We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Menominee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly. Locale is ideal for shopping the Mart and only minutes from MI Ave. $ is fair considering breakfast and pm drinks are complimentary. Chicago self park right next door and as expected ^$$. We alway recommend to friends and are happy to return. only draw back is no loyalty program vs

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review! We’re pleased to receive such positive guest feedback and that you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location with close proximity to Michigan Avenue. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We do offer our own Frequent Guest Program and I will be contacting you directly with the details of that program. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    947
    392
    92
    24
    11
See reviews for
217
547
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We managed to snag a room at this swanky hotel for a very reasonable price. It was attractive, clean, well-located and there was even an evening cocktail party with hors d'oevres. Room rates can be high but if you can afford to stay there, do it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review! We’re delighted to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location in downtown Chicago to your liking. I’m pleased to know you were able to enjoy and indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
525 reviews 525 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Amalfi twice during the month of December. Once before Christmas and once after. Greg, doorman, is super friendly. We really enjoy the hotel not only because it's always clean, but also the location is great for shopping in the River North area. Also there are just dozens of restaurant choices within walking distance.

Only negative comment was the fact that we were locked out of our room 11:55am on one of our visits, on our check out day. Check out is noon and they wouldn't extend it by one hour (on a Monday morning). We went to breakfast and got back to our room to grab our bags at 11:55am and found they had already deactivated our room key.

Room Tip: Street side may have alittle noise, but at least you have some sort of view. Backside is looking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We’re honored to be your “favorite” hotel in River North and to know you’re able to take advantage of our central location for your shopping and dining needs. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind feedback about our doorman, Greg, and will be sure to pass those comments along to him. I’m sorry to hear we were unable to accommodate your late check-out request. We try to accommodate all guest requests but it is difficult to do so during busy time periods. I’m also sorry that your key was deactivated 5 minutes early. All our keys are automatically scheduled to expire at noon on the day of check-out and I regret that yours was deactivated a few minutes early. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Amalfi is just a five minute walk away from the Blue Line, and centrally located in Downtown Chicago, which makes using the public transit a cinch. If the weather's nice enough, it's also easy to walk almost anywhere to find entertainment, food, or museums that are very close by.

The hotel itself is nice; adequately large rooms, comfortable beds and I was surprised to find we had a mini fridge (which is always a perk). The reception desk was friendly and helpful, and overall we had no problems staying. The front door was also well-attended. One note: we did get a room that others have complained "looks out on a brick wall" which is really the side of another building. So no, our view wasn't ideal, but who honestly looks at the view for more than five minutes of their stay, anyway? It really didn't detract much from the room's coziness.

The continental breakfast isn't lavish, but it definitely helped cut out having to find breakfast each morning! Lots of cereal, bagels, donuts and pastries, fruit, yogurt ect. We didn't go up to the fifth floor for cocktails since we were usually out when they were serving them, so I can't comment on that. But the experience overall was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We’re delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us. I’m happy our central downtown location was to your liking, especially our close proximity to the Clark/Lake El stop, as you so helpfully mentioned! I’m further pleased you enjoyed the room and in-room amenities, like the mini-fridge, as well. I’m happy you were able to enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—hopefully next time you’ll be able to join us in the evening for our complimentary cocktail reception! Thank you again for taking the time to share your Amalfi experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staff was very friendly, nice room, excellent continental breakfast (on each floor so late comers like us still had a nice selection). We had some problems with the Wi-if connection but would definitely stay here again. The location was fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our central location in downtown Chicago to your liking. I’m sorry that you experienced problems with our WiFi connection. I’m glad to report we’re in the process of upgrading our WiFi system. At this moment, we are completing the final stages of this project which includes a bandwidth increase and additional access points to strengthen the signal in the hotel. We expect the upgrade to be completed in the next couple weeks and I’m sure on your next visit, you’ll find our WiFi has significantly improved! Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We came to explore the city and stumbled upon the amalfi. Lucky us! Once inside the eclectic surroundings were not only inviting but extremely clean. The staff was amazing. Our best experience was our very last night when the door man overheard me upset over the fact that I thought then pizza by the slice place around the corner was closed. He told us to stand by after he vale parked our car and ran off to see if the place was open. Thank you Raji.!! Because of service like his we will be back for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay after stumbling upon us on your recent visit to Chicago! I’m especially pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our front office team—Rafi, in particular. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and I’m delighted to know we came through on that promise! We’re truly flattered by your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had never heard of Amalfi before. My wife and I were looking for a nice little getaway close to the Magnificent Mile and we were pleasantly surprised by Amalfi. The rate was reasonable considering it includes a nice continental breakfast ON EACH FLOOR! It also includes a Manager's reception every night with great free cocktails and appetizers. The only thing that suprised us, and it wasn't a bad thing, was how small the lobby is and the fact that even though the hotel is in a huge building - the hotel itself is only the first six floors. The hotel doesn't have a pool, but we didn't need one this time. The location is about a ten minute walk from Michigan Avenue. Plus, there is a great restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you kindly for the thoughtful review. We’re pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and that you especially appreciated the convenience of it on each floor. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. As you mentioned, we’re centrally located in downtown Chicago—just a quick walk to Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile! Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.