We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Kinzie Hotel
and 10 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Opening Special!
Ranked #19 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Cincinnati Area
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amalfi keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Updated info: They're done with lobby construction and the new lobby is very nice with a flowing water feature and updated furnishings. This renovation just happened as they celebrated five years in business.

The Amalfi Hotel occupies floors 2-6 or a 17-story office building in downtown Chicago, in a very convenient location... walking distance to Magnificent Mile shopping and within a block or two of five fine steakhouses (Keefers is in the same building, Harry Caray's, Sullivans, Ruth's Chris, Smith & Wollensky are just a block away, Chicago Chop House, Kinzie Chop House, Morton's of Chicago are very short walks).

Service is very nice, although I didn't challenge their "experience designers" (why can't we just call them the front desk clerks?). The maids are "comfort stylists", the porters are "impressionists". Are we paying for these words? Sounds expensive. And silly. All of the valet, bellhop and wait staff, regardless of what fluffy title they were given, were remarkably kind for Chicago.

The best way to experience the Amalfi is to find your best deal on one of the discount websites (I used Expedia) and call the Amalfi to get a rate match. They will do that. You may see a rate above of over $300 a night, but I just stayed there for $132 a night, and you can't beat that at any other classy place downtown. My personal previous best rate was at the House of Blues before they became Hotel Sax at $145 a night.
Valet parking, as it is in downtown, was up there.. $44 a night with in and out privileges.
Not a trace of cigarette or cigar smoke in the place... it's relatively quiet for downtown... the infrastructure works well (icemaker, refrigerator, door locks, HVAC, elevators, etc.)... and the beds are the best you'll sleep on (better than I own). The wireless networking was fast and smooth, and no extra cost. The LodgeNet television/in-room movie system is still undergoing a transition to HD, so the TV video wasn't HD and was stretched for now, and the reaction to the remote was slow. They promised this was undergoing improvement soon.
I'll stay there regularly unless they charge me rack rates.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    366
    90
    23
    11
See reviews for
187
499
61
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Decided to stay at this hotel based on this site and another site’s recommendation. Went to Chicago for a romantic weekend with my husband; our only solid plans was to see Wicked.

We booked through Orbitz ($246 final total for 2 nights) since they had a 20% hotel sale and then had a 15% coupon code in January. The hotel will match any internet price and give you a free upgrade (but couldn’t match all the discounts we got).

I chose the hotel since it was centrally located and had complementary breakfast and cocktails.

Even though I had called a week before about our dates, the hotel failed to mention that their lobby was closed & being renovated. They did everything out of this small hallway by the elevators. I inquired about the cost of upgrading and the guy went into a long speech about how they don’t know Orbitz price so they wouldn’t know how much it would be. Usually I either simply get a complimentary upgrade or just pay a small set fee. Oh well.

The room was somewhat small (it is downtown Chicago) and if we were in a room anywhere lower than the 5th floor we would have had a view of a brick wall. The room was nice and the beds were VERY comfortable. In our bathroom there were a couple dark hairs in the tub that I have a hard time believe the cleaning staff could have missed. If it wasn’t already midnight when we arrived I would have probably gone down and complained. Everything else seemed very clean.

The breakfast is simple coffee, bottled fruit juice, and pastries. It was great to be able to throw on a robe, go into your hallway, grab a cute tray and bring back food to your room.

One of the other reasons that I choose this hotel was their “experience designers”. We started by searching for a good sushi restaurant for lunch. The guy wasn’t very helpful other than giving us a print out of the address of one nearby. I was so disappointed with my experience designer’s lack of energy or care, that I ended up going to their business center and using TripAdvisor to find a good place for dinner.

On the point of the business center, it is free, had 4 computers (1 mac) and a printer. Two of the four were frozen, but it is still nice to find a hotel in Chicago that isn’t going to find every little thing to charge you for. They also had free wireless internet and don’t forget the free breakfast and cocktails.

In terms of the cocktails, we never took advantage of it. We arrived too late on Friday night, and Saturday we were out exploring Chicago from their 5:30-7 timeframe.

All in all, the breakfast in bed and the location can’t be beat. I wouldn’t mind coming back, but I am going to try a different hotel next visit to downtown Chicago.

  • Liked — Free breakfast & Location
  • Disliked — No real service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My parents and I stayed at the Amalfi in July 2008 on our summer trip to Chicago. It took a few minutes of driving in circles to find it, but eventually we did. The moment our car pulled up to the curb, two helpful men were there to take our luggage into the hotel and valet our car (valet survice is offered). It`s true that the lobby is small compared to most hotels, but what it lacks in space, it makes up in quality. The whole hotel smells like fresh flower and zest, and the bright, modern colours really add a nice touch. The conceirge booked us into our room right away, and we had staff bring our luggage up to the room.

Our room was on the top floor of the hotel (there are other businesses on the higher floors), and the best place to be. The room was quite small, but it was very clean, comfortable and had a pretty good view from the window (not like it matters all that much). There were many new magazines like InStyle, ect on the desk, which was great. The bathroom stocks the most amazing Aveda products, which I admit to taking a few home with me. The two-headed shower is lovely and the bathroom is overall very clean and modern.

Our room was right across from the room where they offer free happy hour and light food at night. You would think it would be noisy, but from in our room, you could hear nothing. The happy hour was great, you could go in (even with your children, but bringing young ones could be a problem) and get whatever drink you like (tip if you want), and there were an abundance of breads, cheeses, meats,ect. Very nice to go to before dinner.

In the morning, they offer breakfast on each floor, right outside the elevator. I went in my PJ`s every day, and they had a good assortment of fruits, juices, coffees, teas, croissants, buns, pasteries, bagels, ect. The only thing my family complained about was the lack of hot food or a toaster for bagels, but I think it wasn`t such a big deal. If your floor was out of some pasterie or whatnot, you could go to the floors below and take one of theirs.

The Amalfi offers a "business" center, which is basically a very small room with two computers and a printer. That is fine since the internet is free, and almost always the computers are empty, so you don`t have to wait.

The fitness room is large and well-stocked, though we didn`t use it.

For restaurants in the area, try Harry Caray`s across the street (great bar food), or for a really hip, cool environment try the restaurant which is right behind the hotel, called Rockit Bar and Grill. VERY good food, young atmosphere.

I would refer anyone to this amazing hotel!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

This was a gem of a place. I found an internet rate of $153 a night and they matched it when I called. Call the hotel direct, not the toll free reservation line to get the match.

Room was spacious and clean, beautifully furnished. It's in a great location.

Loved the breakfast ON EACH FLOOR. Just run right out in your robe for coffee, bagels, pastries, fruit, yogurt - the works.

Took advantage of the free happy hour with drinks and apps one afternoon. The attendant was great - warned us when our brand of red wine was getting low and set the bottle back for us to finish. Wish this happy hour was in a better place - perhaps with more atmosphere - but it was a good way to unwind and relax.

Check in and out were both a breeze and everyone was very friendly and nice. Will stay here again next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The Amalfi is a great hotel. The only reason I gave it an above average rating and not Excellent is because of our limited interaction with the staff. The lobby is apparently undergoing a renovation because we checked in in a small room right outside the elevators. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff was very helpful though. The room was nice but not over the top. We got a great rate through Expedia by staying 3 nights so it was definitely worth it. The quality of food for breakfast was good and the nightly free drinks in the lounge were a nice touch.
The location was perfect for us. We were within walking distance to shopping, great restaurants, and the theaters. If it was too cold to walk, it was a very cheap cab ride.
Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel and would recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Liked — LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
  • Disliked — The lobby wasn't open.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here at the Amalfi. We checked in on the 23rd of Dec. and are leaving tomorrow morning (Dec. 28).

Here are just a few of the highlights:
--Steps away from the hustle and bustle of Michigan Avenue, but in a quiet location. We were on the 4th floor and heard very little street noise.
--Very friendly staff: we loved that there was a doorman to call taxis and that the "experience designers" were there to give us directions and recommendations if needed.
--The managers' reception and continental breakfast: Both were free of charge! In the morning we enjoyed a quick breakfast (yogurt, fruit, bagels, pastries, juice, and coffee). In the evenings we were offered drinks in the lounge and some nice Italian appetizers. The first night there, I asked the bartender if he could make an amaretto sour (the liquor wasn't on the list of available ones), and he went out of his way to find amaretto for me. Everyone here was so friendly and accommodating.

  • Liked — The location and staff!
  • Disliked — no pool :(
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

This is not your typical chain hotel. Very hip and trendy furnishings from the unusual sit down with an agent front desk to the trendy quality room furnishings.

The Amalfi was very clean, bright and warm. The hallways were bright and well lit. The room was large with quality furniture, a big comfortable bed complimented with plush bedding. The pillows were comfortable.

The bathroom was also very large with marble vanity and a large shower with great water pressure.

The breakfast was unusual in that they set it up on each and every floor instead of a room on the ground level. The food offered was nothing special, your typical continental fare.

The free wireless internet was fast and reliable throughout my stay.

This place is a winner and i'd happily return.

  • Liked — Clean, Comfortable with free fast reliable internet
  • Disliked — Nothing, no issues.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list