very convenient and the driver was really friendly. The breakfast buffet, though: not so great. There were no hot offerings either morning, even though there were stations for eggs and pancakes that remained empty. The coffee was also bad. I walked over to the Starbucks inside the Mariott next door both mornings. Overall, good, comfortable, hotel at better prices than others located in same office park. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about our great service and clean rooms! I noticed that you commented on the breakfast. We put breakfast out every morning at 4am for guest that have early flights in the AM. However, the hot items are served M-F from 6:00am-9:30am and 7-10am on Saturday and Sunday. This may be the reason in which the stations were empty. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chicago! Thanks!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here one night for business trip. Location was great - close to airport and area restaurants. Didn't use the shuttle but it's convenient for those that need it. I had a double room on first floor. Room was nice... very clean and lots of towels and pillows. Air conditioner was a little loud when fan was running. I had to call maintenance when I forgot to tuck the shower curtain in and accidentally flooded the bathroom. Maintenance men were very quick to respond and very polite and helpful. All the staff was very nice. Complimentary breakfast was also convenient. Good assortment of breakfast items. I will gladly stay here again. In fact, I've already booked for next business trip.

Room Tip: I was on first floor and noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It brings a smile to our face when we hear guest have a great experience at our hotel. Our number one priority is our guest and we are ecstatic that we were able to provide a wonderful stay here for you. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to your next trip out to Chicago!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very nice hotel- staff was very friendly at the hotel but the airport driver was not! We stayed here because we were flying out of Midway and our car stayed parked at the hotel while we were gone. We got in very late and had to leave very early the next morning, so basically we just slept for a few hours. Beds and linens were comfortable and the rooms very quiet. We didn't get breakfast because we were leaving before it was set up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the steps leading to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for commenting on your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! I would like to first and foremost apoligize about the service that you recieved from the shuttle driver. If you have any furhter details, please contact me directly here at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyedyour stay here at the hotel and were able to utilize the Park, Stay, & Go Package. We hope that if your travels cause you to travel from Midway that you will stay here with us again. Thanks again!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport

Address: 6500 South Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Southwest Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport. Conveniently located just 2 blocks south of Chicago Midway Airport and only 8 miles from downtown Chicago, the hotel offers free 24 hr. airport shuttle to and from Midway Airport, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and our new free Smart Start breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport is the perfect base to explore attractions such as Grant Park, the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, the Brookfield Zoo, Toyota Park, and Soldier Field. Just 20 minutes will put you in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, the Midwest s premier shopping district. Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Chicago Midway Airport, the Bedford Park Industrial Center, Tyson Foods, and Cintas. For meetings, the hotel's French Quarter Room can accommodate groups of up to 25 and dining options abound, with nearby TGI Friday s, Dempsey s Irish American Grill, and Coaches Bar and Grill, Where Winning Never Tasted This Good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.