We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great staff, perfect location, couldnt have asked for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now!
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
San Francisco
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, great staff, perfect location, couldnt have asked for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Thoroughly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Rooms perfect, clean & modern - couldnt fault them, very quiet too. The staff were all very friendly, the breakfast was perfect, easy & complimentary. 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.
The location is excellent to with some great restaurants & all the main shopping close by. We visited as a group & took seven rooms, everyone felt the same - we will be back.
The manager was also excellent.
5 stars!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    421
    98
    25
    12
See reviews for
232
584
74
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We booked this based on other reviews and were very happy with our decision. It is close enough to walk to Michigan Ave and most of the restaurants around there, but also only a block or two from the river, which is nice if you are wanting to walk to Millenium Park or the Loop area. The room was comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was very nice and the evening cocktail reception was outstanding. I'm still dreaming of their signature drink the 'Sorrento Sunset'. Mmmmm.

We were there for the weekend and got the 1-day bus/train pass on the day we knew we wanted to go far around the city - it was such a deal...$5.50pp, I think. The hotel is in-between two train stops on the brown and red lines. You can only get the 1 day pass at certain places and the closet place to the hotel was the Jewel-Osco on State St. We would also recommend drinks or lunch on the John Hancock tower. As long as you are eating/drinking up there (Signature Room on the 95th or 96th floors) it is free to get up. I think it is about $15pp at both the Hancock building and Willis tower to get up to the observation decks, so at least with the Signature Room you are getting food or drink in return for the money you spend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Recently stayed at the Amalfi for the St. Patrick's Day weekend events and couldn't have been happier with the amenities, location, and staff. Our car was quickly valeted, room made available hours before check in, of course we could walk everywhere, and morning buffet station on our floor with great coffee and crossaints. I would come again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel. Great staff and amenities. Two blocks from the State/Lake "L" stop. Half-a-block from Harry Caray's and the House of Blues and walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Chicago. I will definitely return to the Amalfi Hotel and have already recommended it to friends headed to Chicago in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

This lovely hotel has only six floors, making it easy to get to elevators and down to reception. The building is dwarfed amongst all the skyscrapers around it. Trump's huge new tower is just down the street. The Amalfi looks recently refurbished, very modern, but warm and inviting. Bedrooms quite spacious with lovely linens and very, very comfortable beds. Bathroom quite small but roomy enough, with Aveda tolietries and constant hot water in the showers. Continental style breakfast is set out fresh every morning in front of the elevator of every floor. Great to stumble out of bed and grab a coffee etc (robes & slippers provided) without having to get dressed for a formal breakfast. Really enjoyed the Managers evening cocktail reception, especially the Amalfitinis. A nice way to relax after a hard days' shopping! Location is great for all the shops, transport, museums etc. Easy walking to everywhere. Staff also very friendly and welcoming. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Over the last few years I've been to the Amalfi a number of times. I had stayed at a few other hotels prior to our first stay at the Amalfi. However, once we stayed here, we've never thought about another hotel while in Chicago.

The location is wonderful (and easy to get to). We typically just go up there for 2 - 3 days at a time. We just bring carry on luggage and hop the train from either O'Hare or Midway. It's only 3 blocks to the hotel once you're downtown. Once you are there, great restaurants, museums, Jazz or Blues clubs, etc. are all within walking distance. There are also free trolly's to get you around. On a couple of occasions I've purchased the 3 Day Metro Pass that allows you unlimited bus and train for a set fee.

On some occasions we've been able to check in early (or to check out late). Even when that option is not available, they are always able to put your luggage in a secure area while you go enjoy the city.

I've seen so many people mention the free breakfast on each floor. Everyone has their own opinion, but for me it is perfectly suited to get the day started. There is too much good food in Chicago to want to load up for breakfast. A piece of fruit, a muffin, and a cup of coffee and you're off to explore.

On this latest visit I did notice that the nightly cocktail session has eliminated the top shelf booze that was previously provided. The hors d'oeuvres also were "toned down" a bit. I'm sure that is in line with the economic conditions throughout the US. Even so, stopping in each night for a cocktail or two and a little snack surely saves some decent $$$ prior to heading out each evening.

There's not really much of a view from any room I've stayed in. On the other hand, the rooms are clean, nicely appointed, and comfortable. Just remember: Location, location, location.

Of course all the nice things about the hotel would be of little value if it were staffed with an incompetent or unfreindly staff. For sure that is not the case. Check in and check out has always been smooth and (on the couple of occasions) when something is not quite right and you call down..... problem is fixed expeditiously and courteously.

As stated above....... I'LL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Located in busy downtown but it felt very private and secluded.

My second visit to Chicago with my boy friend. I got a great deal and it included parking. Walked a few blocks to Shops at North Bridge, so great location. We only stayed for a night as we were on our way west. I had booked a corner king room but upon arriving was informed that there were no more corner rooms and got upgraded to a suite automatically. Kudos to all staff - very friendly, helpful and discreet. The amenities like the breakfast and cocktails in the evening are also very nice.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again - great staff, great location, great rooms - what more is needed?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.