We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Class Guests?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mother's Day Package!
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Second Class Guests?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked a room on Hotwire for two adults and a 15 year old son. Very pleasant check-in. Up to our room and find a small room with one king bed. Obvious mistake, right? Back to front desk and suddenly a lot of attitude. Pretty much " well if you use Hotwire this is what you get" I booked a room for two adults and a fifteen year old. How does a small room with one bed accommodate us? They said they were out of rooms with two queens and offered a larger king room with a roll-a-way FOR $25 MORE. I am stunned that I have to explain to them how this is horrible customer service. I haven't checked my bill yet, still here in bed looking at my son sleeping on the floor of our fancy Chicago hotel. And, lest I forget, $47 to park my car here for the night and $7 for a bottle of water. Beyond all this, nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for the room type issues you encountered at check-in. When you book the “run-of-house” option through third-party sites like Hotwire or Priceline, the room type is unfortunately not guaranteed. We highly encourage our guests to book directly through us so we may guarantee the room type you need. I apologize for the way the situation was handled by our front office team. We take pride in the quality of service we deliver and I am disappointed to learn that it did not live up to the high standards we set for ourselves. I will be following up with you directly for more information. Your feedback will help us to retrain and educate our front office team to ensure that incidents like this do not occur again in the future. Thank you again for providing us with your helpful feedback.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    453
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
262
621
77
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from a fun filled trip to the Windy City with a group containing five kids. The hotel and staff were wonderful and made our trip very enjoyable. The social reception at night was a great break after a busy day of sightseeing. We walked to most restaurants, museums and Michigan Avenue. We will stay at this hotel again when we get to Chicago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased to know our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable one. I’m happy you were able to enjoy our evening cocktail reception—I agree it’s a great way to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing! Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the Amalfi over Easter 2013.
The 1st thing we liked about the hotel was the room was very big, clean & had a massive bed. The staff were always there to help out with advise, & were very friendly.
The location is right where we wanted to be. Close by are loads of bars, restaurants & the House of Blues is just around the corner :). It's also a short walk to Michigan Ave (Magnificent mile).
Breakfast was novel, from 6am it is set up in the lift lobby of each floor. There is a room on 6th you can use, but generally you eat in your room (cream cakes 1st thing in the morning? no wonder a lot of yanks are obese lol). There is also a sizeable fitness suite to work off those calories ;)
10 out of 10 .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! I’m pleased you found our rooms comfortable and clean. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our location in the vibrant River North district and were able to walk to all the nearby sites—like the House of Blues and Magnificent Mile. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughtful review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We took a weekend trip to Chicago with our two kids, age 7 and 4. The Amalfi hotel was in a great location; an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile, lots of restaurants, etc. We'd totally recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for one in Chicago. The staff is incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed your weekend getaway with us! I’m especially pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s always a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. I’m also happy you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and walk to all the nearby sites—like the Magnificent Mile. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

stayed 2 nights in late march at the Amalfi hotel. We booked a room with one king sized bed on Orbitz and was able to get quite a good price. We arrived into Chicago earlier than expected, and went right to the hotel to see if we could check in. The check in process was very easy and the girl that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. It was 10 am chicago time (an hour behind our time) and we were able to get right into our room. We had arranged parking thru spothero, becuase this was considerable cheaper than parking at the hotel. (40.00 for 48 hours, as opposed to 47.00 daily at the hotel). We were able to park in front of the hotel long enough to check in and unload our car. The bellman watched our luggage while we took our car a block away to the parking garage. The ONLY slight disadvantage with the parking garage is after we got there, we were told that this garage did NOT have in and out privledges, and I was thinking they did. (my mistake as I did not read close enough, it does state on the website that they do NOT). This did not prove to be a problem as we walked or took the CTA every where we went. The walk between the parking garage and the hotel was less than a block. The bellman assisted us to our room with our luggage. The room was a nice big corner room on the 4th floor. Upon entering the room, there is a long hallway that you go down and then turn to enter the room (this is really just wasted space, but made the room seem more like an apartment). You then turn and go down another hallway. The bathroom is located behind the first door, and the next door is a large closet with a full length mirror attached on the inside of the door. You go a little further and you enter the sleeping area of the room. Becuase this was a corner room, the entire wall of hallway leading into the room is all knee to celiing windows the entire length. The windows continue around the corner of the sleeping room and cover the entire other wall. So in essence, the only walls in the sleeping portion that are NOT windows is the one wall behind the bed, and the wall between the sleeping area and the bathroom. There are floor to celing curtains that can be opened all the way to have full exposure to all the windows, or can be covered with just a sheer curtain or with a light blocking curtain. This was very nice. The only problem is the biggest section of windows (those going all the way down the hall and across the sleeping room) was a view of a 6 story brick wall building just 5 feet away from the window, so no view, but it did let in all the natural light without the city lights/street lights so these windows could be kept opened all night if you wanted and still have total privacy. The far wall of windows provided limited views of state street and Kinzie street, but no real interesting views.
The hotel provides a free reception on the 6th floor every night and you are given 2 free drink tickets for each person over 21 for each night of the stay. This was a very nice thing. The food was a collection of chips, salsa, hummus, pita bread, cheese tray, veggie tray and dips. The drinks were from a full bar with no restrictions and soda was free.
The hotel also provided a free breakfast each morning that is served on each floor. They provide a wooden tray in the room to carry the food back and also 2 robes. The breakfast items included toast, muffins,donuts, pastries, cereal, fruit, string cheese, yogurt, coffee, tea, oj, milk, and cranberry juice.
The room incudes a DVD player and a CD player and both DVD's and CD's are available to "rent" free of charge (only charge is if you DONT return them) and had a good colleciton of dvd's. (didnt check out any cd's). Free wi-fi is provided in the room and there is a business center with 4 or 5 computers or printers for free of charge. The alarm clock is an ipod docking station as well.
we loved the room and the stay. The ONLY problem we had was becuase this was a large room and a corner room, the bathroom never warmed up (becuase it was so far from the sleeping area). So when you got out of the shower, it was a little cold. Only way around this would be a space heater or a heat lamp, due to the room design.

Room Tip: book parking at nearby garage to save money on parking thru spothero. Put in hotel's address an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful review! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy you found our corner king room to your liking, as well as our in-room amenities like our DVD players and iHome docking stations. I do apologize about the temperature issues you experienced in the bathroom. I’m reviewing your feedback with our Engineering department so we may resolve this issue and ensure it’s not a problem for future guests. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the selection as well as the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further happy to know you were able to take advantage of evening cocktail reception as well. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejby, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Super location. Very very central. Good size room (stayed in 607 which is the top floor). Large bathroom with tub. Good gym (7-8 treadmills, bikes, cross trainers and also weights etc). No restaurant but a very strange system with breakfast being made available at the elevators on each floor (rolls, yoghurt, juice, fruits, cereal etc.) Seemed to work though. Haray Carays across the street has excellent steaks and there are loads of clubs, restaurants etc very close by. House of Soul has a Gospel Brunch which we unfortunately missed, but supposedly is great food and lots of fun. We were there on St. Patrick's day and they have a large room on the 6th floor, where you can hang out, in which they had a bar. I stayed very close to that room and was not bothered at all despite it being packed with people on that day. All in all, very good rooms, very good location and a very good price considering this. I will most likely return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
What a thoughtful review! I’m pleased to know you enjoyed your St. Patrick’s day stay with us and found our rooms to your liking. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary 24-hour fitness center and appreciated the wide equipment selection. As you mentioned, our location in the downtown River North district puts in the heart of the city’s nightlife and I’m happy you were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants and bars! Thank you again for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took our kids to Chicago for spring break weekend. I was looking for a place close to the Magnificent Mile, but not too expensive. I did a lot of research to find the best place and decided on the Amalfi Hotel. We were very happy with our choice. The entire staff really was super friendly. They remembered who we were and when we had a request they took care of it quickly. We had a room with a king bed. It wasn't that big of a room, but we weren't spending that much time inside anyways. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom was very nice and clean. Free continental breakfast on every floor, which was great because we could walk over in our pajamas to get it and eat in our room. Usually consisted of cereal, yogurt, fruit, donuts, bagels and drinks. We got vouchers for 2 free drinks each night at the managers reception. The room was pretty small and it can get crowded in there so we got our drinks and took them back to our room. Kids also get free juice/soda. We got a room on the fifth floor so the traffic noise never bothered us. Free WiFi was a bonus. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend trying to get a room on a higher floor so traffic noise won't be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your spring break getaway with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such positive feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. I’m pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also happy to hear you were able to enjoy our nightly manager’s reception as well. Thank you again for the glowing review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.