We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect TEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Perfect TEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel 3 nights (July 1-3). I used Tripadvisor to find a highly rated hotel at a reasonable price. I hit the jackpot. I honestly can't think of one negative thing to say about the hotel so I will just mention a few things that stuck out. First, the room was everything you needed (comfortable bed, large bathroom with all supplies, perfect temp and great view). Employees were all friendly and willing to answer all questions. Doormen were great. I must mention Zouhair, who went out of his way to help when needed. I have never stayed at a hotel that serves breakfast on each floor. This makes breakfast just a few steps away and never a line, plus you are able to eat in your room in front of the TV or in bed (just like home). The afternoon drinks and snacks that are included were very good and a welcome treat when returning from a long day from exploring Chicago.
Bottom line: I am retired and do a lot of traveling and this place is as good as you will find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank for you the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team—Zouhair in particular. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and décor—including our comfortable new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds and H2O Plus spa products. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also pleased you enjoyed our other complimentary amenities, like our afternoon snacks in the lobby. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    414
    96
    25
    12
See reviews for
231
577
73
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Kinzie is a nice little boutique hotel with a great location. Staff is very accommodating. Rooms are nice, but not extravagant. The only downside I can attribute to it is that it is not as "posh" as it is made to seem. It only occupies 6 floors of the sky rise that it resides in, and "room service" is take-out from the restaurant across the street.

If you're looking for a NICE hotel, go elsewhere. If you want a decent hotel in a great location, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking. While there is currently no restaurant on site, we do offer room service from the famed Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse, located right across the street. I am pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along. Thank you again for your feedback. We wish you safe travels in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel with good location. Reception staff were very helpful with whatever was needed. Rooms very nice and comfortable bed. At the elevator on the 5th floor where I lived was served a light breakfast buffet to bring to the room. No extra charge for it. I also got 4 chips to pay drinks in the guest room one on the 6th floor where also some finger food was served for free. Very generous. This is a hotel that I would return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our comfy new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds! I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each guest floor. I’m delighted you appreciated our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. We truly appreciate your thoughtful recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great concierge and welcome, from the greeting and check in to the follow up provided when I was FedExed out the car key of mine that had dropped to the floor of the closet.
Will return. Especially with a value rate.... in my case Hotel Tonight. But even without that discount, the location, the room, the service: all earned my return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We’re happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

First off the products H2O are wonderful! Really fresh and love the shower every time we visit what can be a grimy city sometimes. While on my out to shop, Meg the concierge told me all the great places to go and that old navy was having their famous one day $1 flip flop sale and went out of her why to surprise me with a pair when she found out that I went the other direction and missed it to watch Colombia in the World Cup ! Melissa the front house manager is completely on it! She made sure we had all the extras we request and informed us about their new "we get it" policy which I'm a big fan of with all our travels. Thanks again for a wonderful, local stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing another fabulous review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I’m happy to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new H2O Plus spa products. It’s a pleasure to hear my team and I could be of assistance during your stay and helped contribute to your positive experience at Kinzie Hotel. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The entire Kinzie team made us feel like a part of the family. From the beginning where Amanda and Katie in reservations helped us, to checking in with Julian who was so helpful with dinner reservations we had an amazing time! It was a short trip but we'll be back for more soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We’re so happy to hear enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our Front Office and Reservations teams! We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. We truly appreciate you sharing your 5-star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in the Kinzie on the last leg of our trip to the US.The room was large and clean with coffee-maker and snacks.We availed of the complementary breakfast each morning which unusually was served on each floor.We also enjoyed the Happy Hour each evening when drinks and hors d oeuvres were served.
The hotel is very well located - close to all attractions and transport links and is close to many bars and restaurants.
We were particularly impressed by the check-in staff - polite and friendly. We felt that we were treated very fairly when our flight into Chicago was cancelled at very short notice and subsequently our cancellation call to the hotel was literally at the 11th hour.On check-out the cost of our first night was deducted which is not often the case in other hotels who use the small print to take as much as possible.
We would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Kinzie to anyone visiting the Windy City.

Room Tip: This is a city-centre hotel and some street noise is inevitable,but was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted you had an enjoyable—albeit brief—getaway with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the sites and restaurants surrounding us. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along! Your gracious recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.