We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable night's sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A very comfortable night's sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I chose this hotel because it is very close to Rick Bayless's restaurant, Topolobompa. But really this hotel is close to everything: Water Tower Place, State Street, The Art Museum, etc. Upon arrival the staff quickly got us into our rooms. A complementary open cocktail bar with snacks was provided between 5:30-7:00. A nice treat! The hotel room is cozy (some might say small, but not me - how much space does one really need). The bed is exceptionally soft and the pillows are just plain luscious. I was really pleased when I found the curtain blocked almost all of the sunlight in the morning. Sleeping in was such a joy. The shower had two heads that both worked at the same time. Fantastic. The price is very reasonable for a stay in the this part of Chicago. I had a great stay and would not hesitate to stay at the Amalfi again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    391
    93
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
532
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The location was perfect, walking distance to everything. The clean modern decor was beautiful. We stayed in the corner king room which was really a suite. The room was equipped with wine glasses and opener and Bin 36 is just around the corner to pick up a bottle of wine. The complimentary cocktail reception and continental breakfast was an added bonus. Fitness room had everything, free weights, medicine balls, balance balls, and cardio machines. Was also immaculate with clean towels and sanitizer wipes. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for sharing your Amalfi experience on TripAdvisor! As we completely renovated our fitness center just earlier this year, it’s wonderful to read your comments regarding the new space and equipment.

Our Experience Designers will also be glad to hear that you enjoyed Bin 36 - the nearby wine bar is perfect for bottles to go or for a relaxing meal. Your travel tips and recommendation of the hotel are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I joined friends who attend an annual medical seminar each November. They were already staying at the Amalfi, so I joined them. We have stayed all over the world, and at first I was not impressed with our rooms . . . they were nice, adequate, but not what I would have expected for the room price.

The staff and the housekeeping personnel were wonderful, however. It was holiday time, so they were happy, festive and the hotel decorations made us smile.

We had a temperature issue at night, the room was actually too hot. The engineer did help us out, but the temp had to be adjusted each night. There was construction just across the street on Kinzie, so the noise level was annoying at times.

However, we were located in the middle of downtown, close to everything we needed including transportation, wonderful restaurants, and entertainment. The Amalfi has a happy hour each evening during the week and it was well planned and special. The breakfast bars on each floor were more than normal, including fresh fruit, different selections of juices and milk, cheese, pastries, and breads with a toaster provided.

All in all, it was a memorable stay in a city that lifts your spirits, no matter what season you visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We debated a bit because we had several other possibilities for our V-Day celebration in Chicago....There's a LOT of competition here. But oh yes, we were very happy with our choice. Simply put, the Amalfi is still our favorite spot. The clean and quiet rooms, the comfy beds, the friendly and helpful staff, the lobby, the location. We love it all! Their breakfast idea - slipping on a robe and slippers and going to a central area right on every floor - is great! The evening reception in the lounge is exceptional, with it's Italian-themed buffet appetizers and cocktails. We've reviewed this hotel before...We've stayed here before, and we know we'll stay here again. A perfect, romantic Chicago "weekend."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

My GF and cousin had a girls weekend and chose to stay at the Amalfi based on the reviews here at TA. We were not disappointed! The room was clean (2 queens), and while not spacious, it suited us just fine. The bathroom was perfect for 2 women getting ready to head out on the town and the concierge was accomodating in suggesting places to eat and offering us coupons to other venues.

We had a refrigerator/mini bar in our room and while we didn't partake, the prices were in line with what you could expect. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet (no banging or loud voices could be heard through our rooms).

The managers reception was fantastic and a great way to kick off a night. The appetizers were good, nothing outstanding, but certainly a nice way to sit and enjoy some finger food and spirits.

The only issue we had was when we called down for a wake up call as we had an early flight and we never got one! Luckily we had set our clocks in our rooms. This wouldn't deter us from recommending this great hotel!

I am planning to come back and take my boyfriend here, as the location is great. It's just off Michigan Ave, so while you are in the heart of downtown, you don't get the loud noises of downtown.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hotel is definitely one I would return to again. The rooms are well appointed and clean, the staff is attentive and polite, having breakfast available on each floor and wi-fi included is a plus. The restaurant you can access through the lobby-Keefer's-is excellent and convenient. And one night after dinner we were pleased to be able to walk to a fun live music venue. It was called Andy's I think.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thanks for sharing your hotel experience and travel tips. I’m glad you enjoyed Keefer’s Restaurant next door and Andy’s Jazz Club, both excellent neighborhood options for a fun, sophisticated night out.

We appreciate the recommendation and are delighted to know you would choose the Amalfi on a return visit!

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location for sight seeing and shopping, theatre. etc. The decor was beautiful, very clean, comfy beds, soft towels and the staff made you feel very special. The prices were reasonable and the complimentary breakfast and cocktails(with munchies) made it a great value! Having breakfast on every floor was extremely convenent. Everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to help us and make us feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.