We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel in The Loop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“A great boutique hotel in The Loop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Amalfi is everything a boutique hotel should be: fun, colorful, bright, and personal without sacrificing service, comfort, location or affordability. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. A nice breakfast (coffee, teas, juice, yogurt, fruit, breads and donuts) is provided buffet-style on each floor each morning. The staff is friendly ("Welcome back to the Amalfi..." "Can I get you a taxi?" "Sure, we can hold on to your bags today"). The location is close to the blue and orange line (a 45-minute train ride to O'Hare; about 35 minutes to Midway), and within a quick walk to Michigan Avenue for shopping, food and fun. I think their rates are reasonable, even competitive, and you can cancel up to 24 hours without penalty which is important since business plans can change on a dime. I've stayed other places in Chicago, but the Amalfi is where I return to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
It’s wonderful to have you as a repeat guest! I’m very pleased to know that as a business traveler, we’ve been able to accommodate your travel plans in comfort and style.

We appreciate the detailed comments and tips you’ve provided for the TripAdvisor community. Many thanks – we look forward to your return visit.

Kindly,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    388
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
202
528
66
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

If you want a great hotel...near Michigan Avenue and the River...you can't beat the Amalfi! Daily continental breakfast on your floor - so no need to go downstairs. Daily manager's reception with amazing appetizers...and an open bar! And by far the friendliest staff I've ever had...anywhere! This is the spot if you are heading to Chicago for any reason and want to be downtown where all the action is!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We spent a couple days in Chicago before saying goodbye to extended family who were visiting us from Central America. We had our puppy with us, and we were worried that it would be difficult to find a hotel where we could stay with him, but the Amalfi Hotel turned out to be perfect! Not only did they out dog stay with us, but they also greeted him with a chew toy and playtime with the front desk staff!

Room was elegant and unique. The free cocktail hour was nice, but be warned: they won't make you a martini; they only serve their signature Alamfi-tini. (I asked the bartender for a gin with olive, though, and he made that...)

Overall a great choice!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I like this hotel .. simple and cosy with it's unique hospitality and service for a standard price. Check in was prompt with a guy in a dragon outfit (memorable and impressive).

The free cocktail every evening was outstanding, especially with the array of Italian and American beers and the heavenly AMALFINI cocktail. The salami and bruchetta.. superb.

Why, even standing in the street for a taxi in fornt of the hotel was a pleasure... it had this courtesy heater by the curb to warm you up.

Major attractions are just walking distance away.. the chanel, the shopping street, the theatre and best of all the famous Bar at the corner. Serves the best steak in town. Huge cuts and the mostest freshest. Do I sound like the marketing guy from this hotel.. ha ha

Well I am not.. this is my 1st visit to Chicago and will definitely stay in this hotel if I travel to Chicago again.

Cheerio.

Isaac - Malaysia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thanks for choosing the Amalfi on your first visit to Chicago and for sharing your experience for other TripAdvisor travelers! I’m pleased to know that the check-in process was memorable… our team enjoys getting into the Halloween spirit! We appreciate the excellent comments regarding our location and value-added amenities, many thanks.

Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager, Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed for one night at the end of our trip to the mid-west. Check-in was smooth and swift and the room was a great size. Cocktails and canapes in the evening were complimentary and just right before venturing out to dinner. we went across the road to Harry Carey's and there was a great atmosphere and good food.
Michael at the lobby was really helpful with our bags and stored them while we completed our shopping, and gave us advice on getting to o'hare, and as with the previous reviewer, we took the blue line from Clark, just across the river, and it was great value and no traffic problems on route which took about 30 mins.
All in all it was a good choice and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thanks for choosing the Amalfi for your travels through Chicago! I’m happy to share your comments with Michael and the rest of the team. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed 3 nights, got an excellent rate as we booked early this year. Handy location, very quiet, nice having a frig in the room, the breakfast was absolutely fine, and there was always plenty, the complimentary cocktails and appetisers in the evening were a treat, though the room in which they were served seemed a little small for the number of guests. Free wireless internet was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were advised to try Lou Malnati's Pizza which was just a short walk away, the deep dish pizza was awesome, the restaurant was very busy by the time we left. We used the train from the O'Hare airport to the city, and at approx $2.25 per person, was great value. As we had a wee bit of luggage, we then caught a cab from the Clark/Lake train station to the hotel, costing $5 including tip. No luggage area in the train, but it wasn't too much of a problem in the middle of the day. Wouldn't advise doing it at peak time though. Cab fare from Amalfi to O'Hare cost approx $40. Would have no hesitation recommending the Amalfi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
I’m glad you enjoyed the classic Chicago deep dish, as well as all the amenities our hotel has to offer. Also, excellent advice regarding your train commute - our location near public transportation makes it easy and inexpensive to travel between both O’Hare and Midway. Thank you for the recommendation and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor for other travelers!

Regards,
Melissa Driza - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I searched online for a good deal on a nice hotel in the city for the night after our wedding. The hotel markets itself well, and we were looking forward to the complimentary evening social, sit-down check-in service, in-room spa option(s), and good location. We were let down in every category except for location.

The hotel is located in the heart of it all! A block from Howl at the Moon, 2 or so blocks from House of Blues. It's also on the other side of a FABULOUS Mexican joint, Dos Diablos (absolutely delish food), but other than that, everything was a let down. No pool, no bar, no restaurant (their "room service" food comes from Harry Carry's across the street), and nothing exceptional. The sit-down check-in was nice, but a little anti-climatic once you see the rest of the hotel. The rooms are large (for a downtown location), and I loved the Aveda bath products. But the evening social left much to be desired. The food was so-so, but the room that it's housed in is dark and awkwardly set up. We felt too out-of-place to even sit down and eat. Breakfast offered a nice spread, but for a Continental brekafast, I expected cold cereal - there was none. Coffee was mediocre, muffins and donuts tasted like gas station offerings.

Overall, the room was clean and the staff was friendly. However, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
We appreciate the feedback from your review. While your stay was not satisfactory on all levels, I’m pleased to know that our team provided friendly service and that our location allowed you to enjoy the nearby restaurants and bars.

For those seeking another option besides our complimentary bar in the Ravello Lounge, Keefer’s Restaurant is easily accessible through the lobby entrance by the hotel elevators. With their open and inviting bar area and contemporary American cuisine, it is a guest favorite that can be reached without having to step foot outside.

Also regarding our amenities, the breakfast menu changes throughout the week to offer a selection to our guests. If there is a specific item you would like, please inform an Experience Designer who will try to accommodate your request.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza – Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.