We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent busines hotel in downtown Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent busines hotel in downtown Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I have stayed at the Amalfi twice over the last few months and will definitely do so again. The Amalfi is in a great location just a few blocks from shopping and business districts, has comfy, clean and spacious rooms, and the service is always friendly and cheerful. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but serves a continental-style breakfast on each floor by the elevators -- a very nice spread with breads, yogurt, cheese, juices, cereals, coffee and tea. On weekdays, there's also a happy hour with drinks and snacks in the lounge. Around the corner are plenty of restaurant and nightlife options, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Golden Mile in one direction and Millennium Park area in the other. The hotel is great for business travelers as well as anyone visiting the city for pleasure...it's a 'no frills' hotel and just a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trips to Chicago! We welcome you to try Keefer’s Restaurant and Kaffe, located right in the building, if you have not done so yet. Their steaks and contemporary menu is highly recommended and an easy option for on-site dining as the hotel’s side entrance opens to the shared lobby.

I appreciate your excellent comments regarding the rooms, amenities and service and am happy to share them with my team. We hope to have you visit again soon!

Many thanks,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    403
    94
    24
    11
See reviews for
223
563
67
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I spent four wonderful nights at the Amalfi. The location was fabulous, as it was within walking distance of all of the great restaurants in the River North area, Michigan Avenue and even to the Loop area, Art institute, etc. The little extras really made a difference at this hotel. Having a continental breakfast on each floor along with a nightly cocktail hour (actually 1 1/2 hours), plus free wifi in the rooms made a big difference. There was also complimentary internet access in the business center along with a nice fitness center. My wife and I both felt that it was a nice change away from the big chain hotels as it was so easy to get back an forth from the lobby to your room (no long elevator waits, etc.) Also loved the bed and the double shower heads. We had great meals at Frontera Grill, Joe's stone crab, Lou Malnati's, Portillo's and at Harry Carey's. Our room was on the fifth floor and faced West Kinzie street so didn't have any noise issues like the previous poster experiened. Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Have been staying at this hotel every year for 5 years but won't again. Seems that a nightclub moved in nearby and we could hear the bass thumping all night until 5:am. Upon complaining the reception person gave us a card and said "call me before you come NEXT TIME and we will get you a room away from the noise. I think hotel was full so that's why we were not offered another room. Stayed 4 nights and Sunday night was the only night we were not disturbed as the nightclub was closed. It's a shame as we always liked this hotel. Strange this is the first time we were NOT emailed a survey after out stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
The hotel appreciates all guest feedback and takes every opportunity to read reviews and comment cards in order to maintain the highest level of service and accommodations possible.

The General Manager has personally reached out to the neighboring establishment to address the noise disturbances this guest recently experienced. We regret that we were unable to make a room change or resolve the issue at the time of the incident. Additionally, we have reached out to extend our apologies and assure them that we are taking every measure to prevent it from occurring again.

Management Team - Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarinda, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the Amalfi...it is a smaller hotel and lobby, but very beautiful. The staff were VERY helpful and courteous, at the door, lobby, maids, etc. The breakfast every morning was great and plentiful and was kept filled. The complimentary drinks and appetizers in the evening were beautiful and good. The house drink amalfitini was GREAT!!! Our room was a good size for 4 of us and the bathroom was a very nice size, we never felt crowded. We will stay there again if we ever make it back to Chicago. Very good location as well to all the sights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Excellent hotel!! We stayed here for 6 nights and it was wonderful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, easily walk to shops, places to eat, etc.
Breakfast was well catered for and nice to be able to take it back to your room to eat.
The room was just spotless, so clean!!! The room itself was huge and the beds oh so comfy. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed here with friend for several nights. Overall it's good place in great location. Basically The Loop area is in walking distance from the hotel. The only thing I didn't like is inconsistent temperature of water stream. It jumps between hot and clod by itself. It's ok when you're washing your hands but it's kinda annoying when you're in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Amalfi on your visit! With the help of your review and comment card email, we have noted the room with the water temperature issue and our engineering team has made the necessary adjustments. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Amalfi is everything a boutique hotel should be: fun, colorful, bright, and personal without sacrificing service, comfort, location or affordability. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. A nice breakfast (coffee, teas, juice, yogurt, fruit, breads and donuts) is provided buffet-style on each floor each morning. The staff is friendly ("Welcome back to the Amalfi..." "Can I get you a taxi?" "Sure, we can hold on to your bags today"). The location is close to the blue and orange line (a 45-minute train ride to O'Hare; about 35 minutes to Midway), and within a quick walk to Michigan Avenue for shopping, food and fun. I think their rates are reasonable, even competitive, and you can cancel up to 24 hours without penalty which is important since business plans can change on a dime. I've stayed other places in Chicago, but the Amalfi is where I return to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
It’s wonderful to have you as a repeat guest! I’m very pleased to know that as a business traveler, we’ve been able to accommodate your travel plans in comfort and style.

We appreciate the detailed comments and tips you’ve provided for the TripAdvisor community. Many thanks – we look forward to your return visit.

Kindly,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.