We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Amalfi!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We loved the Amalfi!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have stayed in many hotels over the years but the Amalfi has got to be our favorite... so far! The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is larger than most, and it is so very quiet., you can really get a good nights sleep there! Bed was comfy and the pillows were fluffy. We never heard anything except some street noise, maybe the odd siren, but nothing much more than that.
What makes the Amalfi unique is that they not only offer you complimentary breakfast (available on each floor in front of the elevator) of fresh fruit, cereals, milk, an assortment of pastries, bagels and toast and the best coffee I have ever had at a hotel... but they also offer Happy Hour which also includes Italian style snacks, breads, cheese, Italian cold cuts, roasted peppers, artichoke hearts, and an assortment of other things (each day there were small changes) and of course free alcohol, beer, wine, martinis and other mixed drinks... and there are some hotel guests who sit there for the entire hour and half, enjoying if not taking advantage of the situation...
The Amalfil is close to everything, and easily accessible by train from O'Hare airport, if your there for more than 3 days it is wise to get a 1 week pass from the Chicago Transit Authority, (23.00$) much cheaper than taking a cab and faster! You can ride the train and the bus on the same pass.
Check out the Amalfi, you will appreciate the quiet and tranquil atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    946
    392
    92
    24
    11
See reviews for
217
547
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one evening during Labor Day Weekend. We got a last minute deal throught Hotwire or would not have know if the gem of a hotel. We typically like to stay in the River North area as there is a lot to see and do there.

We arrived at 9:30 in the moring to drop off our bag. We are allowed to check in and were even invited to eat breakfast. The room was very comfortable and the staff was first-rate. The bed was so comfortable I had a hard time getting my wife out of it to do things. We also came back from sight seeing early to take advantage of the open bar happy hour which was great. The good they give you there is better than what you normally get from Embassy Suites or the Residence Inn.

We did the valet parking for $44 and found it to be easy. There are many other options if you are looking to save money there. This is a very good hotel in the middle of all the action. They have a well trained staff that is happy and good at serving customors. I will look to stay here in the future as we always try to stay in the River North area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I loved the hotel. We had a room on the 6th floor and it was over a weekend so it was relatively quiet in the hotel since the office tower was empty. We walked most everywhere and also used the local buses quite easily. We recommend the restaurant Shaw's Crabhouse just around the corner on Hubbard...expensive but delicious!
The architectural river cruises are amazing and a must, especially for people who have never been to Chicago before. The room was perfect, the breakfast was adequate, but do not understand why there is no cereal on weekends. The cocktail receptions were a nice touch. The only real complaint was the noise early in the morning (except for Sunday) coming from the dumpsters. We mentioned this to the front desk and they seemed to take it seriously. Even so, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
I’m delighted to know you had a pleasant stay and our location allowed you to enjoy the nearby restaurants and sites. We often recommend Shaw’s and the architecture cruises to our guests so I’m glad you shared your thoughts for other travelers.

Regarding the breakfast, we do offer a cereal selection everyday so I apologize if our buffet was temporarily out. The front desk will happily take a request for additional items, please call using the phone on the credenza.

Thank you for selecting the Amalfi on your visit to Chicago – we hope to have you again soon!

Melissa Driza, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Amalfi for 4 nights and chose the hotel based on its location, amenities, and good reviews. We were very happy with our stay and could not have asked for more. The location is very convenient and we were able to walk almost everywhere. Street noise was a little loud in the morning, but I think that's just the trade off to staying in a downtown, convenient location. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious - made it easy for two people to share the space. Double shower heads were very nice and the beds were extremely comfortable! We also really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning as well as the cocktail reception. We felt truly spoiled and would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful getaway to Chicago and I am pleased we were able to provide an enjoyable stay. Thank you for adding to our TripAdvisor reviews, as you know it is a wealth of knowledge for other travelers. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and are glad you chose the Amalfi!

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a really fine & very cool hotel, with a special character all of its own. Great location in downtown Chicago. Fantastic value when we stayed there, admittedly having booked about 6 months in advance. Very friendly, helpful & efficient staff. Lovely design, good modern furniture, great beds. Some really nice & unusual touches : free buffet breakfast on each floor, free afternoon drinks & nibbles every day, selection of good DVD to borrow. Very comfortable rooms, good beds. All in all a seriously pleasant & cool hotel. We would strongly recommend it & will be sure to go back on future trips to chicago.

Only one drawback, the air-conditioning (in August) was so powerful that we were cold in the room even when we turned it off, while it was swelteringly hot outside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

For the price I payed (100 euros/night), I can tell that this is an amazing and very recomendable place. Modern but also confortable, it's ubication also is very good (near the Loop, 10 minuts walking from Millenium Park).
Just one negative point: breakfast in the room is very good idea, but then there should be more chairs!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We booked the Amalfi looking for a great boutique hotel in Chicago. The hotel is a nice property with clean rooms and nice amenities in a good location. However, when i booked the hotel I was offered an upgraded room from a king room to a corner king room for only $10 more. That was great until I checked in. The corner room looked at two brick walls and an alley. During the night there were several homeless individuals fighting in the alley. It would seem that this is a place for them to congregate. On top of this, the dumpsters in the alley were being emptied by the waste department between 5 and 6 am in the morning. The noise was crazy loud.

I think this is a nice hotel with some unfortunate aspects due to its location. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
With the help of your feedback, our management team has reviewed our Corner Kings and made the appropriate changes to our upgraded room selection. Also regarding the disturbances from the alley, we have contacted the alderman and local police to prevent this from becoming problematic.

I thank you again for your comments and am glad you found our staff helpful. We are happy to assist guests with their concerns and hope they will directly contact us as soon as any issues arise.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.