We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice niche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now!
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice niche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Initially, when we booked Kinzie through hotwire.com in a secret deal, we were a little skeptical. Nobody knew the revamped, renamed boutique hotel. But, we hoped for the best, and went ahead to request an upper floor, corner room.
When we checked in, late at night, the receptionist assured us it was a lovely room. I squealed with delight. We were on the 6th floor and had windows on three sides. What was unimportant is that the windows looked straight into the hotel opposite, but, hey, we had the road in between. Nice, large bathroom, except that it was not well planned. Nothing to hang towels on near the tub / shower, which meant we had to go dripping to the opposite side of the large bathroom to dry ourselves. Other than that, all was good. Breakfast on each floor is an innovative way to overcome the space crunch. It could feel like breakfast in bed if your partner brings in the food for you as you lounge around. I did for the husband. Breakfast is the same every day, so be warned, it could get boring.
Another distinct advantage - free alcoholic beverages every evening. I loved that we could walk to wherever we wanted - Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Hancock Tower, Sears Tower, and of course, the shopping.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, with windows on three sides. Choose one as far away from the nightclub next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We’re pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I appreciate your feedback about our guest bathrooms and have passed along your comments to our Engineering Department. I’m pleased you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to walk to all the nearby sites—like Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the shopping along Michigan Avenue. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our complimentary evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back upon your next Chicago getaway.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    422
    98
    25
    12
See reviews for
234
586
74
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently traveled to Chicago for pleasure. We booked this hotel through Hotwire and really scored BIG! This hotel is in a GREAT location. We felt safe at night walking around the area and it is literally blocks from about everything we wanted to visit. The hotel was updated and clean. The hotel served an amazing breakfast each morning outside our room. They have an array of food available on EVERY floor. There was an abundance of food...from fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereals, doughnuts, pastries, breads and bagels available. They also had free drinks available in the evenings for adults. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. They recommended a pizza place to us and then gave us a coupon for a free dessert! Great hotel - we would love to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to walk to all the nearby attractions. I’m pleased you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking as well. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each guest floor and appreciated the wide variety of newly upgraded breakfast items. And I’m delighted to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Your 5-star recommendation is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Kinzie for a night out in Chicago. The location was perfect! We were just a short walk away from howl at the moon. From the front desk staff to the valet staff, everyone was helpful and professional! Another great part about the hotel is the continental breakfast that is located on every floor and the complimentary evening cocktails. Next time I'm in Chicago I will look at staying here again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review. We’re so pleased to hear you had an “excellent experience” with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking, especially our close proximity to all the restaurants and nightlife—like Howl at the Moon, right around the corner. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—conveniently served on each guest floor, as you mentioned. I’m happy you were able to enjoy our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. We truly appreciate your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago very soon!


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at the Kinzie last weekend in Chicago. I was on the 6th floor with a wonderful view. And right down the hall from the daily happy hour suite. The room was beautiful and even had a sitting area with a sofa. Continental breakfast is served every morning in the lobby on each floor. So convenient to walk out my door and get breakfast and fresh coffee. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The water in the lobby was delicious...one day it was cucumber water, the next day made with fresh watermelon. I felt like I was at a spa!
Almost forgot to mention the bed...heavenly.
I will stay here every time I visit Chicago!

Room Tip: I liked the 6th floor so I was near happy hour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the rave review! We’re overjoyed to hear you had a “wonderful weekend” with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—especially our comfortable new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds. I’m also happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each guest floor. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary fruit-infused water, served every afternoon in our lobby. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next Chicago getaway.


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Shared a room with 3 fantastic friends and had adequate space and comfort. Visually beautiful space, comfy beds, spacious bathroom, loved the breakfasts on floor level and cocktail hour with appetizers! Quiet and clean. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Would definitley stay here again. Within walking distance to downtdown and Millineum Park

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and found it quiet. No complaints. It did face another building so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear you and your friends “loved” your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—especially our comfortable new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds. I’m happy you were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago and walk to all the nearby sites—like Millennium Park, now celebrating it’s 10th anniversary! I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your gracious recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel does it smart. Having the continental breakfast on every floor and the nightly manager cocktail hours was something I have not seen before. The employees are incredibly helpful and nice. I was traveling alone and they were able to give me advise on how to get around safely. There was noise at night from the bar across the street and the local traffic. This is expected whenever you're in a downtown type area. The hotel had a wonderful location. Next time I head up to Chicago I plan on staying at Kinzie again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s such a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m happy you found our location in the vibrant and bustling downtown River North district to your liking. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Your thoughtful review is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a 6th floor suite. It was very comfortable and amazingly quiet even though the room was situated over a main street. Having just returned from an out of town business trip where I stayed at a different hotel having a room over the main street, it was unbelievably noisy and made sleep difficult at times. Not true of the Kinzie Hotel suite.
The Kinzie Hotel is warm and inviting and pleasantly decorated. Bathroom amenities and on-floor buffet breakfast were wonderful.
All the employees I met were very nice especially those in reservations, Amanda Travers and Katie Russell. Not often does one have the opportunity to meet the general manager, Patti Koehn or the office manager, Melissa Drza who were equally as welcoming.
Great experience overall and looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! We’re delighted to hear you and your daughter had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated Deluxe One-Bedroom King Suite comfortable and décor to your liking. I’m happy you enjoyed all our amenities, like our in-room H2O Plus spa products and complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our Front Office and Reservations teams. We will be sure to pass your kind comments along. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back for another Chicago getaway soon!


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.