We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIQUE, PERFECT LOCATION, GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Bolingbrook, IL
1 review
“UNIQUE, PERFECT LOCATION, GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Recently stayed at the Amalfi for the St. Patrick's Day weekend events and couldn't have been happier with the amenities, location, and staff. Our car was quickly valeted, room made available hours before check in, of course we could walk everywhere, and morning buffet station on our floor with great coffee and crossaints. I would come again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    391
    93
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
532
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel. Great staff and amenities. Two blocks from the State/Lake "L" stop. Half-a-block from Harry Caray's and the House of Blues and walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Chicago. I will definitely return to the Amalfi Hotel and have already recommended it to friends headed to Chicago in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

This lovely hotel has only six floors, making it easy to get to elevators and down to reception. The building is dwarfed amongst all the skyscrapers around it. Trump's huge new tower is just down the street. The Amalfi looks recently refurbished, very modern, but warm and inviting. Bedrooms quite spacious with lovely linens and very, very comfortable beds. Bathroom quite small but roomy enough, with Aveda tolietries and constant hot water in the showers. Continental style breakfast is set out fresh every morning in front of the elevator of every floor. Great to stumble out of bed and grab a coffee etc (robes & slippers provided) without having to get dressed for a formal breakfast. Really enjoyed the Managers evening cocktail reception, especially the Amalfitinis. A nice way to relax after a hard days' shopping! Location is great for all the shops, transport, museums etc. Easy walking to everywhere. Staff also very friendly and welcoming. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Over the last few years I've been to the Amalfi a number of times. I had stayed at a few other hotels prior to our first stay at the Amalfi. However, once we stayed here, we've never thought about another hotel while in Chicago.

The location is wonderful (and easy to get to). We typically just go up there for 2 - 3 days at a time. We just bring carry on luggage and hop the train from either O'Hare or Midway. It's only 3 blocks to the hotel once you're downtown. Once you are there, great restaurants, museums, Jazz or Blues clubs, etc. are all within walking distance. There are also free trolly's to get you around. On a couple of occasions I've purchased the 3 Day Metro Pass that allows you unlimited bus and train for a set fee.

On some occasions we've been able to check in early (or to check out late). Even when that option is not available, they are always able to put your luggage in a secure area while you go enjoy the city.

I've seen so many people mention the free breakfast on each floor. Everyone has their own opinion, but for me it is perfectly suited to get the day started. There is too much good food in Chicago to want to load up for breakfast. A piece of fruit, a muffin, and a cup of coffee and you're off to explore.

On this latest visit I did notice that the nightly cocktail session has eliminated the top shelf booze that was previously provided. The hors d'oeuvres also were "toned down" a bit. I'm sure that is in line with the economic conditions throughout the US. Even so, stopping in each night for a cocktail or two and a little snack surely saves some decent $$$ prior to heading out each evening.

There's not really much of a view from any room I've stayed in. On the other hand, the rooms are clean, nicely appointed, and comfortable. Just remember: Location, location, location.

Of course all the nice things about the hotel would be of little value if it were staffed with an incompetent or unfreindly staff. For sure that is not the case. Check in and check out has always been smooth and (on the couple of occasions) when something is not quite right and you call down..... problem is fixed expeditiously and courteously.

As stated above....... I'LL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Located in busy downtown but it felt very private and secluded.

My second visit to Chicago with my boy friend. I got a great deal and it included parking. Walked a few blocks to Shops at North Bridge, so great location. We only stayed for a night as we were on our way west. I had booked a corner king room but upon arriving was informed that there were no more corner rooms and got upgraded to a suite automatically. Kudos to all staff - very friendly, helpful and discreet. The amenities like the breakfast and cocktails in the evening are also very nice.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again - great staff, great location, great rooms - what more is needed?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

This was out 4th trip to Chicago. My wife and I take annual shopping "Pilgrimages". The Amalfi is situated in an extraordinary locaion for walking, shopping, etc. The Chicago iver basically splits the pedestrian area in two; North and South River areas. The Amalfi is located one block north of the river and 3 blocks West. Donald Trump's new hotel tower is next door. A botique hotel, the Amalfi is not a part spot. No lobby bar, Starbucks or Ruth's Chris. However, all this is a 2 minute walk away. Baseball famed announcer Harry Cary's Restaurant is across the street. Great bar and steaks. Hotel rooom service actually comes from there. The happy hour is smal but quaint. It is in a converted room on the 6th floor. There are 2 types of beer and Amalfitinis; served in masse. Dont ask for an extra shot. The Amalfitinis are tasty but lacking in vodka. The light snacks are Italian (as is the bottle beer). The am breakfast is typically European; breads, jams, juices, etc. Hint...the hotel executive offices are located on the 4th floor; so...the breakfast on that floor is the last to be picked up. Each floor has its own breakfast at the elevator area. If you stay on the 3rd or lower floors, expect no view. We selected a corner room and paid $10 bucks extra per night. We has 30 linear feet of windows and a view of Trump Tower.
The room was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was great. Flatscreen TV was nice. I pod docking station next to bed. Work desk with nice carpets and bedding. I will stay again. Wi F throughout. Noisy garbage pick up in the am

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Loved this hotel. I was in Chicago for a convention at the McCormick Center. The hotels in the MC area were quite expensive, so we found the Amalfi in the downtown River North District for a very reasonable price - around $149 per night. It's in a great location surrounded by shopping and restaurants. The cab ride to McCormick was about $12 - not too bad. The hotel is very modern and trendy. My room was very spacious and packed with little extras for comfort - books, magazines, CD player. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very roomy. They have an very nice on-site gym - new equipment and plentiful. When I visit Chicago in the future, I will definitely keep this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.