We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Value...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Value...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I've been staying at the Amalfi hotel and I'd have to say it's got to be the best value out there. It's immaculately clean, the staff are lovely, and the complimentary breakfast offers fruit, yogurt, juice and pastries. They also have a complimentary cocktail hour. Could it get any better?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    400
    94
    24
    11
See reviews for
222
560
67
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My husband and I had to travel to Chicago in January of 2008 to meet a doctor to help us with having children. We wanted to stay some place special but also had a budget! We were excited to find out that their normal price of rooms were priced down in January, which then allowed us to be able to afford to stay there! We stayed there just one night but loved our stay! Our bed was absolutely beautiful! I loved the covers! The only drawback to our room was a misunderstanding with the type of room we received. I thought we were getting the room with the rounded wall with windows when they said king corner, but it was a corner room with each sides of the windows facing another building just feet away. So there was NO view from our room. Also, they lobby was very small so there was not that many places to walk around in the hotel. I LOVED their complimentary Amalfitini's they served. One of the best drinks i have ever had! Very yummy! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The Amalfi Hotel was practially perfect in every way!!!! The rooms were nice, comfortable & clean. The bathroom was very roomy & even had a make up mirror & vanity. It felt like home. The service was wonderful, the staff friendly & helpful & it was a great location!!
I recommend it to anyone. We got a great price through Orbitz.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Small boutique hotel, modern. Good location, and great deal booked through Expedia. Clean new rooms and bathrooms with modern fittings. Comfortable beds. Small closet space. On one occasion, toilet overflowed, and took several hours to finally fix it (required a few phone calls down to reception). Excellent complimentary continental breakfast on every floor (takeaway baskets to take back to your room)- make sure you get there early to get a bigger selection. Used gym once- good new facilities, considering it is a small hotel. Free Internet was great- two computers in a small room (?business centre) on top floors.

Liked: Location, Value for money, free breakfast on every floor, free Internet in business centre
Disliked: Toilet overflowing; small closet

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I stayed at the Amalfi for 3 nights in February. As previous posters have mentioned, you can call the hotel directly to get a better rate; both the hotel's website and the reservations agent originally quoted $200+ a night. When I pointed out that both Expedia and hotels.com were charging $130 a night, the reservations agent asked me to hold for a few minutes, then said that they would be willing to match the lower rate!

The lobby is recently renovated, and the hotel as a whole is very nicely done. From check-in to the time we left, they were extremely helpful and pleasant. When we asked the front desk about taking an architectural tour of Chicago, they looked up the times and price, and even offered to call the Architectural Society to inquire about whether the tours were full. I also overheard another staff member offer to print out movie showtimes for another guest and bring them to another his room!

The rooms were large and well appointed; ours had 2 queen sized beds (extremely comfortable and soft) and a clock/radio that you could also play your iPod music on. The shower was amazing (two showerheads) and is stocked with Aveda products. Our room was at the side of the hotel and looked out onto an alley. Previous posts have mentioned the considerable noise from garbage trucks; while you could hear the noise (we were on the 5th floor), it was either evening or morning and not at unreasonable times.

There is an open bar every evening but we didn't sample it. The free continental breakfast each morning is a huge plus; they put our a breakfast spread on each floor by the elevators, with bottled juice, pastries, bagels, tea, and coffee. You can get your breakfast while still in your PJs and bring it back to your room, unless you want to toast your bread, in which case you have to go up to the 6th floor.

The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Chicago. It's a short, 5 minute walk to State station; we were able to take the El train (Orange line) from Midway airport directly to State then walk to our hotel. It's right by the Chicago river, a 10-15 minute walk to both Millennium Park and the Magnificent Mile, and within walking distance to many excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

This is a very nice option to take advantage of the many amenities Chicago has to offer. It has a great location and the greeters up front are very helpful. It does certainly add to the safety factor that they recognize and greet all hotel guests.
The cocktail reception was very good, but our advice is skip the signature Limoncello Martini, we and not anyone that was around us cared for it, and we love lemoncello! We would have much preferred a cold limoncello shot the way they are actually served on the Amalfi Coast.
Breakfast was also good with tasty options, but not having a simple toaster, was a drawback.
The rooms while small are very comfortable, and very nicely appointed. There was a party in a room adjoining us, which sometimes got loud, but the room was really pretty soundproof considering the noise of the party.
As past visitors to the Amalfi Coast, why this hotel is named after that area was beyond us. Besides a couple of pictures, there was absolutely nothing about the hotel that resembled the Amalfi Coast,. We kind of expected the bright blues, yellows and whites that adorn most of the decor of that area. Not even one ceramic piece of decoration for which they are famous.
The Amalfi Coast should complain, really if anyone travels their expecting boring beige, browns and dull burnt orange colors, they may be overloaded by the spectacular beauty of the region.
We went over to HUB 51 for lunch, which is a wonderful alternative to the touristy joints, like Harry Carry's. It is also across the street, just the opposite corner and down a block.
Had much more eclectic menu options.
They are running great deals right now, I know Travelzoo's rate was $94 which was a value that can't be beat.
Overall, not our favorite, but we would return for a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi_Hotel_Chicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
We appreciate our guest's comments and will take the suggestions under advisement next time we do any redecorating.

The Amalfi Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Hotel is great, it is within walking distance to so many activities. It only has six floors so if you are looking for an amazing view of the city, this isn't the hotel for you. What it lacks in view it makes up for with everything else.... The staff is so helpful and friendly, we felt like guests. We haven't been treated that way in years. They go out of their way to say hello and make sure you are happy. Each morning we had a USA Today hanging on our door.
The bed in the rooms are so comfortable, I didn't miss my own at home! Remember to bring your ipod, they have an iHome that you can use. They have a makeup mirror and hair dryer in the bathroom. The bathrooms are stocked daily with Aveda products and if you choose to have the key to the minibar, which is also stocked daily.
It was refreshing to have breakfast available on your floor that you can just run down and grab something to take back to your room. Coupled with the happy hour in the evening, it was nice to enjoy drinks and great food without putting a hurt on the wallet. Our room was close to the lounge where the happy hour was, once we were in our room, we couldn't hear a peep.
We look forward to coming back to this hotel again and cannot say enough how much we enjoyed staying there.
Based on another review, we ventured over to Rockit Bar and Grill - fabulous. It was a great recommendation, wonderful food and service.
Taxi from the airport will run you between $40 -$45. If you choose the airport shuttle (not affiliated with the hotel), roundtrip is $36 per person. You make your return reservation the day before, but we didn't anticipate them making multiple stops, so if you're not in a rush, this service is pretty convenient.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;