We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ... Quiet & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park On Us Package
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location ... Quiet & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is right in the center of Chicago's downtown. Nearby you have extensive options for Restaurants, Bars, Shops, Etc. so you will be close to the good action.

Small (Boutique Hotel), yet quiet and comfortable make this a great option for business or Traveling without kids.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    460
    105
    25
    14
See reviews for
263
628
78
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved this hotel. It is in a great location with tons of stuff in walking distance. It's also convenient to transit. A lot of things to do like Navy Pier, River walk and Millennium Park are near by. The rooms are large and well decorated. It has a modern style. They offer free WIFI and continental breakfast. They also have a nightly reception with cocktails and snacks. They are very unique and the customer service is outstanding. Drake was extremely nice and helpful. If you want a nice place to stay without being charged for everything this is a great chioce. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Kinzie is a little off the beaten path but offers good value and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park attractions. The rooms are a decent size and the bathroom is actually larger than many. They serve a buffet breakfast on every floor, use the tray that is sitting on your bed when you first check in to go pick up your goodies (and don't feel shy going out in your robe, you won't be the only one). I found the staff quite helpful.

Room Tip: Mine looked out over the parking lot but who cares? It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your kind review. We’re happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our location in the downtown River North district convenient to your travel needs and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park. I’m happy you found our rooms and spacious guest bathrooms to your liking. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor so you may gather it up on one of our wooden trays to enjoy in the comfort of your own guest room. Your kind recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I arrived at the Kinzie Hotel at 1:45 am, having arrived on a delayed flight, only to learn that the hotel was "oversold," and my guaranteed room had been given to someone else! How could that be, I asked, for a reservation made more than 2 weeks earlier. The hotel management explained that they would cover my room at a nearby hotel -- they recommended the Palomar, located 2 blocks north of the Kinzie, but my business meetings were in the other direction. Also, the Kinzie's relocation offer was only for the first night, but my reservation had been for 2 nights, meaning I'd have to check out that morning and switch hotels in the middle of my business trip. The hotel gave me no prior notice that they had sold away my room, which gave me no choice but to start my hotel search all over again at 2 am in the morning.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reluctantly giving an amazing review! From the start were checked in before lunchtime....very much appreciated after changing hotels after a wedding!!
Door-men were always helpful. As everyone else suggests cocktail hour is well received after a day exploring (or if your hubby is too hungry to wait for dinner!!) Breakfast limited but is fresh and does the job. Hotel rooms clean and dust free....important for an asthmatic ! Cannot fault this place,...hopes it stays the same and we'll be back!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable visit at Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our rooms and décor to your liking. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m especially pleased to hear how helpful our doormen were during your stay and will be sure to pass along your kind comments. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a wonderful experience at the Kinzie ! We stayed for 4 days, the rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, the staff was warm, friendly and made our stay that much better. The continental breakfast was not the greatest but it was not the worst i've had either. Room tip if you are not used to city noises you may not enjoy street noises. Overall a fantastic stay, near everything and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. We’re pleased you had a “wonderful” stay with us at Kinzie Hotel! I’m happy you found our rooms and décor to your liking. I’m sorry if our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast did not meet your standards. I appreciate your comments and have passed them along to our Food & Beverage manager. I’m so pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and to hear how they made your stay an even better one. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. Your gracious recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked two nights at the Kinzie because I was in town for a concert at the House of Blues in Chicago. This turned out to be a perfect location for me, as the HOB is about a two minute walk from the hotel, you only have to cross one street! The hotel itself is smaller than your typical large-chain hotel, but it was very comfortable, clean, hospitable and customer-friendly. I would gladly book here again on any future Chicago visits. Breakfast is provided for you every day until 9:30 AM by the elevator lobby on every floor. Cereals, fruits, yogurts, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, muffins, bagels, etc., very well-stocked. They also have an evening reception on the sixth floor to which they gave me two free drink tokens, but I was unable to attend due to the concert I attended. I also must add that I was able to have a Lou Malnati's deep-dish pizza delivered right to my room, so again, great location. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, everything was great and I appreciate their attention and hospitality. Thank you.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and it was moderately noisy, I imagine the higher you go the less street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the lovely review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our central location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the great dining and entertainment options surrounding us, like the House of Blues and Lou Malnati’s. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each guest floor. I’m sorry you were unable to attend our complimentary evening reception—hopefully you’ll be able to join us during your next visit. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.