We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base to explore the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We had a wonderful, wonderful time at the Amalfi. It is so near to everything! We were happy to walk quite a bit, but it truly was close to things like the theater district, the Art Institute, and many of the must do pizza places.

The "front desk" is SUPER trendy and modern, but they were always very helpful. There was also a free happy hour with really nice, light appetizers around 4? I believe. We got to the hotel after a trip from Boston just in time for this, so it was a wonderful surprise.

We took the subway from the airport into the hotel area, and it was a LONG trip. However, we were happy that we did as the traffic outside our window seemed ridiculous and the trip would have likely been even longer.

The room was well kept and clean, with a very contemporary feel to it. Seriously. It was a WONDERFUL base to explore the city as a first-timer to Chicago. Would love to stay there again if I return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    390
    93
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
531
67
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

After researching several Chicago Hotels on the internet, we choose the Amalfi hotel in Chicago for several reasons. The hotel had great reviews on Tripadvisor, the hotel matched the lowest price I was able to find on the internet, the hotel looked beautiful on the web, it was in a great location and the hotel included daily complimentary continental breakfast and a manager's reception (a nice perk for a family, no need to worry about breakfast first thing in the morning, or dinner after a long day). It was great being able to step outside your room first thing in the morning in a hotel robe, grab some juice, coffee, bagel, etc and go back to your room and eat while getting ready for the day. Also, the food was constantly replenished. The hotel did not disappoint. The hotel was beautiful, in a great location (close to restaurants, shopping (miracle mile 2 blocks over), CVS, Walgreens), the staff was consistently friendly and helpful, everyone had a smile and greeted us, from the staff who put out the food in the morning, to the friendly bartender at the evening receptions. The rooms were a good size, and the beds were COMFY, (both my husband and our son commented on how comfortable the beds were). Overall the hotel made us feel very welcomed. When we go back to Chicago, we will definitely check out the AMALFI again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

What a wonderful little boutique hotel! I booked this hotel for a weekend trip for my 18 year old daughter and myself. We enjoyed a weekend of shopping in Chicago. The hotel is located close to the Magnificent Mile - just a short walk away. The hotel is very clean, beds are very comfortable and the staff is superb! Each day a nice continental breakfast is served and each evening a very nice cocktail hour is presented at the Ravello on the 6th floor. The staff did a great job recommending restaurants for us, Italian one night, Vietnamese anther and Spanish Tapas on the third night. This hotel is a gem --- next time I am in Chicago I will definietly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, MN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

My family just stayed at the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago for 3 nights. The best things about the hotel are: location, free continental breakfast, free manager's reception every evening with appetizers and drinks, comfortable beds, and quiet. A few minor setbacks include small rooms (4 of us in their biggest non-suite room was quite crowded), small lobby, and the view. The hotel worked great for our family, but it's not a very modern or elegant hotel. For example, we had great towels in the bathroom, but they weren't really folded. The doorman Raffie was always friendly and helpful but we would have appreciated more assistance from the front desk staff. I would recommend parking somewhere else. We paid $44 for the first night. The second day we found parking right next door (!) for $25 a night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Thoroughly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Rooms perfect, clean & modern - couldnt fault them, very quiet too. The staff were all very friendly, the breakfast was perfect, easy & complimentary. 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.
The location is excellent to with some great restaurants & all the main shopping close by. We visited as a group & took seven rooms, everyone felt the same - we will be back.
The manager was also excellent.
5 stars!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We booked this based on other reviews and were very happy with our decision. It is close enough to walk to Michigan Ave and most of the restaurants around there, but also only a block or two from the river, which is nice if you are wanting to walk to Millenium Park or the Loop area. The room was comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was very nice and the evening cocktail reception was outstanding. I'm still dreaming of their signature drink the 'Sorrento Sunset'. Mmmmm.

We were there for the weekend and got the 1-day bus/train pass on the day we knew we wanted to go far around the city - it was such a deal...$5.50pp, I think. The hotel is in-between two train stops on the brown and red lines. You can only get the 1 day pass at certain places and the closet place to the hotel was the Jewel-Osco on State St. We would also recommend drinks or lunch on the John Hancock tower. As long as you are eating/drinking up there (Signature Room on the 95th or 96th floors) it is free to get up. I think it is about $15pp at both the Hancock building and Willis tower to get up to the observation decks, so at least with the Signature Room you are getting food or drink in return for the money you spend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Recently stayed at the Amalfi for the St. Patrick's Day weekend events and couldn't have been happier with the amenities, location, and staff. Our car was quickly valeted, room made available hours before check in, of course we could walk everywhere, and morning buffet station on our floor with great coffee and crossaints. I would come again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.