We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel in a great area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kinzie Hotel to your Saves list
Kinzie Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now!
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel in a great area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I got a great deal from Jetsetter and was excited since it was advertised as a 4 star hotel. Unfortunately, in my opinion, it didn't feel like a 4 star. However, it was still a decent place to stay. It's in a great location; blocks away from Michigan Ave and the bed was quite comfortable. We were only there for a night so we didn't get to experience the breakfast and happy hour but we sure did want to try it. Maybe next time?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago and visit all the nearby sites including Michigan Avenue. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you’ll be able to indulge and enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception! We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    422
    98
    25
    12
See reviews for
235
586
74
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DETROIT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't even know the number I'm on of stays at the Amazing Hotel but it won't be my last in fact I'm thinking about returning again for my Pre-Birthday Celebration Good Friday Weekend. Everyone is so nice and the amenities are great. Like everyone has said the beds are so freaking comfortable, Manager's Reception is amazing (just get their on time) and the Continental Breakfast is just enough after a night in Chicago. I was kinda sad when I first arrived because I didn't see the usual Doormen but by the time I dropped my stuff off in the room and came back down I saw both of them and that made it like I just arrived at home. Location is great and they are opening a ton of new restaurants so you will definitely find something that will satisfy you. If you still don't know if you should book, just give it a chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and flattered to have your continued loyalty throughout the years. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind feedback about our front office team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service so it’s a pleasure to know that our team contributes to you feeling right at home when you stay with us I’m also pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our downtown location in the vibrant River North district—especially all the newly opened restaurants you mentioned. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 nite stay!! The Amalfi has nice modern decor and contemporary furniture. I like how the front desk is not one long desk, but 3 seperate ones so you feel like you are getting personal attention, and not just the next number in line. Very clean hotel, very comfy bed and pillows. And the shower!! Wow! Double headed shower which just melts away stress. We were sorry we took advantage of the happy hour once, but we were having too much fun the other nites. Amalfi has happy hour 5-7p with free alcoholic drinks and appetizers. There is also free continental breakfast on every floor in the morning by the elevators. Nothing to do cartwheels for, but good coffee, tea, bagels and muffins and fruit, enough to get you going in the morning. Staff was friendly and very helpful as well. Hotel was very close to downtown attractions like House of Blues and State street shopping. Michigan avenue is only a few blocks away too.

The hotel's room service food comes from Harry Carays restaurant acroos the street, which I hear is very good. The only thing we didnt like were the maids. They did a fine job cleaning, but didnt respect and/or understand the little sign on your door means DO NOT DISTURB! 3 times we left the sign on our door after we went out, and came back and the room was clean. Call me paranoid but I like to put my stuff away before people come in my room. On the last day we were sleep at 9a with the sign on the door, and she proceeded to come in for service anyway! Good think the lock was on the door. Besides that small thing we still enjoyed the Amalfi .Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful review! I’m delighted you chose to spend your anniversary with us and to know it was an enjoyable one! I’m pleased to know you were able to enjoy and indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well as our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our Housekeeping Department; I will be contacting you directly for your room number so I may follow up with the department supervisor and ensure that this is a not an issue in the future. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next anniversary—if not sooner!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

While a solid experience, the amalfi seems more like a touched up marriott than a ground up modern hotel. While the non formal lobby and pillow top mattress are nice touches. The hotel carpetting is tremendously drab and the desk set up remarkably dull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m sorry that you found issue with our carpeting; we strive to maintain the highest standards for all our guest rooms and I apologize if this was not the case with your room. I’ll be contacting you directly for more details so we may rectify any issues. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked this hotel because of a great travelzoo deal and also based on the location and the daily breakfast and happy hour included. We were not disappointed!

The staff were all great from the friendly doormen and check-in staff to the bartenders at happy hour. The room was surprisingly spacious and the bed was very comfortable. There was a fridge and a great selection of glassware - rocks glasses, wine glasses and coffee mugs. The bathroom was also roomy and the Aveda bath products were lovely.

The location is great, just a block from the river. Restaurants, shopping and attractions are very nearby and an easy walk even in winter. We walked to the art museum, Macy's on State Street, Frontera Grill and the Magnificent Mile.

The daily manager's reception/happy hour on the 6th floor was a great touch. It was very busy, especially at 5:30 when it started. Lines streched out both doors for food and drinks. But bar service was great and the cocktails were free. (Be sure to tip the bartenders!). The food was ok. Salami, cheese, crostini and some toppings that went fast. The food spread was pretty decimated about 20 minutes after the start and was never refreshed. But it was a nice, little free snack.

Breakfast is set up each morning by the elevators on each floor with a toaster, breads, bagels, cream cheese, jam and butter, yogurt and cereal, coffee, tea, milk and juice. It was nice to have this small breakfast in the room rather than going out and spending $20 on breakfast.

All in all, this was a great hotel experience. We loved the location and service and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floor have a bit of a view. Lower floors have none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to know we delivered on that promise. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary evening reception as well but disappointed to learn the antipasto spread was not replenished. I’ve followed up with our Food & Beverage manager to ensure that this is not an issue in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. We stayed in a corner king room which was very spacious and very quiet even though it was New Years Eve weekend. The staff goes out of its way to make sure guests get their needs met. The evening cocktail hour was an added plus as they served high quality alcohol, beer and wine in glass glasses, and was a nice addedh. The morning continental breakfast included coffee, juices, fruit and muffins and pastry.
The hotel has a great location with easy access to Michigan Avenue and many great River North restaurants, but is on a quiet street which is a rarity in this exciting city. We would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you kindly for the glowing recommendation! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent weekend stay with us and found your corner king room to your liking! I’m also happy that you were able to enjoy and indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well as our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! I’m also happy to know you were able to take advantage of our location in vibrant downtown River North district with our many great restaurant options, as you mentioned. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Amalfi Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinzie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago.Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H20 Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. An evening reception in our intimate Double Cross Lounge is the perfect way to unwind after a busy day of meetings or exploring the Windy City.Stay connected with complimentary, lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our complimentary 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you’ll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinzie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.