We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 South Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638 (Southwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazingly friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The rooms of this hotel are typical standard HIE. However, the lobby is very nicely appointed for the area. Breakfast area is a little small. I absolutely loved everyone on the staff ....from housekeeping to front desk. Made you feel extremely welcome. Haven't seen such hospitality in a non-luxury chain in a long time. The price was $171 per night. A liitle pricey for sure but believe due to the proximity to the airport. Was there on company business. Will stay here again. Recognized as priority club member...received Milano cookies. Nice treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I must admit that we have a great staff and I am extremely happy that they made you feel like you were at home. I look forward to seeing you next time!!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
17
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was very clean., The staff was very nice and very hospitable. They cleaned our rooms late because we were in and out late. The breakfast was ok. The only thing we didnt like was the rooms do not have microwave or frig in the rooms. The rooms are kind of small . we had a double.

Room Tip: King rooms nay have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor!! I am glad that our housekeeping staff was able to work around your schedule. I would like to apologize that the room size was not up to your standards. If you are ever in the area, please inquire about our other room types. We also offer suites and rooms with microwaves and refrigerators. We know you have many options at Midway, and we are grateful that you have chosen us for your visit!! We look forward to serving you again in the future!!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel before a morning flight out of Midway. We got checked in right away and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room with one King bed, there was no fridge or anything in there and it was a pretty basic room, but that's all we needed.

We took the shuttle that evening to the airport to get on the Orange line to go eat downtown, however there are plenty of restaurants close by you could drive or walk to easily. The shuttle runs every 15-20 minutes for 24 hours but I don't think it always stops at every hotel in the area so I'd recommend just checking with the front desk, they can call and tell the shuttle to stop on the next round. The shuttle worked out well for our flight the next morning too and it was an easy process to leave our vehicle at the lot all week.

There weren't a ton of options at breakfast, but it didn't bother us as we just wanted to grab something quick anyway before our flight.

Overall I think this hotel was kind of pricy for what we got, but all the hotels in the area were similarly priced. We paid a little extra to get the convenience with the shuttle and airport so close. I would choose this hotel again if we ever do another flight out of Midway.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and share your experience at our Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! We truly appreciate the compliments you shared about our facility. I am glad that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle services and Park & Fly Package. Next time you visit our hotel, inquire about our different room types. We also offer rooms with microwaves and refrigerators. We know you have many options at Midway, and we are grateful that you have chosen us for your visit!! We look forward to serving you again in the future!!

Thank you,

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Decided to try this hotel as we had an early 6:00 am flight out of midway. Drove over the night before from Michgan. Got settled into the room and ready for bed. Tried to call down for a wake up call and discovered the phone wouldnt work. It was late so we thought lets just set the alarm clock... No luck that was also not working. Had to go down to the front desk and request a different room. They wouldnt change us until the repair man tried to fix it. By this time its 11:00 pm and we all wanted to be in bed, getting a good nites sleep. The repairman tried for 30 minutes and gave up so at 11:30 we are packing up the kids and moving to a different room in our pjs!!! not fun...The shuttle service was so busy in the morning even tho we were down stairs for the 5:00 am shuttle it was too full so we had to wait for the second one...We parked our car in their lot while on vacation. The Park and Fly option, dont do this as when we came back we couldnt get them to pick us up from the airport. We called 4-5 times and ended up standing outside in the cold and rain for 35 minutes. I would never use this hotel and parking option again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for filling out a review and thank you for staying with us. I am very dissapointed to hear that your stay wasn't satisfactory and I cannot apologize enough about your experience. I am looking into these issues to ensure that they do not happen again.
Again, please accept my deepest apologies and I truly hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. I can assure that will exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Nicole Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were forced to spend the night in Chicago when bad weather delayed our flight out of Buffalo missing our connection to San Diego. Quick check of TripAdvisor sent us here and it was satisfactory. Free shuttle, convenient to and from the airport, and a few decent restaurant choices in the area. The continental breakfast was good too. The first time we've seen an automatic pancake machine! It didn't quite live up to the hype though, the pancakes were pretty chewy. Overall our stay here made a bad situation a little better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_CHIMW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our location. I am glad that you were able to utilize our complimentary breakfast and 24hr complimentary shuttle services . I want to also thank you for sharing your concerns about the pancakes and I can assure you that we will look into this immediately. We value your business, and are grateful for the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

All the best,
Nicole Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Table Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel looked beautiful inside and out. Great service and convenient airport shuttle. The breakfast was fine, need to change egg style but other than that a good eat. The room was up to date, roomy and very clean. Pillows were soft and sheets were crisp. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_CHIMW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and share your experience at our Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! We truly appreciate the compliments you shared about our facility and staff. We know you have many options at Midway, and we are grateful that you have chosen us for your visit!! We look forward to serving you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my husband decided to have a night out so we made reservations at the holiday inn express we had a wonderful experience yes there is the LOUD toilet but we did not hear anyone else's the room was spacious we had a King size bed it was COMFORTABLE just loved it we slept real good and the pillows were sooooooo soft!!! then we were able to get our food delivered had a great time definitely will be back!!! And the breakfast was good especially when it was FREE :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMidway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am happy to hear that you found both the bed and the pillows comfortable!! It was great to see that you took advantage of TGI Friday's for in-room delivery. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport

Address: 6500 South Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Southwest Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport. Conveniently located just 2 blocks south of Chicago Midway Airport and only 8 miles from downtown Chicago, the hotel offers free 24 hr. airport shuttle to and from Midway Airport, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and our new free Smart Start breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport is the perfect base to explore attractions such as Grant Park, the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, the Brookfield Zoo, Toyota Park, and Soldier Field. Just 20 minutes will put you in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, the Midwest s premier shopping district. Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Chicago Midway Airport, the Bedford Park Industrial Center, Tyson Foods, and Cintas. For meetings, the hotel's French Quarter Room can accommodate groups of up to 25 and dining options abound, with nearby TGI Friday s, Dempsey s Irish American Grill, and Coaches Bar and Grill, Where Winning Never Tasted This Good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.