We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chicago Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A short getaway at the Amalfi was just what the doctor ordered. Starting with a great location, attentive service, and special perks for its guests, while rooms where well appointed, clean, and comfortable. This is a must when in Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your Chicago getaway with us! I’m happy to know you found our rooms comfortable and pleased to hear our central location in downtown Chicago was to your liking. Your 5-star review is truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    391
    93
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
532
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked another hotel on line months prior to our trip. When we arrived at that hotel, we were told that the air conditioner was not working properly and that they needed to move us to another hotel, The Amalfi. When we got to The Amalfi, we were pleasantly surprised! This hotel's staff was very attentive, helpful and accommodating. There was a complimentary open bar and snacks available both evenings we were there, as well as a great continental breakfast. The Amalfi is within walking distance of Miracle Mile, Willis Tower (old Sears Tower), the El station to Wrigley Field and so much more. We enjoyed our visit and the comfy beds at the end of our busy days! Go Cubs!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you kindly for the rave review! We’re delighted to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I’m especially pleased to hear you found our central location in the downtown River North district to your liking and take advantage of all the nearby attractions like you mentioned—including the Grand Red Line that takes you right to Wrigley Field! I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception as well. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again this summer for a Cubs game!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago last week. The hotel was very modern and clean. The staff was insanely attentive and dedicated. They were so accomodating and said genuine hellos every time you saw someone. I can not stress this enough- they are really friendly but not too much.

The hotel has a great complimentary cocktail hour every night from 5:30- 7:30 with free drinks and a lovely array of food such as bruschetta, hummus, and fresh mozzarella. Everything was yummy. They also have free continental breakfast on every floor each morning. This was super convenient when I had to leave for a trade show every morning. I also used the very well appointed gym every morning for free.

Overall the location was superb- minutes from the McCormick Center, tons of amazing restaurants and the magnificent mile of shopping. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
What a thoughtful review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to know we came through on that promise! I’m delighted to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception and enjoyed the selection of hors d’oeuvres. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night with our kids for a fun weekend in the City. We choose this hotel due to location and reviews. We found the hotel to be nice and was overall a good choice. The rooms were a tad on the small side but similar to other city boutique hotels. Also, there was a full cup of coffee under 1 bed which made me question the cleaning. I hate when hotels don't clean under the beds. The continental breakfast was a wonderful addition. The selection was limited, however, it was free so you really couldn't ask for more. The problem was that items weren't restocked enough. We had to go to 2 different floors to find juice and a bagel. Frustrating when other floors were overflowing with items. I couldn't find anyone on the floors restocking the items either. We also had dinner across the street at Harry Cary's. This is a good choice for a nice restaurant that is kid friendly. I found the beds comfortable and the free wifi great. Overall a solid choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your weekend getaway with us. However, I’m disappointed to hear about the condition of your room upon arrival. We take great pride in maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness in our rooms and I’m sorry we did not live up to those standards. I will be contacting you directly to obtain more information in order to follow up with our Housekeeping supervisor and ensure this is not an issue in the future.

While I’m pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, I’m sorry that your floor’s selection wasn’t replenished in a timely matter. I’ve followed up with our Food & Beverage manager to ensure that this is not an issue in the future. Aside from these minor inconveniences, I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel, conveniently located at downtown, close to almost everything. Look for deals and watch for this hotel, great price, great rooms and very good service.
Note: Next to this hotel, Keefer's has a great menu for dinner, a bit pricy but totally worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central downtown location to your liking. I’m also pleased to know you were able to enjoy dinner at Keefer’s, conveniently located in the same building and easily accessible through our shared lobby. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Chicago for the gift show for 20 straight years. The Amalfi seems to be a little hotel with a big attitude. Small room, small coctail area, no services, no bar or restaurant. It's clean and the room is ok but small. Many better choices in Chicago for the price

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I’m sorry to hear your stay with us was not to your liking. As you mentioned, you can enjoy complimentary evening cocktails in our Ravello Lounge but we do also have a restaurant and bar, Keefer’s, located in the same building which is easily accessible through our joined lobby. In addition, our in-room dining is provided by Harry Caray’s Restaurant, located across the street.

I apologize that the size of your room was not to your satisfaction. Almost all of our rooms are larger than the typical downtown Chicago hotel room but we do have a handful of rooms that are slightly smaller. If you’re coming back in the near future and would like a larger room, we also have corner king rooms and suites available for an additional cost which are more spacious and offer better city views. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Menominee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly. Locale is ideal for shopping the Mart and only minutes from MI Ave. $ is fair considering breakfast and pm drinks are complimentary. Chicago self park right next door and as expected ^$$. We alway recommend to friends and are happy to return. only draw back is no loyalty program vs

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review! We’re pleased to receive such positive guest feedback and that you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location with close proximity to Michigan Avenue. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We do offer our own Frequent Guest Program and I will be contacting you directly with the details of that program. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.