We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I stayed at the Amalfi for several nights at the end of April and again at the end of May, both times for business with extra time to enjoy the wonderful city of Chicago. Both times my experience with the hotel was superb.
Reception, and front desk in general, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Among other things, on several occasions we received excellent recommendations for dining -- not so easy, because we required restaurants that were vegetarian friendly and not too noisy (since one of our party had hearing problems). However the task was made easier by the fact that the Amalfi is surrounded by many restaurants of all types. The favourite restaurants of those we tried were Mercadito (Mexican -- real Mexican, not Tex-Mex), Hub 51 (varied cuisine, heavy on Tex-Mex), and India House -- all in very easy walking distance from the hotel).
The hotel itself is very attractive -- the lobby, the hotel rooms, the bathrooms. Only the lounge in which the hotel serves the free happy hour is somewhat dark and uninviting . . . though the drinks and appetizers are extraordinary considering that all is offered for free and with great friendliness by the staff in attendance.
The breakfasts that are served in the well outfitted elevator lobbies on each floor, offer a wide variety -- coffee, tea, juices, milk, fresh fruit, yogurt, a variety of Danish, muffins, bagels, and sliced bread (with 2 toasters on each floor). And everything is frequently refreshed by staff who seem to continually move thru the floors to make sure everything is available. I have to say that I found it very pleasant in a hotel setting to make a quick trip down the hall in a bathrobe kindly provided by the hotel, to get my breakfast.
The business centre offers four computers and a printer -- very convenient and very rarely fully occupied.
We all enjoyed the Amalfi immensely and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when back in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    403
    94
    24
    11
See reviews for
224
563
68
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed there over Memorial Day weekend and we found it to be a very nice hotel with great value. It's located just 3 blocks from the State/Clark Loop station and is a short walk to Michigan Ave. For the price, the extras of the free breakfast on each floor, the nightly manager's reception with free cocktails and the later checkout time (standard for Noon but we got a 1 PM without extra cost), made it a great deal for the money. The regular room with king bed was a good size and clean, and the staff was cordial and friendly. We didn't mind having to eat breakfast in our room but I can see how that could turn some people off.

Overall, it was all that was advertised and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Amalfi over Memorial Day weekend. I found a great deal on travelzoo.com and I'm glad we found this hotel. It is in a great location, about two blocks north of the river and about three blocks west of Michigan Avenue. The hotel features a small lobby, but the service at check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room was at the end of the hall and was large. I would say the features of the room were comparable with most other luxury hotels in Chicago. The room was very clean and comfortable and the king bed was great! My wife and I especially liked the free continental breakfast and the free evening reception on the 6th floor. The only drawback of our stay was that our room was right above an alley, which was constantly noisy. But, this was a minor setback compared to everything we loved about the hotel. I would definitely recommend the Amalfi to anyone staying in Chicago.

TIP: Do not park at the hotel. Way too expensive. There is a parking garage about two blocks away on LaSalle and Kinzie that charges way less.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
We are very glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and appreciate your many compliments! I am, however, sorry to hear about the disturbances from the alley. While generally rare, we take noise complaints very seriously and work closely with the surrounding bars and restaurants on this issue. We advise guests to inform us of any concerns so that we may send security to investigate the cause.

Regarding parking, we urge guests to consider their driving needs during their stay. If you do not require frequent use of your car, many downtown garages are located nearby. Still for those who choose to valet, there is the luxury and added convenience of paying one flat fee for unlimited in-and-out privileges.

Again, thank you for sharing with other travelers your recommendation of our hotel. Best, Melissa Driza – Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed here when my husband had a meeting in the hotel. I wasn't sure about what to expect since we usually stay in the Gold Coast. The hotel far exceeded all of my expectations - from the staff to the room accommodations to the amenities, it was a nearly perfect experience. It is truly a boutique hotel; you step into a small lobby featuring a waterfall and small tables for service (this actually is the only weakness we found because it meant a delay in check in). The rooms are surprisingly spacious, very quiet, and very well appointed with free wireless, very comfortable beds and linens. The hotel offers a lovely continental breakfast served on each floor, which we found both convenient and welcome, so we could relax and get ready in our room and enjoy it privately. The nicest feature was the lovely evening reception offered for guests, featuring antipasto and excellent drinks, including their signature Amalfitini - it was fabulous! The hotel staff were all exceptionally accommodating; they kept our bags after we checked out and even allowed me to use their business center afterwards, even though technically, I was no longer a guest. This was extraordinarily generous of them and helpful to me (I was under a deadline). While the hotel is not directly off of Michigan Avenue, it's only a short walk to the beginning of the Magnificent Mile and some of the city's best restaurants, or to museums in the Loop. During our short time there, I had no trouble doing major retail damage all the way up to Oak Street and down to Monroe Street! We will definitely return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
As a new guest to the hotel, thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We appreciate being recognized for our boutique sensibility and are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your husband again and we hope to make your next stay equally as convenient and enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza - Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, in
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night this past weekend. I originally had a room booked at the Sutton Place Hotel for Sat. and Sun., but then decided to go to Chicago a day earlier. I couldn't find an acceptable rate for the one night for the Sutton Place, so I booked a room at Amalfi on Fri. Because of this experience, I had an opportunity to do a direct comparison of the two hotels. Let me tell you, it's not even close.
The Amalfi is a high-class hotel without the high-class attitude, or the high-class system of nickel and dimeing you. Unlike the Sutton Place, there is no additional charge for high-speed internet(which I have never experienced in a good hotel downtown). Also, each floor has a free continental breakfast every morning that consisted of bagels, rolls, yogurt, fruit, etc. On top of this, each night there is a cocktail hour where they have an open bar for all of the hotel guests. A good opportunity to mingle if you are so inclined, or to just have a couple of free drinks. At the Sutton Place, continental breakfast costs over ten dollars, and I guarantee there wasn't a cocktail hour. Also, Amalfi had a decent free workout area that my girlfriend utilized. I'm not sure if this is customary or not, but it's a good feature for those who need a little workout.
The room was nice. There wasn't anything particularly unique about the rooms, but they were very clean, the decor was current, and they had an LCD television with a DVD player. The Sutton Place's room had a better setup, with a better bathroom(large tub, and additional standup shower), but it just felt a little dated with an older television, and a slightly outdated look.
The feel of the two hotels was quite different as well. I'm not a world-class traveler, and I'm not extremely wealthy. The Amalfi just seemed less snooty. I felt very out of place at the Sutton Place, and I had no reason to. I could afford both hotels, and I wasn't walking into there wearing ripped jeans and a Kiss concert tee(not that there's anything wrong with that). I can't really explain the difference. It's just a feel I got. One thing that is kind of telling is the ice situation. I guess having ice machines in your hotel implies something substandard, but you can put them somewhere that is not visible or audible to the guest unless you need to use them. This was the case at Amalfi, whereas at Sutton Place we had to call for room service in order to receive a bucket of ice. I know that this seems meaningless, but it just added to the impression.
The area where Amalfi is located is nice. It is walking distance to many things. We walked to Navy Pier(about twenty minutes), and could have walked about ten minutes to get to Grant Park. Also, there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area, and Michigan Avenue is a couple of blocks away. Also, the red line is within a couple blocks. The area surrounding Sutton Place is nice, with a lot of designer stores, and good restaurants, but it wasn't really my thing. I'm not going to Gucci, and I don't really want to pay six dollars for a bottle of Heineken.
In conclusion, I think this hotel is great. I've never stayed anywhere that I enjoyed more. Comparing it to another four-star hotel, I give this better marks in just about everything. Even if you have to pay a little more, you get your money back by taking advantage of the complimentary services.
I couldn't recommend Amalfi more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Great hotel as it was close to Frontera Grill and to the theatre. Lots of good restaurants and bars close by. A bit away from Michigan Avenue, but nice. Happy hour and breakfast were nice touches. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I just took my daughter and a friend to Chicago to celebrate her 30th birthday. We were 3 women on our own in a new city. The Amalfi Hotel was a great place to stay! We felt safe and were in a great location. We could have been closer to Magnificent Mile but were glad to be centrally located for the subway access and to all attractions south of the river. We had no idea where the hotel was but it turned out to be perfect! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone. We were right across the street from Harry Carey's restaurant and never heard a sound while we slept like babies all night. If you want a very easy, comfortable and safe place to stay then this is the place. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Amalfi after your ladies getaway. I’m thrilled to hear your birthday celebration in the city was a success and you were happy with your accommodations with us. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you to Chicago again!

Best,
Melissa Driza
AMALFI HOTEL CHICAGO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.