We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 hotels in Chicago
DUNDEE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at the Amalfi for 5 nights from 22 June.We chose it because Expedia had a really good deal and Trip Advisor gave it excellent reviews.The hotel has a modern lobby and very friendly,helpful reception staff.Our room was a good size and spotlessly clean.The continental breakfast served where the lifts are is excellent and a great idea.This is included in the price as is the evening cocktails and canapes which you must admit is great value!
There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance and the shops on the Magnificent Mile are close by.
A good tip is to buy a CTA travel card.The bus drivers we came across are really helpful if you're not quite sure and the L is a piece of cake to find your way around.
Incidentally we looked at the hotel on Google Earth prior to travelling and West Kinzie Street doesn't look particularly salubrious however it is a lot better in the flesh!
We will definitely stay at the Amalfi the next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thanks for choosing the Amalfi!

I am very pleased that you found our other reviews helpful and took the time to share your own comments and tips with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. Your recommendation is truly appreciated and we hope to provide another excellent experience on your next visit.

Regards, Melissa Driza – Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    946
    391
    92
    24
    11
See reviews for
216
547
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Amalfi Hotel for our trip in July 2010. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this location.

Location: Walking distance to most attractions: downtown, cloud gate, and the loop
Room Service/Customer: great clean rooms, concierge answered any questions we had and offered suggestions for great restaurants and sites to see.

What we enjoyed the most was the nice little touches that you don't get with the big chains such as the free wi-fi in the room, continental breakfast (which included fruits, pastry, yogurt and drinks) and complimentary happy hour from 530-7.

I would definitely return to the Amalfi the next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the comments regarding the thoughtful touches and helpful service. We hope to be your choice again on your next visit to Chicago.

Many thanks, Melissa Driza – Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The hotel is in walking distance to a lot of the local sights, but we did not like the abandoned building across the street or the seedy block around the corner. I'm sure that all of this is temporary. It appears that the empty building is in the process of being renovated and I suspect someone will close the hole in the wall bar around the corner and clean up the seedy block. The Amalfi is a nice, boutique style hotel but since my daughter and I were traveling alone, we were not very comfortable coming back to the room at night. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. This is basically a mixed review...I liked the hotel, but there are so many in the area in better locations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My friends and I stayed at Amalfi during the 4th of July long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Here are the top things we liked:
1. Clean, big room
2. Short walk to many attractions (Mignificant Mile, Millenium Park, Navy Pier, The Loop, Architecture boat tour)
3. Cocktail hours
4. Breakfast in bed while watching World Cup (We grabbed breakfast from the hall and brought it back to the room)
5. Friendly and knowledgable staff
6. Short walk to nice restaurants (Harvey Carvey, Rockit, Dos Dablios, Webb Grill, R&D Grill, etc...)
7. The King size Bed & mattress.

Here are the things we didn't like:
1. Room thermostats - we couldn't turn 'off' the fan, it was constantly blowing at us at night.
2. Room view. Our friends got the room on the 3rd Floor that faces the parking lot and Rockit Bar . The restaurant had a rock band playing one night with the windows wide open. So you can imagine the noise level that came out from the bar.

Overall, the Pros far exceed the Cons. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys the experience boutique hotel offers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We were checked into a room with empty beer bottles, dirty underwear in the closet and unclean bathroom. There was no manager available for an hour to take any complaints. We missed our show because of the extra time it took in moving into another room etc. Finally when I got to talk to the manager and complained about beer bottles especially when I had a child and a teenager with me she offered to send me wine and cheese to make up for the inconvenience!!! Staff was somewhat reluctant to take request of extra blankets at night. They kept telling me to look into the closet for extra blankets. I asked for two blanket , but they delivered one. I had to keep calling to get settled. I saw a comment form from the prior guest in our room on the study desk, who had taken the trouble of filling it out, but no one collected it or cared for it. ht. Noisy rooms. Can hear the doors all night. Thebreakfast items kept running out and had to make calls to get them replenished. I will not recommend this hotel to any one even at discounted rates!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
The Management Team at the Amalfi wishes to convey and assure our clientele that the experience listed here is definitely not typical of a stay at the hotel as is evident by the very little negative feedback listed in our other reviews. We regret that an error was made and this guest was indeed checked into a room that was not fit for a new occupant. We have used this challenge as an opportunity to re-train our associates on this matter and the additional perceived inconsistencies so they will not occur again for any other guests. We are very sorry that the poster of this review did not have a great stay. Our Director of Guest Experience contacted her personally to extend our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Amalfi. The staff were friendly and helpful ( made enquiries re baseball tickets , helped with directions and how to get around ) , the breakfast was great and so were the free drinks between 5.30pm and 7.00pm.
The hotel and rooms were very nice. The bed was the biggest and most comforatable my wife and I have ever slept in.
It was in a great location (across from The Trump Hotel ) and handy for the blue line that takes you to/from O'Hare.
The only complaint we had was that the room was advertised as a "city view room" which was the reason my wife booked it as a surprise for my 40th birthday. The room was at the front on the 2nd floor and looked out onto a run down building. We asked to be moved however we were told that they only had rooms on the 4th floor on the other side of the hotel which also looked out onto a building. Don't know whether the view would be better from a higher level - however I think most hotels in Chicago probably have the same problem.
Across the road was a blues bar and a Harry Caray bar. Only a short walk to Navy Pier. On the whole a great hotel and would not hesitate about staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
I’m happy to know that our team was helpful during your stay and that you enjoyed the amenities, as well as our comfortable beds!

While we make every effort to accommodate room changes, I apologize for the lack of a more scenic view as the building across on Kinzie Street is only partially complete. I am pleased to announce, however, that with a recent government grant, this site will soon be home to a world-class museum dedicated to the nation’s television and radio history. Again we appreciate your comments and thank you for choosing the Amalfi for your special occasion.

Kindly,
Melissa Driza - Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We spent a weekend at the Amalfi in Chicago. The location was very convenient for us. We took the South Shore train into town and the hotel was under 10 minutes walking time from the train. We also walked to Ed Debevic's for dinner, again a short walk. Harry Caray's is across the street and around the corner is also the House of Blues.

We found the hotel to be very clean, everyone was very friendly. The night reception on the 6th floor is a great touch! Breakfast was nice to have in the hallway, I liked not having to be fully dressed and ready for my day before getting some juice. My Dd was thrilled they had glazed doughnuts for the kids. She used the hot water to make hot chocolate, a big deal for her.

The bathroom is huge, it was refreshing to have that much room! The beds were very comfy and even though our room overlooked the alley it wasn't an issue. That happens in the city, not everything is a wonderful view. We loved our stay and hope to be back soon! My Dh now prefers this hotel to the Wyndham, that says alot for him!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
We are thrilled you enjoyed your family weekend at the Amalfi! Especially when traveling with kids, our value-added amenities and central location really add up to savings on food and transportation! I am happy to share your review with our team and look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza - Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.