We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel in busy Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel in busy Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed three nights at the hotel and found it to be a fantastic spot for us. We traveled as a family of four, with two children, and we had plenty of space in the room (2 queen beds) which is sometimes a problem in central urban hotels. In addition, the hotel provides a refrigerator in the room which was very helpful for us in keeping snacks, etc. The location is excellent--easy walking distance to Millennium Park or Navy Pier and an easy walk to two different L lines. We went to a Cubs game one of the days we stayed and it was an easy 20 minutes on the Red Line. Maybe the best part of the hotel, however, was the food! They provide a great continental breakfast--although not hot, it's a great way to start the day and included yogurt and hard-boiled eggs as well as the usual cold breakfast fare. In addition, from 5-7 in the evenings they provided free drinks (1 per guest) and an antipasto selection including cheeses and vegetables and meats. This was great and honestly served as our dinner one of the nights as we'd had a late lunch.

The only negative I would mention was that the price of parking was very high ($56/night) and was more than was advertised when I booked the hotel ($49/night).

Overall, a great hotel that I would definitely recommend and would stay at again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We’re pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! I’m happy you found our rooms to your liking and appreciated the in-room amenities, like the small refrigerator. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the recently enhanced selection of breakfast items, including Greek yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. I’m also happy to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary evening cocktail reception with two drinks per guest and newly extended hours, from 5-8pm. I’m especially pleased to hear you liked our central location in downtown Chicago and take advantage of both the nearby attractions as well as the convenient CTA system. As you mentioned, our parking rate recently went up from $49 to $56. Unfortunately our rates are dependent on city of Chicago taxes and our parking rate was forced to go up with the recent tax raise. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    488
    109
    28
    14
See reviews for
281
673
83
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Third Lake IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Amalfi about six times over the last three years for business and never had a bad experience. It is perfectly located on the north end of the Business district. Only a block from the Chicago River, easy walk to Michigan Avenue shopping and only a few blocks from State Street and the theaters. The staff is caring and attentive. The room is immaculate and comfortable. There is a continental breakfast provided on each floor by the elevators, so you can grab some thing to get your day started. The coffee is good, they have bagels, sweet rolls, fruit, cereal, granola bars, juice, etc. There is a complimentary happy hour that serves terrific appetizers and cocktails. It is a very nice space and many guests gather in the friendly atmosphere. This place is a gem, you will be well treated and well rested for your Chicago experiences.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you ask for a room away from the elevators because of the traffic of all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review. We’re overjoyed to receive such a kind recommendation—especially from a frequent guest! I’m happy to hear you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and found it convenient to both your business and leisure needs! I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our recently enhanced complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary evening cocktail reception and mingle with the other guests! Your flattering recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good hospitatlity and very clean and great for business trips, i would recommend this hotel to any leisure and business traveller. The best part is the coupons you receive for 2 free cocktails at the Raviolli bar situated in the hotel. The bar has a nice atmosphere and you get to have a causal drink, very relaxed.

Room Tip: I've stayed here twice and all the rooms have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the rave review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception and take advantage of our newly extended hours, from 5-8pm. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is one of the best I've stayed at. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are quiet. The location is perfect as it is near many of the local attractions like the Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park, Museum Park and a variety of restaurants. The complimentary continental breakfast provided on each floor makes it easy to get coffee or something to eat while others in your room such as your kids are still getting ready. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view so if that matters to you, you may want to check on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! I’m pleased to know you enjoyed our recently enhanced complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and walk to all the nearby sites like the Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I loved this hotel! Check in was a breeze, and we were very pleased with our room. It was modern and clean, and as the airline had lost my luggage, I appreciated the Aveda toiletries! The room also had a large bar fridge, which was handy for keeping some cold drinks during the Chicago summer.
The extras are what makes the Amalfi so great. Free evening cocktails with anti pasto snacks were lovely in the bar, which had a great atmosphere. The breakfast was also very generous. Placed in the elevator foyer on each floor, there is a great choice of fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, bagels, bread for toast, etc etc, plus bottles of juice. On top of all this is cookies and lemonade in the afternoons. Awesome!
All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. It was always nice returning after a day of sightseeing or shopping (we stayed 6 nights).
It is also a fantastic location. It's a 5 minute walk to Macys or Nordstrom and loads of other great shopping. It is also surrounded by dozens if great restaurants and bars, with all types of cuisine and all price levels. We walked everywhere, in using the Art Institute, Willis Tower and most other Chicago attractions. It's only a 3 minute walk to the train station, which we used to get to Wrigley Field.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago for business or pleasure. Great location, great staff, great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a flattering review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m pleased you found our rooms to your liking and appreciated the in-room amenities like the Aveda spa products and honor bar. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the newly enhanced selection of breakfast items. I’m further pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our complimentary evening cocktail reception and enjoyed the selection of Italian-inspired hors d’oeuvres. And I’m pleased that you were able to walk to all the nearby sites like the Art Institute and Willis Tower. Our location in the downtown River North district puts us in the center of all Chicago has to offer and I’m delighted you were able to take advantage of it. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Returned from a 4 day stay and was very impressed with the cozy hotel rooms, how it was centrally located in the heart of Chicago (in the shadow of Trump Tower), freindly and helpful staff (who all learned our names somehow after just one day!) and of course the good room rates. The hotel offer includes a continental breakfast on every floor as well as a cocktail party each night that includes light h'orderves like cheeses, veggies and some meat slices. They give you two tickets for drinks for each person times the number of nights you are staying. It is a nice touch where one can easily talk to other guests and exchange travel experiences. We got some nice tips on what to do and where to go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful review! We’re pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us! I’m especially pleased to receive such kind feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to know we came through on that promise. I’m also happy you enjoyed our recently enhanced complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further delighted that you were able to take advantage of the newly extended hours of our complimentary evening cocktail reception (now from 5-8pm) and get to chat with other guests! I agree it’s a great way to share tips on what to do in Chicago. We truly appreciate such a kind recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just spent four days at this hotel and was treated as though we were the only ones there!!! The bell men were the most courteous I have ever met.. And very helpful!!!! The cocktail hour on the sixth floor was terrific... Piece of advice... Have a separate hour for families so the adults who do not have kids can enjoy this more.....seeing little hands grabbing cheese and not being watched is not appealing.... Breakfast is also a great plus for this hotel on every floor!!! The rooms are clean and have a safe, a coffee maker and fridge!!!! Also nice robes!!!!! This hotel is also in a great area of Chicago..in walking distance to everything!!!! The Bean, boat tours, great restaurants, and magnificent mile!!!! Also millennium park and Navy Pier!!! Will be back to this hotel when I am back in Chicago!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further pleased that you enjoyed our in-room amenities, like our fluffy robes and new Keurig coffee makers. I’m also happy you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to walk to all the nearby sites like the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.