We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now!
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

when in Chicago i will only stay at the Amalfi.
great location, five star staff,perfectly run hotel.
breakfast buffet on each floor is more then just convenient.
rooms are very appealing .even the towels are first rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to be your “home away from home” in Chicago! I’m pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our hotel team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to hear you found our rooms to your liking and enjoyed our in-room amenities—like our new, oversized, fluffy towels. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. Thank you so much for the warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    421
    98
    25
    12
See reviews for
232
585
74
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location great, most staff very friendly, continental breakfast buffet (on each floor) very nice and generous, room well appointed, cleaning staff very thorough, happy hour mostly very good. Overall "very good"! Cons: no view (but this boutique hotel only 6 stories with offices above)---we were fine with this as we were out and about all day and evenings; attended 3 of 5 nights happy hours: 2 had very nice simple but generous appetizer buffet: cheeses, bread, pasta salad, veggies, salami. One night, however, I arrived about 1/2 way through the 3 hour "happy hour" and there was a 1/2 platter of veggies, 1 bowl of cheese chunks and some stale bread; I asked if they were replenishing and staff just said "no, we ran out and no more"--I thought that was weird. Hotel allows dogs; I like dogs and wouldn't have know had I not seen a sweet one in the halls AND, unfortunately, a very yappy dog one night was left by owners as they went out for evening. Concierge could not do anything about this; fortunately by the time we returned that night the owners were back and yapping stopped. Finally, I just have to say we were a bit put off by the lack of grace when we checked out. No "thanks for staying with us"... We left our bags for a couple hours and when we retrieved them to go to airport, again, not even a smile or a good-bye from desk staff. Hmmmm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. While I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, I’m disappointed to hear that not all our team members lived up to the high standards of service we strive to deliver. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I will be following up with you for more information on your stay. We will use your feedback to review and retrain our associates in every department in order to meet and exceed the level of hospitality that you deserve. I’m further sorry to hear that the appetizers were not replenished in a timely fashion during our complimentary evening reception. I will also be passing along your feedback to our Food and Beverage manager to ensure this is not an issue again in the future. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the newly upgraded selection of breakfast items. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I chose the Amalfi hotel while in Chicago for a meeting as it seemed like a good location and included a lot of extras that other hotels didn't. The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom quite spacious, even though the shower was over the bath. The toiletries were great (Aveda) and individual 'serves' which I appreciate - I hate the trend at some hotels for the shampoo and body wash to be a pump attached to the wall - always seems so unhygienic.
The TV had an overwhelming choice of stations and you could either watch from the comfort of the bed or from a sofa seat in the corner of the room. There was also a small/narrow desk to use your lap top at, which was great.

The breakfast being provided in the elevator lobbies of every floor seemed a strange concept, but worked quite well. Luckily my room was away from the area so noise didn't bother me. There was a reasonable choice of pastries, muffins, donuts, bagels, fruit, yoghurt and juice. In the evening there was the complimentary cocktails and appetisers which was really convenient and as a solo traveller meant I didn't have to leave the hotel or fend for myself after a long day of meetings. The appetisers included a variety of cold meats, cheese, crackers, antipasto (some nights), tomato/bocconcini skewers and a pasta salad (one night). I think the trick was to come early as once the food ran out it didn't seem to get replaced. The bar staff were great and friendly and Marco could make you whatever cocktail you wanted ... as long as it was on ice (not shaken).

My only issue was that of noise in the room. When I first arrived I had a room on the 6th floor and there was a constant hum. When I looked out the window I saw the building next door's air conditioning units at eye level and assumed this was the source of the noise. I asked to be changed to another room, which I was, but the second room was a lot worse. It was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the street (in particular the bar Harry Canary?) which was terribly noisy until the wee hours of the morning right through the weekend. In addition, the room had a constant droning noise that I now think was the ducted air conditioner throughout the whole hotel. If I had kept my ear plugs from the flight it may have been bearable but even when watching TV the humming/droning noise was constant. I didn't complain about the second room as I felt that the staff had already tried to accommodate me, but after not getting much sleep on my last of 4 nights (which was a Saturday) I regretted my decision to put up with it.

Would I return if in Chicago - probably yes, but I would definitely ask for a quiet room on a high floor away from the street and bring ear plugs!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m happy you found our rooms spacious and to your liking. I’m pleased you enjoyed our in-room amenities like the Aveda spa products and our newly upgraded cable TV package with a wide selection of channels to choose from. However, I’m sorry to hear about the noise issues you encountered. We take all noise complaints very seriously and I will be following up with you for more information so we may rectify the issues you experienced immediately. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the wide selection of new breakfast items. I’m also happy you were able to indulge in our evening cocktail reception and appreciate the kind comments about our Ravello Lounge team—Marco in particular! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughtful review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was visiting Chicago for work and extended my stay to enjoy the city since it was my first time in Chicago. The Amalfi was in the best location - close to Michigan Ave for shopping, across the street from Harry Carry's for drinks and dinner, and everything is walking distance! I really enjoyed the continental breakfast that was prepared every morning on each floor, by the elevators so you could grab a bite to eat and bring it back to your room - great idea!

Room Tip: The only reason why I didn't rate this as excellent all around is that my room was right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! We’re flattered you chose to spend your first Chicago stay with us and thrilled that it was such an enjoyable visit! I’m pleased to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking—especially our close proximity to the Michigan Avenue shopping district and all the great restaurants surrounding us, including Harry Caray’s Steakhouse. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each guest floor. We truly appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, and we have had a great experience both times. The staff are always cheerful and a great help. We love the reception they have every night - with free drinks and appetizers! Also, the location is great - near the Magnificent Mile and many great restaurants. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Chicago

Room Tip: The reception is on the 6th floor - great to have a room on that floor so you can easily get your dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank so much for the rave review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such lovely feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s such a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception and appreciated the wide variety of hors d’oeuvres. I’m also happy you found our downtown Chicago location to your liking—especially our close proximity to the nearby Magnificent Mile! Your 5-star recommendation is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay with us very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great location, amazing service, excellent continental breakfast and evening cocktails. We were there to visit universities with my granddaughter and we both had a great time.
have booked another stay in November, the location is so convenient to shopping, restaurants and transportation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you and your granddaughter enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m pleased to hear you found our location in the downtown River North district convenient to all your shopping and dining needs. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in November!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was great. They are dog friendly, and very accomodating. They can help you to set up a dog walker or sitter if needed. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, and has extras. The breakfast was decent, but the drinks and apps every evening included in your stay was much appreciated and very good. The bar tenders were a pleasure and the spread was excellent.
Not to mention this hotel is in a great location. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We’re pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We love being a pet-friendly hotel and always enjoy having our four-legged friends stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you appreciated our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. I’m further delighted to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception and to hear how friendly our Ravello Lounge team was! Your thoughtful recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.