We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Excellent hotel!! We stayed here for 6 nights and it was wonderful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, easily walk to shops, places to eat, etc.
Breakfast was well catered for and nice to be able to take it back to your room to eat.
The room was just spotless, so clean!!! The room itself was huge and the beds oh so comfy. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    406
    95
    25
    12
See reviews for
227
569
71
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed here with friend for several nights. Overall it's good place in great location. Basically The Loop area is in walking distance from the hotel. The only thing I didn't like is inconsistent temperature of water stream. It jumps between hot and clod by itself. It's ok when you're washing your hands but it's kinda annoying when you're in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Amalfi on your visit! With the help of your review and comment card email, we have noted the room with the water temperature issue and our engineering team has made the necessary adjustments. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Amalfi is everything a boutique hotel should be: fun, colorful, bright, and personal without sacrificing service, comfort, location or affordability. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. A nice breakfast (coffee, teas, juice, yogurt, fruit, breads and donuts) is provided buffet-style on each floor each morning. The staff is friendly ("Welcome back to the Amalfi..." "Can I get you a taxi?" "Sure, we can hold on to your bags today"). The location is close to the blue and orange line (a 45-minute train ride to O'Hare; about 35 minutes to Midway), and within a quick walk to Michigan Avenue for shopping, food and fun. I think their rates are reasonable, even competitive, and you can cancel up to 24 hours without penalty which is important since business plans can change on a dime. I've stayed other places in Chicago, but the Amalfi is where I return to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
It’s wonderful to have you as a repeat guest! I’m very pleased to know that as a business traveler, we’ve been able to accommodate your travel plans in comfort and style.

We appreciate the detailed comments and tips you’ve provided for the TripAdvisor community. Many thanks – we look forward to your return visit.

Kindly,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

If you want a great hotel...near Michigan Avenue and the River...you can't beat the Amalfi! Daily continental breakfast on your floor - so no need to go downstairs. Daily manager's reception with amazing appetizers...and an open bar! And by far the friendliest staff I've ever had...anywhere! This is the spot if you are heading to Chicago for any reason and want to be downtown where all the action is!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We spent a couple days in Chicago before saying goodbye to extended family who were visiting us from Central America. We had our puppy with us, and we were worried that it would be difficult to find a hotel where we could stay with him, but the Amalfi Hotel turned out to be perfect! Not only did they out dog stay with us, but they also greeted him with a chew toy and playtime with the front desk staff!

Room was elegant and unique. The free cocktail hour was nice, but be warned: they won't make you a martini; they only serve their signature Alamfi-tini. (I asked the bartender for a gin with olive, though, and he made that...)

Overall a great choice!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I like this hotel .. simple and cosy with it's unique hospitality and service for a standard price. Check in was prompt with a guy in a dragon outfit (memorable and impressive).

The free cocktail every evening was outstanding, especially with the array of Italian and American beers and the heavenly AMALFINI cocktail. The salami and bruchetta.. superb.

Why, even standing in the street for a taxi in fornt of the hotel was a pleasure... it had this courtesy heater by the curb to warm you up.

Major attractions are just walking distance away.. the chanel, the shopping street, the theatre and best of all the famous Bar at the corner. Serves the best steak in town. Huge cuts and the mostest freshest. Do I sound like the marketing guy from this hotel.. ha ha

Well I am not.. this is my 1st visit to Chicago and will definitely stay in this hotel if I travel to Chicago again.

Cheerio.

Isaac - Malaysia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thanks for choosing the Amalfi on your first visit to Chicago and for sharing your experience for other TripAdvisor travelers! I’m pleased to know that the check-in process was memorable… our team enjoys getting into the Halloween spirit! We appreciate the excellent comments regarding our location and value-added amenities, many thanks.

Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager, Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed for one night at the end of our trip to the mid-west. Check-in was smooth and swift and the room was a great size. Cocktails and canapes in the evening were complimentary and just right before venturing out to dinner. we went across the road to Harry Carey's and there was a great atmosphere and good food.
Michael at the lobby was really helpful with our bags and stored them while we completed our shopping, and gave us advice on getting to o'hare, and as with the previous reviewer, we took the blue line from Clark, just across the river, and it was great value and no traffic problems on route which took about 30 mins.
All in all it was a good choice and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thanks for choosing the Amalfi for your travels through Chicago! I’m happy to share your comments with Michael and the rest of the team. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.